We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely retreat with a curious approach to breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochester Hotel Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat with a curious approach to breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed four nights at this hotel over Easter 2012. The room is very spacious and tastefully decorated with a wonderful view of the lake, Nahuel Huapi. In-room facilities are very good, especially the very large circular spa bath and the leather couch. It is a perfect place for a romantic escape although there were a few quirks that could be improved.
Breakfast is delivered to the room each morning but we found that the items delivered did not correspond with our selections. It seemed that the hotel employed a monkey to randomly fill our trays with whatever it could reach. When we ordered bananas, apples and oranges were delivered. The gym and swimming pool were quite inaccessible from the rooms and the driveway was more like an obstacle course.

Room Tip: Rooms in the centre of the wing have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    126
    25
    3
    15
See reviews for
146
237
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here in October 2011. The hotel room was large comfortable and very well equipped. We loved the pool and Jacuzzi and our Jacuzzi bath in our room. The showers are powerful and hot and they have really nice shampoos etc. You can rent bikes really close by and cycle the circuito chico. There are also a couple of really good restaurants within walking distance too. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Next time though, we will have some more Spanish as the staff didn’t speak much English. Really enjoyable stay.
PS they have the most friendly long billed bird who visited us every morning at breakfast. Superb.
PPSS I hope that the ash cloud has gone once and for all for the people of Bariloche.

Room Tip: By your bus ticket in the kiosk in the town or else take a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orna99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
172 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We booked this hotel for a few days around Christmas 2011. Making the booking turned out to be extremely difficult, there were lots of emails necessary to complete the reservation with the promised special rate on the website. Part of the deal was that half of the amount had to be paid by creditcard shortly after booking, otherwise the booking would be cancelled, so I provided them, as they asked, with a copy of all my creditcard details, but nothing happened, and after asking why not in two other emails I was promised my booking was ok. It turned out to be really ok when we got there, but this didn't feel comfortable.

The hotel is NOT located in Bariloche, but about 8 kilometers away from town in the direction of the circuito chico. There is a local bus you can cath all the way around the peninsula, with a stop close to the hotel, but you have to buy tickets in advance at the busstation or at a small kiosk opposite the central busstop in town behind the tourist info. It would be convenient if they provided this information on their website and at the front desk, instead of telling you the only way to get around is by taxi (70 pesos from the busstation, bus costs only 6 pp!). Most tourcompanies pick you up at your hotel if you go rafting, sailing or whatever, so in that case location of your hotel doesn't really matter.
There isn't much in the direct surroundings of the hotel, we got ourselves a taxi to town, rented bikes, stopped at the supermarket in between the town and the hotel and stocked up (but, this is not a nice road for biking,very busy).

Check inn was fast and friendly. Our room was on the ground floor, with a lake view (not the best, there is a busy road and some trees in between, this appears to be the same for all of the rooms), but is was ok.
In the room, there was a huge bed, a huge closet, a table with 3 (rahter uncomfortable) chairs and a couch + tv with loads of channels. You can also sit outside on the balcony. In the bathroom there was a rainshower and a huge (huge, huge) jacuzzi which was awesome.
The kitchen is basic (only 2 pans, that do not fit on the cookingplate at the same time) so cooking a Christmasdiner was quite a challenge, but it worked out. There was nothing special done for guests at Christmas, and breakfast on the 25th wasn't fresh, but the reception did close early on the 24th and opened late at the 25th.

Breakfast is a plate with some pastries, some bread, butter, marmelade and orange juice, put in front of the room every morning around 8. I agree with other travellers that therefore it's strange that an early breakfast is not possible, and this isn't the best breakfast you can imagine, but with our own eggs, cheese and yoghurt we managed to make a decent breakfast.
At the end of our stay, we were given an evaluationform to fill in, but the questions do not match this hotel (breakfastbuffet, restaurant)...

The first morning we woke up at 6, because the alarmclock in the television was put on, and the tv turned on on very high volume. I would check this therefore before going to bed....
Next to this, every morning someone watered the grass and plants outside, which woke me up as a light sleeper (as did noises from the room above our room).

The room was very clean and made up every day, things look well kept and modern, and at the reception there's a small pool and a fitnessroom.
Our stay was ok, staff was friendly and quite helpful and if you have your own wheels to get around and don't mind not staying in the city center (which is busy, with not to many decent and affordable places to sleep), this hotel is one of your options.

Room Tip: There are two levels; the groundfloor with the 'standard' rooms, and the first floor with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Google Translation
Estimado, sus comentarios son sumamente importantes para nuestro estableci-miento, ya que nos permiten mejorar nuestro estándar de servicio adaptando el mismo a las necesidades y solicitudes de nuestros huéspedes. Sus comentarios serán elevados al directorio con la finalidad de evaluar esta situación.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our trip didn't happen because of the volcano. We transfered to 2011/september and the volcano is keeping its activit.IWe have one son and one daughter.We couldn't get risks.
We canceled on time but I got surprised when I recieved the voucher valid until 2011/december.Another hotels in Bariloche give ONE YEAR in this situation and I was informed by phone that our voucher would be valid for one year.
My children had never saw the snow.We chose the WINTER and on holidays.
My family and I are very disappointed with the "Hotel Rochester politics".
Don´t believie what they TELL you.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank MarthaCheimJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Sir, We would like to contact you directly in order to solve this situation out and send you a response to this issue.
After receiving the information that flights would recommence by mid July, we changed the validity dates of vouchers. Thus, vouchers could be used only during this year (2011).
Even when this was a situation raised by inconveniences beyond our responsibility, we decided to give vouchers new validity dates. Therefore, vouchers could be used until 2012; that is to say, for an entire year from the original stay date and including the corresponding season.
In case you did not receive any kind of information from us, in which we modified your voucher, we kindly ask you to send us an email or a telephone number to contact you. Our Sales Manager, Mrs. Aldana Galan, will personally handle this matter (gerenciacomercial@rochester-hotel.com.ar)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

I hired 4 hotel nights in this hotel through Hoteis.com (Expedia Brasil). I had to change plans and would check-in one night after previewed, so I had to pay for an extra night as the rate wouldn't allow changes. Hoteis.com informed me the hotel was informed about the late check-in so my reservation was guaranteed.
When getting to the hotel I was informed by the staff that they were not informed about it and I had no reservation left. For 2 days I was "lucky" to be able to stay there due to cancellations, but on the 3rd day I had to leave and look for another hotel to stay with my senior parents and all the luggage. I had to stay in a nasty bungalow and lost almost one day of trip trying to solve this mess.

When coming back I contacted Hoteis.com to be compensated for all that and at this time RH Rochester Bariloche lied and told they never cancelled the reservation and I had left one day earlier because I wanted to, so they would not reimburse or compensate anything and Hoteis.com neither had to. I was told by them it was "my word against theirs". But really: I had to be really crazy to change hotels and pay again to stay in a nasty hotel.

So I recommend no one goes there again - who knows what they could do or tell you.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ktorii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, 16 April 2011
Rochester Hotels operates several distribution channels, one of them is Expedia Travel site to which we have been marketing our products for many years and have never had any problem. As indicated by the confirmations of the bookings made through Expedia Travel, Rochester Bariloche has an established policy for cancellation and modification of 7 to 30 days depending on the season, which is why if the reservation was not modified in a timely manner it has a preestablished penalty. As Expedia Travel works online, any changes and cancellations must be made by the same route, you cannot make changes by telephone. We really regret what happened, but if the modification was not performed online or under the stipulated time, it is appropriate to apply the respective penalty. Besides, as a business we are not allowed to add to the current account of Expedia Travel an extra night without the support of it. In order to proceed in this way, the passenger must present at his check-in the voucher issued by Expedia Travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
4.2 km away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.1 km away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 km away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
6.3 km away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
9.2 km away
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
#13 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Hotel Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel Bariloche

Property: Rochester Hotel Bariloche
Address: Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 6700, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AEN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price range (per night): $98 - $576
Hotel Class:4 star — Rochester Hotel Bariloche 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Nahuel Huapi Lake and along Exequiel Bustillo avenue and minutes away from downtown Bariloche, Rochester Hotel Bariloche offers Super King beds, dry heat and steam saunas, finnish bath, scottish shower, fitness center, and a heated interconnecting indoor and outdoor pool. Influenced by 20th century classic such as Saarinen and Phillippe Stark's design rooms and lofts are equipped with a spacious jacuzzi tubs, independent climate control, Kitchenette: Electric stove, microwave, and complete dishware. Furthermore, beautiful Patagonian heated-wood-flooring, blackout roller blinds, safe deposit box, Led TV, and high speed Wi-Fi internet. Guests can enjoy a-la-carte breakfast in their rooms, and from the private balcony a truly breathtaking panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rochester Hotel Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing