We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly place we stayed in Argentina.”
Review of Hosteria Rukahue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria Rukahue
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This feels a bit like a European ski lodge. The room are not big but very clean, and comfortable. The cleaning staff were excellent.
The common areas are comfortable as well.
What makes this place is the staff, they would do absolutely anything to help you.
We had a lovely time staying here and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristoltraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Rukahue (rockaway) is a truly great experience. I recently stayed there with my wife and sister inlaw on a trip from BA. There is no way i can say enough great things about the family and experience. Thanks again Santiago and Adriana.

Room Tip: I believe there are only 9 rooms or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This is a great place to stay in Calafate , Adriana the ownwer was very helpfull .This was our first stop in our trip to Patagonia ,and where quite tired ,after a long trip from Brazil ,but we slept like at home ,in very confortable beds .Breakfast was very good ,but the nicest thing was the view , is a really great spot ,plus all the good feeling of being like at home ,made this place a far better choice than going to the bigger hotels .Is a little bit out off town center but is Ok taxis are not very expensive ,

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luli02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Rukahue is a bit at the edge of town. A car is desirable, but the taxis are $3.00 into the city, no big deal.
The hosteria is a family run operation with lovely rooms. The large community room has a panoramic view of the lake and surrounding mountains. Unfortunately by the time we got to El Calafate I was rather ill, and Adriana took care of me like my mother would have, Absolutely wonderful folks and will do anything to make you comfortable. There's a computer, TV and large lounge area in the huge loft. Santiago, the son spoke very good english and communication was no issue here.
I highly recommen the Rukahue - rockhouse..

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cktahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Having an awesome view, Rukahué is placed some minutes away from El Calafate's main street. Even if it may be a little bit far away, there are several issues which may be considered advantages. For example, it may be the most cozy place I've ever visited. The owners are a married couple who are at every moment ready to help, and, she has this incredible attitude that she can turn a boring night into an interesant informative conversation. To conclude, if you are looking for a cozy, calmed and charming place, chose Rukahué and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solci27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 km away
Konke Hotel & Sabores
Konke Hotel & Sabores
#36 of 69 in El Calafate
81 reviews
2.1 km away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#41 of 69 in El Calafate
195 reviews
2 km away
Miyazato Inn
Miyazato Inn
#29 of 69 in El Calafate
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Picos Del Sur
Picos Del Sur
#39 of 69 in El Calafate
142 reviews
1.8 km away
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
#47 of 69 in El Calafate
219 reviews
0 km away
Hosteria los Hielos
Hosteria los Hielos
#38 of 69 in El Calafate
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Rukahue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rukahue

Address: Glaciar Murallon 77 | near Don Bosco 65, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#26 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#29 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $74 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Rukahue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n a privileged Patagonian setting, Rukahue offers alpine-style rooms with splendid views and free Wi-Fi. Trips to Perito Moreno Glacier can be arranged through the tour desk. Parking is free. At Hosteria Rukahue rooms are styled with rustic light wood and equipped with heating. All rooms include private bathrooms with toiletries and showers. A continental breakfast with coffee, chocolate, mate, tea of various flavors, cold and / or hot milk, orange juice, croissants, toasted white bread and wheat bread, butter and jam can be enjoyed daily. Packed lunches for excursions are available. Tourist information is provided at the tour desk. Downtown Calafate is 0.8 km away, with plenty of cafes and souvenir shops and the Bus terminal is 0.5 km. Shuttles to Calafate Airport, 20 km away, can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria Rukahue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Rukahue El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing