We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Chimenea(Banos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
bnb SOHO(Banos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
25
19
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
19
3
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour groupwithin walking distancegate1mountainsecuadortown
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Travelled as part of a tour group and have stayed here before. Room was clean and comfortable. Wonderful meals were served but vegetarians need to make special requests, otherwise they only get the vegetables without the meat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to common areas
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry V, administrador at Hotel Donde Ivan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Hi, thank you for your very valuable comment. always ready to improve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Cute place walking into it. We ate upstairs at a long table. The carrot soup, grilled chicken, cooked veggies were all good but nothing stood out. Two in our small group were vegetarians and they loved their vegetarian lasagne. Expresso at the end of the meal was $2.00. Within walking distance of other things in the town.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry V, Gerente at Hotel Donde Ivan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Thanks for your valuable comment.
always at the orders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

This was our luck stop with gate1 travel and like everything else this tour operator does it selects the best places and certainly this luck stop at this meticulous kept facility was perfect.

Great service, good atmosphere, quality food ...we had soup, trout with potatoes and vegetables and a dessert!

It's close to the centre of the town aden certainly would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant based on this experience to anyone.

It was certainly a very good experience for our group.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry V, Gerente at Hotel Donde Ivan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Thanks for your valuable comment.
always at the orders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

As part of a Gate1 tour, we stopped at Donde Ivan for lunch. The food and service were very good. I cannot comment on pricing because included in our tour. Everything appeared to be very clean and the food was fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank AnneinVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry V, Gerente at Hotel Donde Ivan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Thanks for your valuable comment.
always to order

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. I booked this location in Baños at donde Ivan for the quality that was presented on hostelworld website. It had a high star rating and great reviews. My boyfriend and I booked 4 nights on hostelworld that States on the website $28 per night for 2 people. I payed $25 to hold my reservation. I do not speak very good Spanish but my boyfriend being from Ecuador translated for me. The owner charged me an additional $144 even though the website states the remaining balance including tax was $88. I paid him at the hotel bar/restaurant area and did not receive a receipt. I then reviewed the receipt online in our extremely small room. We reapproached the hotel owner/manager about how much we paid him and he waved us into his reception area to discuss it. I do not speak Spanish but my boyfriend is Ecuadorian so he was arguing with the hotel owner for about five minutes. It didn't seem like the hotel owner was understanding where I was coming from. I asked my boyfriend what he was saying and the hotel owner was requesting me to pay an additional $88! So he wanted almost $220 for 4 nights when the website said a total of $113. The manager was trying to charge $28 per guest even though the website specifically goes by room. I even showed the owner me changing how many people I was with on the website and the prices never changed the room rate. He said the internet was wrong. I told him I wanted to leave. The manager appeared very irritated and he looked like a serial killer. He said I can forget about he $88 I owe him and stay. I walked away flustered and frustrated. Then I realized it doesn't change the fact he has $60 of my money he took additionally and would not give back. I never received any receipt and for me not asking is my fault. Apparently you have to ask at hotels here.

That was the first problem.
Second problem- the beds didn't have e fitted sheets, just random layers of blankets. They didn't look like blankets that could be cleaned easily either. The room was tight and the tv was outdated and extremely fuzzy.

Third- Ivan the owner approached us on our day 3 of 4 saying we owed him more money if we stayed because we stayed 4 nights. My boyfriend again started arguing with him explaining we paid for 4 nights and was only their 3. At that point I was like whatever let's leave. I lost out on over $100 and was cheated out of a night. The breakfast was good, they can have 1 star for that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews