We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
144
120
53
7
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
120
53
7
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalair confishfresh water poolcar rentalshared facilitiesself containedhenryladderlagoondeckensuitewharfislandaccommodationsamoabush
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Quaint hotel on the island of Savai'i that gives a real feel for the real Samoa. Our room was right on the ocean with a ladder down to the water. The hotel is in the middle of the jungle that goes right down to the water just out of Salelologa. A great, romantic setting. This is a very reasonably priced hotel where it is fun to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'll stay there again when I travel to Savaii. It has some great sunrise views.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

It would be fair to say the pace of life on Savai'i is beyond slow. Nothing happens in a hurry and life is fairly laid back.

Lusias is a reflection of this way of life and thats not a bad thing at all.

Henry is the biggest asset to Lusia's. He is helpful, cheerful, dedicated and fabulous with children. My kids thought he was awesome. He has a really good understanding of English as well so he was really easy to communicate with.

The room was HUGE. The aircon did some weird stuff, like spew water and make some crazy noise, but even though it was hot, the fan did what it needed to do. Mossies are INSANE. Take repellent and spray it on before you sleep.

We had 5 of us in the room and we were comfortable. If your expecting 5 star you'll be very upset. If your expecting clean and comfy its great. No TV, but actually thats not a bad thing at all. We got a pack of cards for a few tala at the local shop.

The food was great. The kids LOVED the pancakes. We ate a few meals on the deck. The deck is the highlight of Lusias. A cool wharf that we spent HOURS jumping off. At low tide its a bit shallow but nothing overly dangerous. The water was perfect.

We hired a car for $120 tala a day. We filled up at the petrol station just down from the hotel which was pretty reasonable. Dont fill on the other side of the Island. We spoke to some people that did that OUCH.

We circumnavigated the Island and feel like we had an authentic Samoan experience.

We spent 3 nights on Savaii all up. It was well worth it in every way.

Lusias is a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbarneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

​We stayed at this place for three nights, in the so called honeymoon suite! The premises are located on the waters edge and their are a number of cabin type rooms/chalets near us. There is a deck by the water and some limited seating.

Pro’s
1. Staff were friendly and inviting. Henry was the guy in charge and he did a good job. Note that we stayed in a top end resort before leaving Samoa, and the staff at Lusia's were much more accommodating and approachable than them. Nice work.
2. Rental car available, but it won't knock your socks off! :)
3. Great shower in our room.
4. Lusia's is nicely positioned on the lagoon edge.

Cons
1. Our room was close to the restaurant, kitchen and social area. The noise coming from these areas was sometimes a bit disturbing. The openness of the our chalet made it impossible to block this out.
2. No hot water in the bathroom (ensuite).
3. They said the room had a view in Booking.com but we didn’t have a view!
4. Our room was basic and I think the owners need to reinvest a bit into the quality of this room e.g. paint and chattels. Attention to detail in cleaning would also be good.

Overall, it may be an OK option if staying on the island of Savai'i.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Onlinegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Modern comfortable room. Its a shame the location is mosquito ridden, and the curtains didn't cover the windows so our privacy could have been compromised, and the sink tap was broken; but it was great to get a hot shower and the restaurant was pretty decent. Broadband extortionate at $15/hour!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Traveling with friends, only stayed one night. So much do see and do on Savai'i. Had a great little beach fale near the water. Beautiful sunrise over the lagoon.Try one on stilts over the water for the true island lagoon experience. Food was fantastic. Try the Oka! Eat dinner on the deck over the water. This place was amazing. Rent a car here to travel the island.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DowntownDB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews