We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, comfortable lodging.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
Ranked #339 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at the Art Deco at the beginning of January, and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. We'd read the reviews mentioning the street noise, so we requested a room on the "quiet" side of the hotel, and this was accomodated. Our view was only of a rooftop, but we had no problems sleeping at night. The property had everything we wanted, including wi-fi in the room. This is an older hotel, in need of some freshening up, but it's comfortable and very clean. There was plenty of water pressure in the bathroom, and very good housekeeping service. The front desk staff were always helpful in their recommendations and advice, and made our stay very pleasant. The breakfast is very good, with a variety of breads and rolls, ham, cheese, yogurt, cereal, juice, fresh fruits and fruit salad and, naturally, hot milk and excellent coffee. Everything you need to get you out the door in the morning.

The location of the hotel is one of its best features. It's just a half block off of Corrientes, a major thoroughfare that leads directly to the Obelisk, about a block away. Two metro stations are nearby, Uruguay and Tribunales (different lines). We were close by to either where we wanted to go or to transportation to where we wanted to go.

It's off-topic as far as the hotel review is concerned, but two recommendations:

First, seek out Line "A" of the Metro system, and ride the wooden cars (they're only on Line A). They're like rolling museum pieces, and have beautiful and immaculate interiors. They've been in use since 1913, and are quite spectacular.

Second, avoid at all costs (about 50 pesos), the yellow, double-decker city tour buses. There were many complaints about the English commentary not functioning, and this was the case for us. The staff appeared fully aware of this, but seemed not to care. They also exercise a rather strange adherence to schedules, denying boarding until the time indicated on your ticket, not matter how empty the bus leaves. You can visit most of the places the tour bus goes by taking city bus #29 on Corrientes, and for only just over 1 peso per trip/boarding. Just make sure you have coins because the machines won't take bills (though they do make change).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talquinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

We had a room at the back of the hotel so although we had only a view of the neighbours roof we didn't get alot of street noise. Comfortable, big room. Large bathroom which was great. Really good pressure in the shower!! Great location. We walked to the Obelisk (a block or so away). Across the Av 9 de Julio and a few blocks across is 2 large pedestrian shopping arcades. These were great. Staff were friendly. We didn't find the breakfast that great but were only there for one breakfast so I don't know if it changed at all. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 9 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 29 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Hotel Cuatro Reyes
Hotel Cuatro Reyes
#252 of 444 in Buenos Aires
192 reviews
Retiro
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence
#288 of 444 in Buenos Aires
96 reviews
Retiro
Suipacha Suites
Suipacha Suites
#363 of 444 in Buenos Aires
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Mayflower Suites
Mayflower Suites
#371 of 444 in Buenos Aires
294 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#114 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,418 reviews
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#204 of 444 in Buenos Aires
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle Libertad 446 | Caba, Buenos Aires C1012AAJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $64 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Deco Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Buenos Aires City, Art Deco Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Corrientes, the famous avenue known as the street that “never sleeps”, Where you could meet the wonderful night life with book shops, tango dancing, fashionable restaurants with famous Argentinean beef, antique shops, as well as jewelers, great theatres, such as, Colon Theatre (one of the largest and most important Opera Houses in the world), and just around the corner the Obelisco, the symbol of Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Art Deco Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Hotel And Suites
Art Deco Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing