We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
208
139
29
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
139
29
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenhot springsroof terracecleaned every daytown squarelaundry serviceprivate roomclean roomspancakesde lathermal bathsdouble bedsteam roomclean placestaff was very friendly and helpfulstayed nightswe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

In the photos they show a pool. The pool is very cold water, and they tell you what else you wanted for the price that you are paying! poor attention, they do not know how to treat a client! The people who serve you are rude!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeRito S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We booked other accommodations in Banos at Casa Amarilla but our accommodations were not as advertised and it was super awkward so we decided to move out after one night. Casa Amarilla charged us a penalty but happily Hostal Chiminea had room for us and it was 1/2 the price. Best decision! The room at Hostal Chiminea was large, private and quiet and the location near the Waterfall and thermal baths was ideal. We were concerned given the price and the popularity that it would be noisy or dirty and it was neither. A truly exceptional value. The only hiccup was that they varnished the doors one day and the odor from the off gassing made us so sick we had to leave and forego breakfast on the roof terrace. But the odor was gone by the time we came back much later in the day. The other hiccup was that we asked to stay an extra night and were told it was fine and to let them know later in the day. We told the man at the desk that evening and he wrote it down and it seemed confirmed. We were shocked the next day when management told us we had to move because they were overbooked and that the security guard isn’t allowed to take reservations. It all worked out when someone else moved out, but the advice is make sure you talk with one of the women at the desk during the day (and not the security guard) about reservations. The same thing happened to another guest the same night so I suspect it’s not an uncommon problem.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Leyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

This is my first night here. Many of my friends have recommended it so I chose it. Ran into some of our friends here by coincidence. An extra benefit. We like getting good value when on a budget. So far, I’ve found it here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Located just 1 min walking from the main square this hostel is still in a quiet place. The only sound we had from our room was the waterfall. The hostel is clean, big and had a nice pool. The staff is kind and helpful, and the breakfast are really nice, but not included. Would very much recommend. It feels a bit like a hotel if you stay in a private.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VincentK422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Nice hostel in a quiet area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I stayed in a double room and it had a balcony with over looked the interior where there was a pool below. Not much of a view but I could sit outside. Didn’t use the pool but it looked clean and maintained and I did see others use it. There is a terrace cafe where you can get a good breakfast for 3 or 4 dollars and the area is available for use after noon and until 10 pm so you’re able to make your own food or just hang out. Good views from here. The wifi worked well and the staff are nice and helpful. 4 hour turn around for laundry and a good price. Good value for you money.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews