We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria y Restaurante America
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We spent there 4 nights. The hotel is good but rather expensive for the value maybe it is common in Usuaia. We have no comparison. It is just outside the city center but you still need 15-20 minutes walk to get right to the center and the tourist pier. The staff was very helpful with organizing excursions but one negotiation to get an early breakfast was surprisingly difficult. The best for us was the hotel restaurant. Very nice meals and wine, We tried several others in Usuaia and it was the only one we were treated very personally and not as subjects on production line of the tourist factory in the city center.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roman3297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2017

The best thing about this place is the staff, all of whom are very helpful and who clearly try very hard. The restaurant is also good. Better places to eat can be found by walking into the center of town, but when that is not appealing, it's nice to know that you can stay put and have a good meal right at the hotel. The downside is that the building itself is a bit old and in need of some renovations. The plumbing system is particularly problematic. Every time someone in the room next to ours would flush the toilet, we would be subjected to a loud screeching noise that sometimes went on for quite a while.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NJtraveler1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

...to stay but the breakfast needs some improvement in terms of quality and variety. Friendly, clean and relatively close to center. Room and bath was newly refurbished and spacious. Overall would come back but do not expect too much.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stefanlombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

It's a 5-minute walk into the town centre, but the distance makes this hotel more affordable than those in town. This is a reasonable hotel with friendly front-desk staff. It's warm and cozy inside. The room facilities were perfectly OK. There are stairs but there is no lift, so this is not suitable for people with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights following a cruise. It is out of town but walkable in about 15 minutes. One of the reasons we stayed here was because there was an onsite restaurant. On checking in, we enquired as to what time the restaurant opened and were told 8.00pm. When we wandered down just after 8, we were informed that the chef had phoned in sick so no restaurant. We were given directions to another restaurant nearby. In short order, another couple appeared ( who happened to be on our cruise ) and we heard them being given the same story. We later found out from them that they had checked at 20 minutes to 8 about the restaurant and had not been told about the sick chef. Rightly or wrongly, it just had the feel that a quiet Sunday night might not have been worth opening so hard luck for anyone who wanted to eat. As for the place itself, it seems to be in the middle of renovation. Our room was fine but it had no internal control over temperature and it was always too hot and stuffy. At night we had to leave a window open which for security reasons is not something I like to do anywhere. Also the standard of housekeeping was haphazard. On out second night, we were left no soap, not a major drama but just showing a lack of attention to detail. You might pay a bit extra for something else in Usuhaia but it would probably be worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#16 of 50 in Ushuaia
583 reviews
0.9 km away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 50 in Ushuaia
739 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#11 of 50 in Ushuaia
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#10 of 50 in Ushuaia
549 reviews
1 km away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#12 of 50 in Ushuaia
804 reviews
0.4 km away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 50 in Ushuaia
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria y Restaurante America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria y Restaurante America

Address: Gobernador Paz 1665, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Ushuaia
Price Range: $108 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria y Restaurante America 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hosteria America is one block from the center of the city. With new standards, suites and penthouse rooms with view to the canal The Beagle, served by its owners Hosteria America is the best option for the traveler, with the best attention and trust. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hosteria y Restaurante America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing