We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
35
80
54
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
80
54
14
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Like one of the previous reviewers reported, looked good from the outside, but.....

Despite the mild temperature, all the radiators in the room bathroom were on, the room was stifling, and because the handles were missing, we had to get a spanner from reception to turn off.

Had to sleep with windows open but still like a sauna and then ....

...there is speed hump on the highway outside which the local hoons treat as a speed ramp, combined with howling dogs all night, no sleep.

Needs severe maintenance, every fitting was loose, carpets stained and threadbare.

Breakfast was minimal with a grumpy attendant.

We made the mistake of paying $AUD170 for this dump and couldn't change and had to endure a second visit.

We think it is the most unpleasant experience in 20 years.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. The room was clean, with a pleasant scent and warm. Bed was exceptionally big and we slept well. Lar Aike is some 15 min. walk to downtown, which is an excellent opportunity to stretch your legs after a good dinner. Breakfast was ok, although mainly pastries are offered. You can hardly eat a healthy breakfast w/o excess of sugar here. Staff was very helpful, handled our dinner reservations and assisted in tour booking.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rrts2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Stayed here one night.  On the main road overlooking Lago Argentino.   Room was clean and rustic decor, rather on the small side but fine.  Helpful staff.  Breakfast was not that good, consisting of pastries and coffee although I have experienced worse breakfasts whilst in Argentina!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nicky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

All the basics are fine, breakfast is the same fare you'll find in every hotel in Argentina, as otters have said the walls are thin, and the rooms have 1970's wood-paneled feel to them, lol. other than that it's fine. el calafate isn't a place you go to hang out at your hotel room anyway, so sort of worth the savings, although if you book early i'd go with a place closer to the main drat. Lar Aike a 15 minute walk from "downtown" and in warm weather the local free range dogs will follow you home on your walk!

Stayed: November 2015
Thank 224steve0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Spacious place, rooms and common areas have plenty of space although furniture is outdated. Breakfast is ok for Argentine standard, though I missed eggs. Rooms are not very soundproof, you can hear the people in the other room talking. Location is a little out of the centre but was not a problem(about 10m walk to start of centre).

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews