We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting and very peaceful hotel.”
Review of Tolkeyen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tolkeyen Hotel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2017

What a stunning location. Only spent 1 night before boarding a ship to Antarctica. My evening walk along the water front had spectacular views of snow capped mountains. This was followed by an enjoyable dinner. The room was large, clean and comfortable. I was delighted to wake up to beautiful sunrise. A very pleasant and peaceful hotel which provides a shuttle service into town.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AG47111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017

What a stunning and awesome location! This hotel is situated in the Southern most town in the world, Ushuaia, and surrounded by the Andes, that rises like a stegosaurus spine in the landscape.
It is surrounded by mountains water and shoreline on a grand scale. The hotel building is large spacious and rustically stylish; lots of wood and high vaulted ceilings. Panoramic views everywhere. Rooms comfy and clean.
However! One gets the feeling that the owners have their captive audience: the regular shipment of block-booked tourists who are passing through Ushuaia to board a cruiser for the Antartic, and because of this, they are uncompetitive. They have a to-die-for large restaurant space with panoramic views and not-great food. I only had breakfast. Poor choice and....adequate.
I can understand them not competing with the high end restaurants in the town, but they could at least 'up' the standard and make the restaurant fare a good all rounder concerning quality, variety and appearance. Yes you guessed it, I own a catering establishment and so I am looking at this under-utilised place in one of the worlds most incredible places wishing that someone would 'get their hands on it'!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view: however, our request for one did not bear fruit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank akoth777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I have a lot of great things to say about this hotel. The rooms are quite large and they have a couple of different sitting areas in the common spaces. The views are terrific and the hotel is situated to take full advantage of that - the views from the restaurant are terrific but our room also had good views. The bathrooms are large and we had hot water consistently. They also have coffee and tea in the lobby during the day.

Unfortunately, I had to rate it low because the main reason for a hotel is to sleep and we were unable to do so. One of us is a pretty heavy sleeper and still couldn't. The walls are so thin that we could hear the neighbors talking, watching tv, snoring (they slept fine), their alarm going off, running water, etc. We weren't close to the main hall but could hear people walking through and rolling luggage.

It's about 15 minutes by car to the city center, which is about $120 pesos for a taxi. They do run a free shuttle van but it only operates a few times a day, and not before 9 am. It's especially spread out in the afternoon and dinner time. We were rarely able to use it out of inconvenience.

Breakfast is fairly typical for this region. Coffee/tea/juice, meat and cheese tray, cereal, sweet croissants, and toast. If you have an early flight or tour, they won't get you coffee or tea if it's outside the breakfast window. Well, it might depend on who you are; the day we left, I saw someone get coffee in a thermos but when I asked, I was told no.

We found the staff to be friendly, just not really helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The view from hotel is amazing, the hotel itself is very old but has everything needed, the staff does nothing to make your stay comfortable. The booking was done by QuarkExpedition as part of Antarctica cruise and unfortunately the awful food spoiled the stay. The management should take measures.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Evgeniya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

It's a couple of miles from the center of town, but you get a magnificent view on the Beagle channel from your room. The staff recommended a rafting, hill climbing trip in the national park that was the highlight of our trip. It actually had decent internet, which seems to be a rarity in South American hotels. The restaurant was acceptable.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
3.3 km away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
3.7 km away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Ushuaia
735 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#16 of 51 in Ushuaia
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hosteria y Restaurante America
1.5 km away
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 51 in Ushuaia
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolkeyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolkeyen Hotel

Address: Del Tolkeyen 2145, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ushuaia
#7 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range: $114 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tolkeyen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Tolkeyen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolkeyen Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing