We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterley Magic. You will pinch yourself.”
Review of Hotel Tronador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tronador
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Utterley Magic. You will pinch yourself.”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My family of 4 stayed at the Tronador over Christmas 2010. It is perhaps one of the most wonderful places I have ever visited. Every morning I would need to pinch myself to make sure I wasn't dreaming. We rode horses, hiked and relaxed in one of the most beautiful settings you can imagine.
The service is outstanding. A genuine family business run with sincerity and enthusiasm. A rare thing these days. The rooms are rustic but very very comfortable. The vibe is casual and caring. The service is great. The home-cooked meals delicious. The Christmas BBQ (Asado) was fabulous.
Nothing beats a drink on the shores of Lago Mascardi watching the mountain peaks turn orange and then black. Except waking up in the morning and doing it all again!
Small wonder that many Argentine families seem to head to the Tronador every year. It is the type of place I could keep going back to again and again as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boinzo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    13
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

A wonderful family business hotel located in the heart of the mountains.
With my family had incredible time fishing, horse riding and hacking to hiding water falls.
In the evening after a home cook meal you can chill out enjoying a magnificent view of an emerald lake.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macaplanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

It is hard to describe in a review how beautiful this place is, there are no words, photos, or thoughts to say the spiritual connection you will feel when you visit this place.

The magnificent Marcardi lake, Cerro Tronador, Fly fishing, homemade cooking, the out of this world costumers service given by Beatriz, Sonia, Benny and Oscar.

Please check the short youtube video of the hotel and its surroundings.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ceFgcglDYMI

From the bottom of my heart come see and feel this place, it is worth the trip from Bariloche.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Hotel Tronador, on the banks of Lake Mascardi, is one beautiful hotel.

The rooms are rustic but luxurious. Wooden floors so polished that you could see your face in them!! The beds are huge and the views from the balcony are stunning. Our balcony faced the lake and mountain range - Mount Tronador is 3,500m and is the first thing you seen when you wake up in the morning...beautiful!!

Due to the fact that there's nowhere else for miles (apart from a few campsies) the hotel is full board only. This would normally be a no no for us as we like finding our own places to eat but the food at Tronador was great. Lunch and evening meals were 4 courses but you never felt like you'd eaten too much.

Good wines too, reasonably priced, not like in the UK where they nail you to the ground because they know you have nowhere else to go.

We stayed here for 3 nights in the end and were really sad to leave. The hotel offers great walking trails, horse riding and boat trips across the lake to another area to explore. There's even a waterfall that takes <1hr to reach from the hotel.

We loved this place!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — The giant bed
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dark_Horse1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

BENITO VEREERTBRUGGHEN sat with with Dick and I for over an hour and shared his four-generation history of the Hotel Tronador. The determination and struggle of his Great Grandfather continues to hummm... throughout the magnificent buildings, delicious fresh meals and freely offered smiles from staff/family.

The turquise lake shifts in scenery as the day passes but at each juncture a glorious and unique picture imprints one's memory. The hikes, rafting, horseback riding and overall tenor make this corner of the world and absolute stopping off point. We are currently on our fourth day and hate to leave; truly, both of us could stay for a couple of weeks.

I recommend Hotel Tronador so highly that I encourage each of you reading this review to change your itinerary and visit; you will never forget it! Do a google search by putting in Hotel Tronador, Argentina and enjoy an excellent website. The hotel is in the RIO NEGRO PROVINCE, Bariloche, Argentina.

Enjoy and thank you for the opportunity to share a rare and authentic experience.

  • Liked — This accomodation is uniquely placed in an amazing picturesque setting. Also, the hotel is excellent, food, too!
  • Disliked — Nothing.....We loved it.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank animated225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Puerto Blest
Hotel Puerto Blest
#43 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
45 reviews
25.5 km away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
404 reviews
15.9 km away
Estancia Peuma Hue
Estancia Peuma Hue
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,173 reviews
31.3 km away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
972 reviews
27.2 km away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tronador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tronador

Property: Hotel Tronador
Address: Ruta Provincial 82 | Dentro del Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi. A orillas del Lago Mascardi, San Carlos de Bariloche R8405AZA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price range (per night): $355 - $756
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tronador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing