We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
300
74
12
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
74
12
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apartments are spacious upstairs bedroom full kitchen in town rocking chairs housekeeping staff two storey dining table great view of lake equipped kitchen breakfast is served heavy luggage nice design great boutique self catering hotel is beautiful car rental
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We've had a wonderful 3 nights stay. The homemade breakfast is very tasty. The rooms are elegant and super clean. Although the apartment has a nice kitchen and living area, we never used it.
The location isn't so good, you either have to walk (30min) to the center or take a cab, but the staff was amazing and eager to help each time we needed anything at all that we forgot about it.
The owner has a very unique shop downtown and she makes special discounts to the the hotels' clients.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luvninou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is a fantastic place to stay in El Calafate. We had the bungalow, which sleeps up to 6 adults. It was one half of the house on the photo. Romantic, cozy, warm. The bedrooms may be on the small side but the nice garden view compensates for that. The living room si spacious and so is the kitchen. The breakfast was excellent. The place is run by really nice people who are eager to help you - even the petite girl at the reception wants to help you with the heavy luggage. They really go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable. We are hotel aficionades and have stayed in all those fancy places in big cities, but we loved Los Ponchos even more.

Room Tip: Get the bungalow for lots of space and nice garden view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The rooms are two-storey, with the sleeping area in a loft upstairs. The bathroom is downstairs, so that could be an issue for some, although for us it wasn't a big deal. It was great to have a full kitchen at our disposal. We shopped at the local grocery store and had empanadas in the oven, with a salad for dinner one night. The location is just on the outskirts of town - both a blessing (quiet; the town is touristy and noisy) and a curse (it's a good 30min walk or a cab ride to get to and from restaurants or other resources). I still prefer this location, as our travel company arranged all our transfers for excursions directly from the hotel.
Breakfasts were great and nice to have them served in your own room. You also have the option of using the common eating area, which is the most beautiful space in the hotel, having a great view of the outdoors. We did this for a couple of meals and were treated to various birds and small critters running around within our view. The meal quality varied as our breakfasts were superb while the mid-day meals we arranged (eggs one day and pizza another) were not great.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlakeE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Lovely boutique hotel. The apartments are spacious with views over Lago Argentino The service was impeccable. The front desk was very accommodating We particularly liked having breakfast served in the pretty galleria outside our room every morning. Note that if you have a very early start breakfast is served in your room The front desk made some great suggestions for restaurants Tierra Adentro literally around the corner and La Tablita in the town Note that the hotel is a good 30 minutes walk to the centre of El Calafate but taxis are reasonably priced. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Southern Patagonia again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Edyckxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Every staff person we met at Los Ponchos was gracious, helpful and friendly. The location is o.k. but not quite within comfortable walking distance of the downtown area. Sadly what would have been great views of the lake have been somewhat obscured by construction across the street. The rooms are a bit odd and dated, but the beds are very comfortable and the sitting areas outside the rooms are very nice. The breakfasts were also quite good but the real highlight of our stay was the excellent staff.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffF535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews