We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, no working internet in rooms, cramped”
Review of Hotel Nevada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nevada
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Noisy, no working internet in rooms, cramped”
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Very, very noisy – from street and adjoining rooms. Internet did not work in the room, even though I was in a first floor suite. The lack of working internet was unfortunate, since I was at this hotel for a business related computer engineering conference. The ‘Junior Suite’ could best be described as a smallish closest. When asked to be relocated to a room that had ‘working’ internet, the front desk simply refused. Not a single hotel employee that I met understood more than 3 words of English. Check-in took 60-70 minutes, as three employees vainly attempted to get the credit card reader to work. The room keys are the size of a book, making them very awkward to carry around. The room door could not be locked from the inside, compromising security when in the room. The room did have a sewing kit, but no q-tips. So this hotel got some of the small things right but was inadequate in nearly every big thing needed for a comfortable stay. I could image the suite I was in to be freezing during those windy cold nights in the winter. Stay elsewhere please.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mike_la_jolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    64
    72
    33
    19
See reviews for
68
69
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

This is not a good hotel, and not cheap. The room was very cold, they were not responsive, and the neighboring rooms might as well have been in my room. I could hear every conversation. They claimed it was just a cold room, and I didn't get heat until I told them if I didn't have it in ten minutes, I was immediatley checking out. I got heat. Since that main point of Bariloche is to get out of that town, it is better if the hotel can help in arranging day trips. This hotel has nothing. I left early as I couldn't stand this hotel (and wasn't really astounded with the town, either, which is basically now a big outdoor mall). There are pretty towns around, but bettter in good weather. Not a place to go in the winter unless you want to ski.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MHKtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels

Corpus Christi, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2006

We pre-paid for 2 nights on Octopus Travel because we were arriving late at night. When we arrived, the desk clerk initially told us that Octopus Travel had cancelled our reservation. She then admitted that they had sold our room but would find us another one equal to the Nevada. Since it was late, we took the other hotel room for one night and then we moved back to the Nevada for the second night. The other hotel was the Crystal--in no way equal to the Nevada (which was an o.k. hotel). For our second night, we did get a nice room that actually had a view of the lake--but this does not make up for the inconvenience and uncertainity forced upon us. I have filed a complaint with Octopus Travel (which I have used several times in the past with no snags) but have not heard from them regarding their assessment of this problem.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2006

If you want to sleep, do not stay in this hotel during their summer, there is no air conditioning. Bariloche is a mountain town so you do not really need A/C but a ceiling fan would help so you could close the windows. The room is very noisy with the windows open. Also, the walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbors. The room decor was old but functional. We ended up changing hotels after one night.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank argentinevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manzanillo, mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2006

The hotel is in the heart of the shopping/ restaurant area and 2 blocks from the lakefront. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The elevator is EXTREMELY slow and often we took the stairs. The capacity is 4 people and was very funny to watch the staff rescue 6 people that had become stuck and had been furiously sounding the alarm and shouting for help. Two members of staff open the doors and then count aloud as the people get out!
The rooms are very basic and the walls are paper thin - I did not enjoy the neighbour's choice of TV station nor their alarm clock.
The breakfast was good but could get crowded at certain times.
The room had a nice view of a car park.
All in all, not bad value for money

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank golfing10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#28 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
406 reviews
0.4 km away
Kenton Palace Hotel
Kenton Palace Hotel
#65 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
415 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Bariloche
Grand Hotel Bariloche
#66 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
323 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#63 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
276 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#31 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nevada

Property: Hotel Nevada
Address: Calle Sgto a Rolando 250, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GQF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price range (per night): $89 - $334
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nevada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing