We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good: deserves a place in the top 5 of El Calafate”
Review of Hosteria Meulen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hosteria Meulen
Ranked #45 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very very good: deserves a place in the top 5 of El Calafate”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in november and loved it! It's not a very big hotel and that's what we like.
Yes, you do need to follow a gravelroad and it's a bit further from the center of El Calafate, but taxis are cheap (and 5-10 min. max.) and walking is only about 20 minutes.
We did't have dinner in the hotel, but is does provide it. The breakfast was okay, nothing special but enough as it is in almost everywhere we've stayed in Argentina.
The hotel is decorated with old antique furniture and we liked that very much. The hotel has a very good feel.
The rooms were absolutely great: we had a double with lakeview. It was very big and very clean. Enough space to put your belongings. The bed was also very big and slept great. The bathroom was a bit smal, but very clean, No sticky showercurtain here, but a sliding glass door. The light in the shower itself was a bit dark. In the rest of the bathroom it was fine.
The only 2 cons of the room were the showerlight and also the heating. The heating is arranged centrally, so you can not put the heating in your room down or up if you wish. The first 2 nights the room was quit warm and we only had 2 small windows we could open and this wasn't enough to drop the temperature a bit and make it more pleasant. The other 4 nights the heating was just fine.`
We heard some noises from other guests, but it wasn't very loud or annoying.
We also absolutely loved the dog Negrita who came running everytime we called her and lay down on her back to let you pet her belly.
The service in the hotel was great: the owner as well as the 3 female staffmembers (Magdalena, Natalie and ?) were very friendly and helpfull, They booked us every tour and restaurant we wanted and didn't have to arrange anything ourselves.
This hotel absolutely deservers a much higher place on Tripadvisor than where it's at right now!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaA1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    71
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
50
72
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Nos alojarmos Agrado alli, la habitacion nep resultó Muy encantadora.La Hostería El trato y un su Especialista de personal, fué ideal párr estudio ESE destino.Superó Las Expectativas.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estre033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2010

this small hotel is outside of the city, by the Argentino lake, where you can see, from time to time, some small glaciers floating until they melt completely. The hotel is cute, clean and the personnel is very friendly and helping. The breakfast is not very rich, but I noted it's the same everywhere in Argentina. They arrange a shuttle to take you to the center, but you could also go by taxi, is not very expensive. They also bring you back in the evening.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeannaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

The room and the hotel are ok for me, but there are 2 rather bad things I would like to mention.
First : the location is at least 20 minutes on foot out of town and only accessible through a dirt road. It overlooks the argentino-lake and the lagune with flamingo's.
Second : I tried eating in the restaurant one evening. After ordering one of the menu's, I had to wait more than 1 hour to get the soup. The main course I ordered was brought after more than 2 hours of waiting and it was lamb instead of chikken. The waitress kept on arguing she was right and I was wrong, So I left the restaurant without further delay.

Personally, I would suggest staying in town and hire a taxi to see the flamingo's in the lagune.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Our stay at the Hosteria Maulen was absolutely perfect:

Great rooms with nice old furniture, a fantastic view on the Lago Argentina and really friendly and professional staff!

It is a bit farer away from the city center but the great view is totally worth the walk/taxi(13-15 pesos) to the center!

Good value for money (85USD for a dbl room).
100% recommendable!!!

  • Liked — The rooms and the view!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
4.1 km away
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 km away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
#53 of 70 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.4 km away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#38 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.4 km away
Rincon del Calafate
Rincon del Calafate
#40 of 70 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Meulen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Meulen

Property: Hosteria Meulen
Address: Calle 202, No 608 | In front of Reserva Ecologica Laguna Nimez, El Calafate B9405DWB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price range (per night): $120 - $702
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Meulen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a different perspective of the town, you can see a unforgettable sunsets from his deck or an octogon watchtower. Meulen is the answer to all needs with its professional staff causes that their accommodation in El Calafate is an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hosteria Meulen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Meulen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing