We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
29
23
6
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
23
6
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

There were 3 of us and we had a cabin for 4 nights. The location is out of town and takes about 20 minutes to walk it. It is an easy walk. The cabin was nice with a kitchen, TV, bathroom, etc. It didn't have a lounge which would have been nice to watch TV or just to relax on. The drain in our shower didn't work too well as it was uphill of most of the water.

Breakfasts were fine although the slices of bread supplied were small and thin which made for very crunchy toast. We had a meal in the resturant which we enjoyed. We had pizza and beer another night which was very good.

Staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. They arranged tours for us and assisted in what we should see while in El Calafate.

Overall a nice place to base ourselves for touring El Calafate on our way to Torres Del Paine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Our stay was excellent! And the restaurant is excellent too: you can see the sunset on the lake from the dining room, (not mentionning a very good food).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

A little way out of town but a pleasant 20-minute walk along the new lakeside promenade. The dirt road leading to the front entarnce looks like the middle of nowhere, but all the horizontal roads here are like it.
Worth booking: our "cabana" was a two-storey cottage. Kitchen, dining room, bathroom and spare bed downstairs; upstairs, a large double bedroom with satellite TV, bedside lights (always a must with us) and plenty of storage space.
The owners were charming and nothing is too much trouble.
There is a small restaurant and the food is very good, the service friendly and warm.
A hearty breakfast is delivered to your room by 6 p.m. the day before! (There is a fridge.) This is because people are up and off at all hours in this tourist area, so you never have to wait for breakfast or request an early one.
We could have stayed more than three nights here. The town is very pleasant, with a good range of shops and lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabaandZaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I traveled with my family for the Patagonia Argentine on February 2009 and we knew incredibly places.
One of them was ‘’El Calafate’’, where we knew the Perito Moreno Glacier that really it's wonderful. We were lodged in ‘’Solares Del Sur’’, a complex of cabins really fabulous.
The cabins were clean, wide as to be comfortable with the family and the same ones have an excellent view to Argentine Lake.
We had a great stay there and we want to send best regards especially to Martin who was helpful in every way, very friendly and welcoming, like all the staff of the Complex.
They bring a very great service, very attentive. We will be back there if ever we return to ‘’El Calafate’’.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_75NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews