We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
6
20
31
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
20
31
13
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The staff was very friendly but that was all. Renovation seems to be on-going, at least cables were hanging from the ceiling. the room was without window, the breakfast some toast and jam. It seems that there is some burglary ongoing in Trelew, so do not leave anything in the car but the hotel was save.

Date of stay: December 2015
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BambergerReiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia H, Director General at Hotel Galicia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you for your opinion.
Yes, we are reforming our corridor. We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay with us. We are trying to improve our facilities.
We offer a little more than toast and jam... We offer cheese, yogurt (vanilla and strawberry), croissants, cereals, fruits, compote (apple).
It's not an unsafe city for living but It's dangerous forget belongings inside a car (parked on the street of course).
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

The stay was okay during the 2 days. After leaving the place, reaching another city, we discover that 100$ were stolen in our bag during our stay in the hotel. Someone enters in our locked private room, and stole the money.
We decide to write an email to the hostel, in order to warn them and trying to find out where the money is. No answer at all...
Very disappointed by the transparent reaction of the Galicia hostel team...

Following this terrible story, I do NOT recommend at all any tourist to stay in this hotel

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia H, Manager at Hotel Galicia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2015

Thomas,

I noticed about this problem last Friday 24/04 when we read your comment on booking.com.
I send you a mail in order to receive more details about this delicate problem but we never received your answer.
Throw booking.com, explained that you sent us an e-mail before writte your critic but we never received it on our inbox outlook. So I decided to put in contact to our web page and mail server to find your original mail beacuse It's VERY IMPORTANT to us to find what could happened in your stay with us.
As I explained last Friday 24/04 by mail: "We trust in our employees (all of them are working for many years here). We never have problems like this, so It’s important to us to aclare the situation. In the past we have some cases of people who believed their money was stolen from one of us but then they realized that was a mistake because they found the money"

This is a traditional Hotel of Trelew serving since March, 1947 and I repeat we TRUST in our employees.

To our surprise, we found your mail (different e-mail adress) which I copy below...
In this mail you claimed USD240 but in this critic on Tripadvisor you claimed USD 100??

We expressed our best intention to aclare this situation but I'm afraid the information is not clare at all...

This is your original mail:

From: Valérie Duret
To: <info@hotelgalicia.com.ar>
Subject: feedback and roberry in your hotel
Date: Mon, 6 Apr 2015 02:44:55 +0200

"Dear,
I want to inform you that during our stay from 29 to 31 March 2015, 240 dollars have been stolen in our luggage.
This money was hidden in our stuff, meaning some people entered in our room with the intention to find and steal money.
Despite the fact we were very satisfied by your hotel, we are very disapppointed and we hope you could propose a solution.
I hope to receive an answer from your side otherwise I will be in the obligation to inform other travelers.
Regards,
Thomas Balanant"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We arrive late at night to take an early morning flight. The lobby is sumptous but not recent (as the rooms); a young girl was there to take some pictures for her birthday (really funny experience). The staff was absolutely friendly and helpfull. They gave us the possibility to take breakfast half an hour earlier than the normal schedule in order to take our early flight. Good location and walking distance from restaurants and shops. Good value for money!!

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kayokoItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia H, General Manager at Hotel Galicia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

Thank you so much for your comments!
Yes, usually people ask permission and comes to take pictures for his birthday or wedding!!
People loves the old staircase!!
Thanks again!
Take Care & Best Regards!
Hotel Galicia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

...were it not for the tobacco smell in our room and (more noticeable, despite the no smoking sign) in the lobby. That the hotel is somewhat outdated, is one thing, but tobacco stench is unacceptable. I realize some guests just don't care and smoke in their room, but the hotel can always sanction people who leave their room in that condition through their wallet/credit card.
Apart from that, the room was rather okay, but on the small side.
Breakfast was varied. Location very good, in the center of town.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel was pretty much what we expected for a stopover point during a 3 week road trip around Patagonia. The website advertises that parking was included but upon arrival, we were told by the not-so-friendly reception clerk that in order to use the parking we were supposed to make separate reservations. We didn't and lo and behold, the parking lot was full. He vaguely pointed us in the direction of paid parking nearby which ended up working out fine (we needed parking because we had a lot of luggage and supplies in our car). There was no one to help take luggage to our rooms. The clerk begrudgingly helped us with our suitcases when he saw our 8 year old twins dragging suitcases up the stairs. The rooms are clean but very dated and awkwardly set up. The street below is noisy. The breakfast room in the morning is small and depressing with a very small selection. I would not stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias Scott por sus comentarios.
Es cierto que la sala de desayuno no es confortable como nosotros y nuestros huéspedes nos exigen. Es por esto que en el próximo mes de Marzo comenzaremos con las obras para la ampliación y equipamiento de la misma.
Tal cual tiene Ud. detallado en su mail de confirmación de reserva, el servicio de cochera es OPCIONAL y debe ser reservado en caso de querer hacer uso de la misma (tenía detallado hasta el costo) pero en ningún momento se detallo como incluida.
Gracias por su aporte acerca del personal que lo ayudara con su equipaje.
Un abrazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews