We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
130
146
76
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
146
76
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

What a stunning and awesome location! This hotel is situated in the Southern most town in the world, Ushuaia, and surrounded by the Andes, that rises like a stegosaurus spine in the landscape.
It is surrounded by mountains water and shoreline on a grand scale. The hotel building is large spacious and rustically stylish; lots of wood and high vaulted ceilings. Panoramic views everywhere. Rooms comfy and clean.
However! One gets the feeling that the owners have their captive audience: the regular shipment of block-booked tourists who are passing through Ushuaia to board a cruiser for the Antartic, and because of this, they are uncompetitive. They have a to-die-for large restaurant space with panoramic views and not-great food. I only had breakfast. Poor choice and....adequate.
I can understand them not competing with the high end restaurants in the town, but they could at least 'up' the standard and make the restaurant fare a good all rounder concerning quality, variety and appearance. Yes you guessed it, I own a catering establishment and so I am looking at this under-utilised place in one of the worlds most incredible places wishing that someone would 'get their hands on it'!

Room tip: Try and get a room with a view: however, our request for one did not bear fruit
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I have a lot of great things to say about this hotel. The rooms are quite large and they have a couple of different sitting areas in the common spaces. The views are terrific and the hotel is situated to take full advantage of that - the views from the restaurant are terrific but our room also had good views. The bathrooms are large and we had hot water consistently. They also have coffee and tea in the lobby during the day.

Unfortunately, I had to rate it low because the main reason for a hotel is to sleep and we were unable to do so. One of us is a pretty heavy sleeper and still couldn't. The walls are so thin that we could hear the neighbors talking, watching tv, snoring (they slept fine), their alarm going off, running water, etc. We weren't close to the main hall but could hear people walking through and rolling luggage.

It's about 15 minutes by car to the city center, which is about $120 pesos for a taxi. They do run a free shuttle van but it only operates a few times a day, and not before 9 am. It's especially spread out in the afternoon and dinner time. We were rarely able to use it out of inconvenience.

Breakfast is fairly typical for this region. Coffee/tea/juice, meat and cheese tray, cereal, sweet croissants, and toast. If you have an early flight or tour, they won't get you coffee or tea if it's outside the breakfast window. Well, it might depend on who you are; the day we left, I saw someone get coffee in a thermos but when I asked, I was told no.

We found the staff to be friendly, just not really helpful.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The view from hotel is amazing, the hotel itself is very old but has everything needed, the staff does nothing to make your stay comfortable. The booking was done by QuarkExpedition as part of Antarctica cruise and unfortunately the awful food spoiled the stay. The management should take measures.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 808evgeniyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

It's a couple of miles from the center of town, but you get a magnificent view on the Beagle channel from your room. The staff recommended a rafting, hill climbing trip in the national park that was the highlight of our trip. It actually had decent internet, which seems to be a rarity in South American hotels. The restaurant was acceptable.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This excellent hotel is located a bit far from the downtown area but which it makes up for with free daily transfer to and from the downtown area which is actually a 15" drive. The rooms are very spacious overlooking the lake which makes for a beautiful scenery. The breakfast is very modest and tasty too. The staff are ever so ready to assist you in any way possible. A true heaven in the "end of the world".

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JohnO201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews