We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
232
120
26
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
120
26
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue house the owner in town quiet street hot springs two blocks thermal baths included in the price excellent hosts great place to stay comfortable beds breakfast was included jim waterfall fireplace ecuador santa
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

This fun little hotel is very close to the hot springs in Banos and is close walking distance to anywhere in town. The owners Marshia and Jim are friendly and accommodating, happy to help out with excursion planning or finding an obscure computer cable.

We thought the dining was outstanding. Lots of fresh veggies and sauces to compliment the meals with or without fish or meat. The included breakfast was delicious and very filling.

We loved the art and the decor and lighting. We felt at home and had plenty of time for privacy and relaxing. BTW...great view of the waterfall from our room. Hot showers were steamy and powerful! Good internet. Free purified water.

Rooms are not large, but big enough. And there are plenty of outdoor areas and inside areas to hang out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water fall are nice, but there is a street light at night that is bright.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed for 4 nights with our kids in a quad room. Nice deck facing the waterfall that included a wonderful breakfast. The staff, in particular Gloria was awesome.

We really enjoyed our stay except for our experience during our third breakfast. The owners adult son was in the kitchen and became very verbally abusive towards the staff that included being demeaning and using foul language. He was loud, would not stop and completely ruined our meal. I felt so bad for the staff as they pleaded with him to watch his behaviour with young children in the next room. We spoke to the owner, Martha about our concerns and she apologized.

The hotel stay was nice except for the visit from their son.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This is probably the artsy-est, cutest hotel I have ever stayed in. I felt like I was in the rainforest. Nice decorations everywhere and the Posada del Arte theme is carried well throughout. My room faced a lovely little garden. The shower worked well and the bed was comfortable. The staff were great. We enjoyed the free breakfast the hotel had to offer and tried everything on the breakfast menu in the 4 mornings we were there. It is central to the Santa de Agua springs, and the downtown touristy area of Banos (5-10 minute walk, if even!). I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This gorgeous hotel is in the perfect location! The hotel is located a few blocks from the town square but on a quiet street. Our room faced the waterfall and we woke up to a gorgeous view everyone morning. The room was clean and comfortable. The owners and staff were amazing. They went above and beyond by helping us find a doctor for someone in our group. They were very warm and welcoming. The breakfast was DELICIOUS!! Plus, breakfast is cooked to order and served until 11am. It was absolutely perfect! We enjoyed dinner at the hotel twice because the cooking was so good. We enjoyed the owner's son's bar just a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms were gorgeous. Our group used 4 rooms and they were all comfortable and clean.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne5880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 American friends for 3nights and we all loved it. It is a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Jim and Marsha are excellent hosts, happy to help or chat or leave you alone, whichever you want! The accommodation is quirky, but clean and comfortable. Don’t stay here if you want standard hotel style. Lovely area to sit outside, great breakfast included in the price and you can choose lunch or dinner from the menu any time you want. Gloria, the main Ecuadorean help, is a treasure. Friendly and efficient in equal measure.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews