We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and cake on Savaii”

Taefu T. Matafeo Store Asaga
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Savai'i
Cuisines: International
Description: The Taefu T Matafeo Store in Asaga is a General Store, Coffee Garden and Cake Shop where you can eat in or take away. Apart from the "Best Chocolate Cake in Samoa", we can make an authentic Espresso, Latte, Cappuccino, Mocha or Iced Coffee. There is hot food every day and the ONLY FREE Internet in Savaii so you can check your emails while relaxing in our Coffee Garden.
Restaurant details
Description: The Taefu T Matafeo Store in Asaga is a General Store, Coffee Garden and Cake Shop where you can eat in or take away. Apart from the "Best Chocolate Cake in Samoa", we can make an authentic Espresso, Latte, Cappuccino, Mocha or Iced Coffee. There is hot food every day and the ONLY FREE Internet in Savaii so you can check your emails while relaxing in our Coffee Garden.
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Great coffee, fabulous cakes, free WiFi and scooter hire. Kevin and Nita can also give you lots of tips and information to help you enjoy Savaii.

Date of visit: August 2015
3  Thank 444kate2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2015

We happened to stop by this store along the road just to go check out what stores on Savai'i sell in general. After a bit of banter with the owner he truly conjured up a couple of lattes you could have served in any of the metropolitan city cafes!
Thanks Dude, you started us off on the right foot on our cycle trip!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Thank you Netta, Kevin and Alex for making our holiday in Savai'i memorable. Taefu T. Matafeo Store was recommended to us by the Information centre at Salelologa. What a delight this little oasis is, Netta makes the most beautiful chocolate cake and when she tells the story of the adaptations she had to make to suit what Samoa can provide in ingredients, it is a credit to her, a Chocolate Alchemist. Kevin is the barista and the source of much information. If you get the chance, try Netta's Samoan sized lunches - made from the fresh produce grown in their veggie patch. We were staying in Manase and we made the pilgrimage to this establishment three of the five days. Kevin had the coffee ready for us as we were driving past to catch the ferry back to Upolu. It was sad to leave, so till next time, I wish Netta, Kevin and Alex all the very best, keep doing what you are doing, because you are doing it so damn well.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lambsy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

On my first visit to Savaii in May, 2014 come across these wonderful people Netta(the boss) and Kevin her husband,NOTHING IS TO MUCH TROUBLE FOR THESE TWO.
A quite local (cold) beer, uplifting real coffee or that famous chocolate cake or just good company. This is a haven for all your needs.
Has contacts for the real Samoan tours and events and can now offer scooter hire to just cruise around the island at your own pace.
I have been back three times since, that should tell something.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We heard about this place from someone in Manase and looked out for it on the way to the ferry. It's great - nice coffee, friendly patron, great chocolate cake, and free wifi! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RickyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taefu T. Matafeo Store Asaga also viewed

 

Been to Taefu T. Matafeo Store Asaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing