We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average it was I guess”

La Candelaria Parrilla
Ranked #23 of 343 Restaurants in Salta
Cuisines: Argentinian, Grill
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 8.45 and were welcome to order drinks until dinner starts at 9pm
Basically the parilla libre consists of all you can eat basic salad bar, fries and meat, meat and yes more !!
Actually all food was fine, service was very attentive but the restaurant is a little run down and was pretty much empty even at 10.30 when we left !
Price was a little steeper than I had read up on : 1200$ including wine for 2. Still not bad value if you are a very hungry carnivore though ...

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2017

I have to be fair with this place and will start with the positive: the meat was very good. Period. That's it.
The last time I visited this place was five years ago, close to the time they opened. You would expect they would have improved on things you can give them a pass on close to the opening, but are unacceptable over 5 years later: 1) we were there on a not so busy day, there were 3 tables taken total, including ours. When we were ready to order, we were given the first surprise; they still don't take credit/debit cards! One of us had to go to quietly to a cash machine 4/6 blocks away! It was a corporate dinner, we had invited clients, we couldn't just go somewhere else. This is a prehistoric practice in Salta, usually related to avoiding taxes (not saying this the case), but it’s unacceptable in light of the great other options you have in the city, booming with great places to eat at. 2) We ordered the wine. When the waitress brought the bottle, it was at room temperature, a nice 32 ºC (90 ºF)!! we stopped him and asked him for a cooler bottle. He replied that they don’t keep their wines in a cellar/fridge, he suggested to put the bottle in an ice bucket until it was ready… didn’t have much of a choice and accepted, the wine was ready when we were half way through our dinner… 3) It was one of the hottest nights in Salta and all the air conditioners were off. I asked why… the answer was “to save on the electricity bill”…no comments…. 4) with only 3 tables taken and 3 waitresses working on the shift, it was extremely difficult to get our waitress to service our table, as he spent most of the night with his buddies chatting inside the kitchen!! 5) being so hot the window facing the street was wide open, which was OK, until one of the waitresses decided to go out to the street for a smoke and blow the stink of his cigarette inside the floor through the window next to our table!! It was unbelievable.
Again, the meat was great, but the owners need to understand that people go out to dine not only to get their stomachs full, but for the experience itself, which not only relates to good food, but also to good service, ambiance and basic comfort in accordance with the money you pay for your meal. And this is not the cheapest place in town! Cheers.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rafa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We visited at 9pmon a Thursday and the place was dead, however, it started filling up after 30mins or so. We ordered the parillada with a bottle of wine. The service was excellent, the meat was fantastic: freshly cooked cuts of beef and pork, all sorts of cuts, each one seasoned very well. We have now had a number of asados in Argentina and found that they usually overcook the beef (however it's still great) but it's worth asking for them to cook it how you like. The bottle of wine recommended was very nice. The asado was 320 Argentinian pesos per person. They do not accept cards, which is surprising, that's a big negative for me, considering the ridiculous atm fees in Argentina.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank E5984UFchrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We were not used to dining so late so we were one of the first patrons in the restaurant at about 8:15 pm. It was great because the service was excellent and attentive. As the restaurant got crowded it was harder and harder to get our waiters attention. It was an adequate meal, but as I am writing this on my return from the trip, I had to look at photos to determine which place this was. I keep a business card of places I visit so I can remember to write a review. If there is ever a really positive (or negative) experience that gets remembered. This place was above average.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

For 260 pesos you can get all you can eat parrilla. The steak is super good. Pork is great and it includes dessert too. Must do

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank doleesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Candelaria Parrilla also viewed

Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 
Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 
Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 

Been to La Candelaria Parrilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing