We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here they know you”
Review of Hotel Club Frances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Club Frances
Ranked #56 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Why stay in an impersonal chain hotel when a classic-but-modern classic like HCF is available -- especially in this location in the Recoleta. We spent a happy week there in December 2016 constantly going in and out. In less than a day, everyone knew us and happily helped us with Argentine hospitality given a French touch. (The hotel started as a stopping point of Parisians visiting Argentina.) Today, the restaurant, especially, offers French conviviality and the entire unit has the pace and character of an excellent French regional hotel. Solidly recommended. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the atrium have good light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director General at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Nail56, you hit right on spot with your review! When we opened the hotel we wanted every guest to feel like home away from home and by your review its seems we are on the right path.
Thank you very much for your recommendation which means a lot!
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2016

We decided to stay here for our last night having stayed on the other side of central Buenos Aires when we first arrived. The location is excellent but it is quite a walk if this is the only place you are staying and want to access the subway or public transport. It is right on the fringe of all of the sites of Recoleta which is the upmarket part of the city and very quiet.

When we first arrived, although we had specifically ordered 2 beds they gave us a double room which was annoying but quickly rectified. The rooms are large and very nice. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The 1 comment we would have though is why no refrigerator?

They seemed to be having a lot of maintenance issues while we were there. There are 2 lifts but only 1 was ever working. There also seemed to be a problem with changing light bulbs.

The breakfast is in a glasshouse style area to the back of the hotel and was very nice. The hot items are by way of menu rather than the typical buffet and so was different and a little special. We found the front desk staff had excellent English and were very accomodating.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director General at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Waihua, thank you for your review. Every time availability permits we try to upgrade our guests and in doing so you landed on a king bedded room, thank you for acknowledging that we were able to mend our mistake rapidly.
We do not have mini bars in the rooms because we offer a 24/7 room service, however upon request we can put one in the room because we understand that maybe someone needs to refrigerate medication or would rather have something handy than having to call room service.
We use our guests feedback to better our service every day and yours was very helpful.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Spacious comfortable rooms in a very nice upscale location at a reasonable price--a good option if you don't want to pay for the Four Seasons. Not 5 star luxurious, but lovely breakfast garden and breakfast and altogether comfortable. Service was up and down--this is a small place--we had an absolutely wonderful doorman who went above and beyond to recover my purse after I shut the door to a cab, then realized I had left it inside (with passport, cell phone and money!)--he was also funny and witty--but 2 concierges gave questionable/incorrect advice (could have been language issues); we had to request robes a couple of times and were not initially told they were available; service at breakfast was spotty; and one of my traveling companions thought her room was slightly "tired"--etc. In short, not perfect, a few nits, but good value with local character and perfect location--a great alternative to an anonymous chain.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director General at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Christine F, thank you very much for your review!
Alberto our doorman is a great asset and indeed very funny, we will work on the mentioned nits to keep improving our service, thank you very much for letting us know.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The hotel is located in Recoleta on Rodriguez Pena St. in between Avenida Alvear and Avenida Quintana two of the most chic streets in Buenos Aires and a few blocks from plaza Recoleta. This neighborhood is one of the best in Buenos Aires with great architecture, shopping and superb restaurants. The hotel was built on the old Club Frances an aristocratic French social club in the city. The French décor is evident in the lobby, restaurant and bar with great paintings, furniture and art. There are rooms with a modern look and others with a French tone. The rooms are large and comfortable and the ones located to the back offer the view of a green space and are very quiet. The bathrooms are large with double sinks and shower bathtub combination. Good bedding. Room service was impeccable and prompt. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a great menu and wines and the service is superior. Breakfast is included and is served in the sunroom adjacent to the main restaurant. This is a very classy small hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank roberto a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director General at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Roberto a, thank you very much for your lovely review. We enjoy very much hearing back from our guests and more so when reading that we were up to your expectations.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I really am not into writing on-line reviews and this is my first one! After the great service and experience I had at this hotel, I felt obligated to write this review. I travel a fair bit both domestically and abroad and can easily say this was one of the best services I have experienced. What makes it even more amazing is the cost. Rosangela, Fionna, Marcos, Jessica, Mikhaila and the rest of the team made sure that all the needs were met from room service to concierge. The location was great! The restaurant was very nice as well with one of the best empanadas I ever had. Must stay if you travel to BA! Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anjay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director General at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Anjay R, than you so much for taking the time and writing the review, not only is it excellent but knowing that you are not an online reviewer makes it even better yet!
We are very happy to have made your vacation a wonderful time and than you very much for your recommendation.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 444 in Buenos Aires
768 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#21 of 444 in Buenos Aires
687 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#34 of 444 in Buenos Aires
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#40 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,090 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#38 of 444 in Buenos Aires
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Frances

Address: Calle Rodriguez Pena 1832 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1021ABN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $216 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Club Frances 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION The Hotel Club Francés is located in one of the most outstanding neighborhoods of the city of Buenos Aires in the area in which its architecture is reminiscent of Paris: La Recoleta.Surrounded by history and culture it is a highly valued location for tourism.HOTEL INFORMATION The Hotel opened in 2011 after a complete refurbishment 28 rooms in total Wi-Fi access in all public space and guest roomsACCOMODATIONS Broadband and wireless internet access Satellite television Individual climate control 100% cotton bath towels Bathroom with shower/bath Non-allergenic pillows Luxury bathrobes and slippers Hairdryer Twice-daily housekeeping attention In-room safety-deposit box Electricity: AC 220V All guestrooms are non-smokingRESTAURANT, BAR & LOUNGE Restaurant Bar Roof Terrace SERVICES & FACILITIES 24-hour in-room dining 24-hour concierge service Limousine service upon request Complimentary wifi Multilingual hotel staff Babysitting on request Major credit cards accepted Garage facilities to be booked in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Frances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing