We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
612
460
204
60
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
460
204
60
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board blue lagoon turkey next year salad air con pool bar the main strip boiled eggs resident photographer thomson rep great holiday plenty of sunbeds bed and breakfast small fridge boat trip cold meats
Filter
Updating list...
1,000 - 1,005 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We went to this hotel aug 20 for two weeks,it was our first time to Turkey and we loved it.We booked with Direct Holidays and got a great deal.(However tried to rebook with them and they not doing this hotel next year!).We requested two adjacent rooms and that is what we got in block 5b overlooking the second pool.Rooms small and basic but with good air conditioning.Balcony small but we still sat out every night on it for a last drink{hello to christine and Brian our balcony neighbours).The room , grounds and hotel were spotless O ur maid was lovely and sometimes arranged fresh flowers on the bed..Both pools are lovely but we liked the livlier one better.The great thing is you can!t reserve sunbeds and your towels will be removed.This means even about ten o clock you can get a bed !We stayed bed and breakfast as lots of lovely places to eat.We especially loved the setting of Buzz Bar but if you want to see the sunset pre book a rooftop terrace table-fab.We ate in most of restaurants on the strip and never a bad meal.(staff in Ottomans very friendly if you like informal and they also do lovely breakfast and fresh orange juice).We loved everything about the resort but be aware waves can be strong on the beach and you will need beach shoes but you can buy them there.The hotel has evening entertainment which is fine (don!t miss the turkish and barbecue night) but we also liked Shadows Bar and also if you go into the garden part of Anfora restaurant lovely singer on there and lovely , friendly service too.Other nights at the hotel included a good magic show , quizzes and dancers.Omer the photographer takes lovely photos and well worth getting some.Special hello to him and also Ibrahim. We went on a few trips and booked with Carole and Tayfun based in Hisaranu which is short dolmus ride away, but you can also pre book them on line and save even more.We were glad we booked them.I chose them because of their reviews.We went on 12 island cruise and our boat was not big or cramped.It had round tables and cushioned seats mainly and was very comfortable.A .lovely meal was served on board too .Although you are asked not to bring your own drinks everybody did and nothing was said. You can buy drinks and ice creams on board too.The boat goes from Fethiye but you get picked up from the hotel.We also did jeep safari , great fun and we took plenty of lira coins to give to the children. Our jeep had individual seats and belts and were the best I saw.(other jeeps were like two bench type seats at the back and people squashed in) Our seats were all padded too.Also our last stop was the beach,a nice rest after a long day.Other companies such as Focus take you to a carpet factory on the way home so ask about this before you book trips( check out the reviews of Focus , they not reccomended at all) We also did mud bath and Turtle beach which was great too.We also enjoyed a lovely day at The Blue Lagoon,Sugar Beach is nice too but a lot of flies in the beach bar when trying to eat.Its also worth having a manicure , pedicure and turkish bath whist in Olu Deniz..The one by Azda seemed good place for the turkish bath.All in all we had a fab time and could not fault this hotel or the beautiful Olu Deniz and are hoping to return next year .Can!t wait!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCubells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

just returned from the karbel,we were there in june last year with thomas cook and took the half board option at £5 per day which worked out to be good value, we enjoyed oludeniz and returned in august this year, the resort as to be expected being much busier this time of year. This time we went bed & breakfast and used local restaraunts . My top tip if staying here, if on a budget, would be pre book evening meal, [ it works out less than buying at hotel] we tried a few places for evening meals and on the whole found the experience a little dissapointing [ thomas cook are £7 next year for this option] and if we were returning would book it

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We arrived at the Karbel at roughly 11ish at night and were sent to block 9 – room 935. The room was very small and smelled of damp but it was easy to see why the next morning. There was no air circulating around that part of the complex and given the recent rain the musty smell was understandable. The bed for my daughter (14 and tall with it) was barely adequate so we asked to be moved and this was agreed with no hassle at all so on Monday we moved to room 425 on the top floor of block 4b overlooking the small pool. It was perfect being both larger and airier. The storage space was very restrictive (or perhaps we had bought too much kit!) and so we had to use our cases for cupboards. No big deal though, just a little inconvenient. We had a couple of minor maintenance issues – two bulbs, a blocked run off to the shower tray and a leaking air con unit (which was actually very efficient) – but these were dealt with pretty promptly albeit perhaps not to the highest standards!. The fridge was a little on the small side but adequate. The bathroom was absolutely fine although an extractor fan would have been nice. No problems with hot water – this was always plentiful. The balcony was tiny and care was needed with the chairs as if you pushed then up against the surrounding metal frame the legs would go over the edge. The architectural style though was ‘mock Ottoman’ so you could not really complain. All the blocks were surrounded by conifers which is also a traditional Turkish feature. Very cheesy I guess but nice to look at. The grounds were kept in beautiful condition and all added to the clean and tidy aspect of the hotel. Don’t try leaving a towel on a sun bed to reserve it though as the staff do go around and collect them.

The food was first class and we all enjoyed the Meze and the breakfasts. BBQ night was really good although the belly dancer was perhaps a little full on for a family hotel! The staff were absolutely fantastic – Isa, Ous, the Milkshake man and all the rest really made you welcome and the safest way to make a positive impact with them is to mention Galatasaray as they are all full on supporters of this football team! Omar the photographer was really good and if you see him sporting a straw panama hat then that came from me!

The prices (we were half board) for drinks were on par with the bars etc in town and so were slightly less than you would pay in the UK . Sadly the days of cheap holidays in Turkey is coming to an end as they have wised up to the fact that they are a popular choice versus those countries in Euroland. The Karbel shop outside though is a good source of supplies and is recommended for the 1 ½ litre bottles of water at 1 lire each – you can buy these frozen as well.

We did not spend anytime on the main beach as this was pebbly and shelved quite steeply (not so good for the youngsters or less than confident oldsters!) so we used the private beaches in the lagoon of which for us the Paradise beach was by far the best as it was small, quiet and had two big advantages – the bar/café on the shore and Christine, the ex-pat (a 9 year resident) who is a valuable source of local information. Just call them from the hotel reception and they will pick you up and bring you back at the end of the day. The food is pretty good and reasonable here and the sunbeds are only 5 TL each with the umbrellas being free. The beach is quite small as well so is fairly intimate in aspect – in fact on one day we were the only family present for at least half the day so it was really special.

We tackled a couple of trips – a jeep safari and a boat trip. Both of these were booked using Activities Unlimited which is the first trip company you come to when turning onto the main strip after leaving the front of the hotel and we used them based on a recommendation. The guy we dealt with called himself Ali G and of the two trips the first was the best (although not without a drama to start with as the vehicle they wanted to send us in was barely big enough for 4 people let alone the 7 it was due to carry!) but the boat trip was not so good. Do not travel on the boat called Fly Bird as you will have any drinks you are carrying removed and handed back at the end of the day so that you can be fleeced by having to buy their drinks which make the bar prices for the whole resort look like bargains! I have no objection to paying bar prices with a meal (which was what we fully intended to do) but when the ‘Captain’ snatches a bottle of water from your 14 year old daughter and insists that the only drinks you can have are what are purchased from him it is a pretty dire state of affairs and completely untypical of Olu Deniz as a whole. The beer and coke bottles were the smallest size available (30cl and 2.75cl respectively priced at 5 lire each – which is what you would pay for a 50cl bottle at any bar along the strip. I complained afterwards to the tour company and to be fair they made all the right noises in terms of addressing the issue.

Overall I would have to say that we had a great time and would certainly recommend both the hotel and resort to anyone – beautiful scenery, great food and perfect weather – what else could you want?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This was our first visit to Turkey drawn to Oludeniz because of the Blue Lagoon . The Karbel Hotel is set in lovely surroundings with stunning mountain backdrop . Our rooms were more then adequate with air conditioning and they were cleaned daily with fresh towels and clean bedding . The Hotel staff are all so friendly and welcoming - they genuinely want you to enjoy your stay and went out of their way to ensure that happened - special mention to Omer the photographer , Ibrahim the young barman and Emil up in the lobby bar - in fact everyone was so nice right from the Manager to the maids - all wonderful staff . The Hotel is at the top of the strip - which then is a 10 minute walk down to the lovely beach and to the right of this beach another 10 minutes walk to the Blue Lagoon . Along the strip are all the Bars , shops , restaurants in fact everything you require is there . We were Bed and Breakfast at the Hotel as we like to eat out at different Restaurants each night -there are so many to choose from we enjoyed all our meals at the following restaurants Toscanas with lovely Arif the waiter , N-joy, Buzz Bar , Tequillas , Sultan Ahmet and also at Shadows Bar / Restaurant where the lads keep you very entertained all night - special mention to Charlie , Samet , Chris and Simon the fantastic dancer - everyone was lovely .We went on 3 excursions with EFTELYA tours booked thru Ramos who was very helpful - we went on the 6 Island tour with a meal for the brilliant price of £5 each , also on the Sunset cruise which was stunning with meal included for £5 each and the all day Jeep Safari is a must for everyone such a laugh but you will get wet so stock up on water guns first !!!The prices were pretty on par with English prices if anything a little bit cheaper , you pay for using the sunbeds and parasols on the beach - but you want to be comfortable so you don't mind paying . On the beach you don't even have to get up for drinks or icecreams as the lads come round and ask if you want anything all reasonably priced from slush puppy man to icecream , icecream, licky , licky ,lollypop man so funny - and all very friendly wherever we went . The weather was glorious if you like it hot !!! . We came home and re-booked to go back within the first week - all loved it so much - this is the first time that we have gone back to the same place - it was a fantastic holiday and recommend it highly - cannot think of any bad points at all . Hope you all have a brilliant time in Oludeniz !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c0ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

You know how it is, you read all the good reviews, and then you read a poor one and it starts you worrying...well don't worry. This is a super hotel, you will have a ball!

We have travelled the world, and I can honestly say that this is one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Let's start at the beginning:

We arrived at 1am. We had booked with a UK tour operator, but I had emailed the hotel to ask for adjoining rooms in a specific block of the hotel. At that hour of the morning I didn't care where we slept, but the hotel had given us EXACTLY what I had requested. This makes a refreshing change from many hotels that promise you adjoining rooms, and then can't fulfill your request when you get there.

The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The shower was powerful and had loads of really hot water. The hairdryer was better than the one I have at home. The towels were lovely. The bed was really comfy. The balcony overlooked the quiet pool, which was lovely. The fridge worked.

We only had 1 pillow each, but we folded up a blanket on the first night, and the next day the maid had left 2 more pillows without us even having to ask.

The satellite TV service was great, with several channels showing English and US movies. That was handy if we wanted to have a rest and just veg-out in the room.

Both pool areas were great, with music played by the busier pool, and a chill-out zone by the quiet pool. The gardens are full of hibiscus and olive trees, and they are lovely.

Entertainment was organised every evening, and the Turkish night was such fun, with a great Turkish buffet, followed by belly dancing to work off all that we had eaten.

Breakfast was a continental arrangement with melon, cheeses, meats, toast and various breads, boiled and scrambled eggs. You can pay extra if you want to eat a full English every day, but why bother going to Turkey if you're not going to 'go native'?

The hotel is only a few paces from 'the strip', which is a pedestrian street that leads to Oludeniz beach. All the shops and restaurants are right on the doorstep, which is great if you want to just stroll along in the evening or take a leisurely walk to the Blue Lagoon, while dodging the paragliders!!

The staff at the Karbel are the most friendly and attentive people that we have ever encountered and, for all the reasons that I have given, we have decided to go back next year. This will be the first time that we have ever gone to the same place twice, and it's a true reflection of the whole experience that we had in Turkey

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SueWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews