We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We didn't stay here, but met travellers who recommended it. We stopped by for lunch prior to the ferry crossing back to Upolo. There is a terrific little spot over the lagoon to have a swim. We met a lovely Kiwi couple who had been staying there who were happy as. (Compared to an Invercargil winter, anything would be I reckon!) The staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a nice swim, a beer and tasty fish and chips. It's a minute from the wharf, so if you have just arrived on Savai'i or have some time before catching the ferry, pop in. You'll be impressed.

Room Tip: Didn't stay but lunch was tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Quaint hotel on the island of Savai'i that gives a real feel for the real Samoa. Our room was right on the ocean with a ladder down to the water. The hotel is in the middle of the jungle that goes right down to the water just out of Salelologa. A great, romantic setting. This is a very reasonably priced hotel where it is fun to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'll stay there again when I travel to Savaii. It has some great sunrise views.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

It would be fair to say the pace of life on Savai'i is beyond slow. Nothing happens in a hurry and life is fairly laid back.

Lusias is a reflection of this way of life and thats not a bad thing at all.

Henry is the biggest asset to Lusia's. He is helpful, cheerful, dedicated and fabulous with children. My kids thought he was awesome. He has a really good understanding of English as well so he was really easy to communicate with.

The room was HUGE. The aircon did some weird stuff, like spew water and make some crazy noise, but even though it was hot, the fan did what it needed to do. Mossies are INSANE. Take repellent and spray it on before you sleep.

We had 5 of us in the room and we were comfortable. If your expecting 5 star you'll be very upset. If your expecting clean and comfy its great. No TV, but actually thats not a bad thing at all. We got a pack of cards for a few tala at the local shop.

The food was great. The kids LOVED the pancakes. We ate a few meals on the deck. The deck is the highlight of Lusias. A cool wharf that we spent HOURS jumping off. At low tide its a bit shallow but nothing overly dangerous. The water was perfect.

We hired a car for $120 tala a day. We filled up at the petrol station just down from the hotel which was pretty reasonable. Dont fill on the other side of the Island. We spoke to some people that did that OUCH.

We circumnavigated the Island and feel like we had an authentic Samoan experience.

We spent 3 nights on Savaii all up. It was well worth it in every way.

Lusias is a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbarneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

​We stayed at this place for three nights, in the so called honeymoon suite! The premises are located on the waters edge and their are a number of cabin type rooms/chalets near us. There is a deck by the water and some limited seating.

Pro’s
1. Staff were friendly and inviting. Henry was the guy in charge and he did a good job. Note that we stayed in a top end resort before leaving Samoa, and the staff at Lusia's were much more accommodating and approachable than them. Nice work.
2. Rental car available, but it won't knock your socks off! :)
3. Great shower in our room.
4. Lusia's is nicely positioned on the lagoon edge.

Cons
1. Our room was close to the restaurant, kitchen and social area. The noise coming from these areas was sometimes a bit disturbing. The openness of the our chalet made it impossible to block this out.
2. No hot water in the bathroom (ensuite).
3. They said the room had a view in Booking.com but we didn’t have a view!
4. Our room was basic and I think the owners need to reinvest a bit into the quality of this room e.g. paint and chattels. Attention to detail in cleaning would also be good.

Overall, it may be an OK option if staying on the island of Savai'i.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Onlinegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Modern comfortable room. Its a shame the location is mosquito ridden, and the curtains didn't cover the windows so our privacy could have been compromised, and the sink tap was broken; but it was great to get a hot shower and the restaurant was pretty decent. Broadband extortionate at $15/hour!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
6.2 km away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
232 reviews
11.1 km away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
235 reviews
1.6 km away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
70 reviews
38 km away
Stevenson's at Manase
37.4 km away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusia's Lagoon Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusia's Lagoon Chalets

Address: South Coast Rd, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range: $66 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lusia's Lagoon Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, boutique resort located on the Big Island of Savai'i in Salelologa. If you are looking for somewhere a little different, somewhere relaxing, we are the place you have been looking for! Located conveniently - get off the ferry at Salelologa wharf turn left. Lusia's Lagoon Chalets is a five minute walk or 1 minute drive from the wharf at Salelologa, Savaii. At Lusia's you can walk through a natural Samoan forest amongst the towering and rare native ifilele trees. Take a dip in our turquoise lagoon, or for the more adventurous, you may like to snorkel or kayak and view the amazing variety of marine life. In the evening, enjoy a satisfying meal in CC's Restaurant & Bar, or you may like to have your meal served to you on our deck situated on the edge of our lagoon. Accommodation ranges from self contained air conditioned units, shared facility "over the water fales" and budget accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Lusia's Lagoon Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusia`s Lagoon Chalets Hotel Salelologa
Lusias Lagoon Chalets Salelologa
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing