We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent is the only proper description for this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stunning views over the lake, memorable sunsets. We had a private spa in our room (I think it was one of the suits). So rare to have a jacuzzi, a sauna and a steam room all to ourselves. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The experience of underfloor heating was wonderful! The breakfast has top marks. They made us eggs any way we wanted them (poached was not a problem).

Only three downsides - the head rests on the jacuzzi needs some attention, we were promised a hand blender in the reservation but this was not forthcoming, and the 'champagne' at breakfast was in fact sparkling white wine (but who expects this at breakfast anyway?!). But those are very minor downsides, and to me it demonstrates how good this hotel is that these are the only ones I can think of.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thanks for your comments. As you well describe, an in-room private spa is one of Charming's features allowing you to remain in your room while you go from one treatment to another. Breakfast is unbeatable thanks to our chef and fresh products.
Thanks for letting us know about our downsides, we will work hard to improve them.
Hope to see you in Bariloche and Charming once again.
Best regards
Tiziana Mongiardini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. Our room was fantastic - amazing view over the lake, wonderful built-in spa room and small fireplace at the end of our bed. We had a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant (Stag) which is worth a stop even if you are not staying in the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic! The location is amazing, with a panoramic elevated view of the lake and mountains.

If there are any negatives we could mention it would be that the reception/dining hall furniture does not really fit a "rustic mountain lodge". It is more modern hotel, than traditional furnishings. Also, the spa equipment could be maintained better. For example, the jacuzzi head-rests were torn off their mounts, the shower-heads were clogged and the squealing compressors were distracting when you are suppose to be in a relaxing, quiet environment. It also seems that they rely predominantly on Trip Advisor reviews for their traffic.

This said, we had a lovely night stay and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Andrea, thank you for your comments, we will work hard to improve our weaknesses and reinforce our strengths. Customer care, quality and dedication are our main goals in order to satisfy our guests' needs. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed dinner at our restaurant Stag, and appreciate you commenting on it.
Next time you are planning on coming, do contact us in advance in order to benefit from lower fares on flights and lower rates on accommodations.
Best regards
Tiziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I visited the carming hotel in February 2012 on our honeymoon and i can honestly say that we were blown away by the facilities and the friendliness of the hotel staff - particularly Titziana and Maria Jose. The rooms are just fab - we stayed in a deluxe room with jaccuzzi, sauna and steamroom and it was out of this world. All the rooms have amazing views and the breakfast was by far the best that we had in Argentina.

My husband was quite sick and needed to see a doctor when we first checked in. Titziana contacted her doctor friend, drove us to the clinic and went in with us to make sure there were no tranlation issues - I've never heard of that level of customer service and it really helped to put our minds at ease. We ended up staying 7 nights, partly for medical reasons and we were treated so well ove the time. Maria Jose on reception was exceptionally helful and we pestered her every day for information about where to go and where to eat.

All in all an exceptional hotel with exceptional staff - unmissable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Like everyone else has said, the views are spectacular and exceeded our expectations (which were high after reading all these reviews)! The lodge is clean, new, and well-built with large windows, so you get views from nearly everywhere. We fully enjoyed the sauna, steam, and jacuzzi especially given the cold temperatures in April (mid-fall in Argentina). The breakfast was great, with mimosas, made to order eggs, etc; dinner was average however.

Although we were surprised that not everyone on the staff was as friendly as reported, a few people - specifically Maria and Esteban, were so sweet and helpful and really went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Their efforts, combined with spa and views from the room, compelled us to overlook any flaws and still rate this a 5 star experience!

ps- For those concerned about the ash cloud, we visited in mid-April and it was completely resolved.

Room Tip: Don't get a standard room - half the fun is the in-suite spa! If you are lucky enough to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_traveler2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

You cannot beat the views from this hotel! The Andes, the lake, and "Playa Bonita". I loved being able to walk down to the beach. It's built in a rustic lodge style, the rooms are spread across the property so some require passage along stairs, bridges and pathways to get to them. Our room had a great view of the lake. I think that most rooms are oriented toward the lake. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and the spa features of the bathroom were over the top. We had a sauna, whirlpool bath and a steam shower! It is located 7K out of town, but we found we were happy with that location. The breakfast buffet could be improved upon, but it was ok. Tip: there's a great little laundry across the street so we were able to get our clothes washed for an extremely reasonable price.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
13.6 km away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,226 reviews
0.2 km away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
306 reviews
10.4 km away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,005 reviews
0.4 km away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#5 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
666 reviews
4.7 km away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,5 | On the shore of Lake Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $200 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing