We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karbel Excellent!!!”
Review of Karbel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karbel Hotel
Ranked #47 of 121 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed at the Karbel hotel from the 30/08/10 - 06/08/10 with my boyfriend and we loved it. I have been to Olu Deniz quite a few times now but never to this hotel, but working as a travel agent it was easy to find out info about the hotel and this one seemed to come out top on reviews. We arrived at about 6pm so still really warm when we arrived, but the hotel staff we were quite quick in giving us our room key and taking our cases to our rooms for us. We had room 117 which was 2nd floor over looking another block,and very spacious, i've stayed in turkey before about 8 times and the rooms are usually to the same pattern of being long and narrow with the beds against the wall, but I was pleasantly suprised with this room. It was square shape so a lot of space with a double wardrobe with plenty of hangers in already with draws, we had a dressing table with draws and draws on either side of our double bed. The bathroom was lovely too, it was two steps up in to the bathroom and our shower seemed to be bigger than what I've read about in certain rooms in other reviews because I could move around in it quite a lot. The balcony was quite small but they all looked the same sort of size, and again this is something I've always had when coming to Turkey. The only thing I missed about our room was being able to sit out when we'd came in from around the pool, as the sun didn't reach our room past 2pm and we didn't have a pool to over look, but the room itself was fantastic, the maids were great thoroughly cleaning every day, even put rose petals on our bed one day.
The hotel itself was lovely, there was two pools and i did prefer the quieter one around the side of where the white hotel used to be, as it was mostly adults and more peaceful, this pool did get busier earlier though so if you wanted to get beds you had to head down about half past 8, whereas the main pool you could get beds still at 11am but pool was a lot busier. It is quite a big complex as it is two hotels put together so I would reccommend our room for location as you would walk through to reception turn left and you would be there. We did try to do the turkish bbq night on our second night at the hotel but after reserving our table on the morning the evening time we were told it was cancelled, we don't know weather this was to low numbers or it had been raining for about half an hour at about 7pm, if you can though i would say do it as it looked excellent value for money as the bbq buffet is as much as you like and they do like burgers fish chicken and steak, so plenty! Only thing i'd be wary of with this hotel is that anything you buy from the hotel rather than paying there and then, they put it on a bill, which can be quite worrying if you spend a lot around the hotel, luckily we didn't spend too much so we knew how much our bill would come to , but they do not give you a bill in paper they just tell you the amount you need to pay so I would say to keep track if you are spending a lot at the hotel. Although I do think the hotel is a bit over priced and you can find the same food down the street 3/4 lira cheaper, apart from the breakfasts which were the cheapest in resort! The location is good it is at the top of the strip so you just walk down into it all, or the taxi rank is opposite, I prefer this location as previously we've stopped in the middle of the strip and you never know which way to turn, where as staying at the top of it all we could just walk into it all.
We rarely ate at the hotel itself, as we went bed & breakfast we ate breakfast there but only about 2 times out the week, the first time there was omlette, but the second time there was nothing at all that either of us liked so we ordered a full english which was 8 lira each so about £3.50 each but it was lovely and you got 2 of everything. We had food during the day once when it was too hot to walk anywhere, we had a pizza, a cheese burger and chips, and 2 drinks between us which was about 50 lira, which is rougly £22 which is quite expensive for what we got, needless to say we went out to eat other days. Favourite place for snack food in the resort was Bella & Gusto/ Sugar & Spice , it is two restaurants that work together and they serve the best chicken kebab ever 5 lira for a half bread which is a big baguette with diced chicken and all the salad in topped with garlic or chilli sauce, or 5.50 lira for the pitta bread, only worked out about £2 and we had one of those everyday, so saved quite a bit on daytime meals! Best meal we had on a night time was a chinese at China Sun on the beach front, now we usually always eat the turkish dishes and english and save the chinese for home but it was our last night and we couldn't resist, and we loved it. I think we spent about 55 lira, which was 2 drinks each, and 2 starters and mains from the set menu, it was gorgeous, definitley worth the money and probably the nicest meal we had all holiday. Sultan Ahmets was a lovely meal but quite pricey, and Ottomans was also lovely and better value for money. I also really reccommend Buzz beach bar, food looked pricey so we didn't eat there, but we had the cocktails on happy hour at 10 lira rather than 15, loved the Frozen Strawberry Smirnoff, which was the only thing I could drink with vodka in other than cocktails, usually with a vodka and coke they will make it really strong, but this cocktail was like a fruity slush, was lovely! The resort itself is lovely and has not lost any of its charm, although prices have increased over the years, it still works out cheaper than eating and drinking at home or anywhere in spain! We also went up to hisaronu for a couple of nights which is better for nightlife and tend to find more deals on drinks in the bars, I recommend Dippy Dollies for food, 18 lira for a three course meal, we had garlic mushrooms for starters, the chicken fajhitas for main and lemon and sugar pancakes for dessert and it was lovely, bit out of the way from the main strip which is why it could be cheaper but we got the taxi to drop us there and we walked into the resort.
We didn't really do many trips this year, the boat trips are really good value for money £5 and you get your dinner included, but we've done most of them before, the mudbaths I would definitley reccommend, the Jeep safari is an excellent day out too especially if there is a group of you, we only did quad biking this time and we booked through Pioneer travel which was more towards the beach front and seemed to be the only one not trying to rip us off, before this we did look into jeep safari got quoted a price from Del Boy at Eftelya, slightly cheaper than the rest of the resort from were doing we we went back to book and a different man dealt with us trying to charge us an extra 10 lira each for dinner but we explained we had already been quoted that included, then he came back and said it was entry fees, however we did not believe this so we went looking elsewhere and ended up doing the quad biking 8am - 1pm, definitley worth the money as they take you all around chalis beach and the ghost town, making a stop at a small cafe in between and also take you down these mini gorges which are freezing cold, can be scary as they take you on the main motorway roads and the turksih people drive a bit crazy but was well worth the money and bought the dvd at the end of it too!
The weather during our stay was lovely, I've stayed at Turkey in the peak times in july and august when it has been boiling hot still when you go out on a night time at 8pm, but it was much more pleasant at this time, still mid 30's in the day but a lot cooler on the night time, we had a half cloudy day on our second day and one half hour of rain about 7pm but that was it, it seemed to get hotter towards the end of the week.
Beach is gorgeous but very choppy and knocked us over several times but the breeze is gorgeous and you get a better tan as it doesn't feel as hot so you're not having to get up and get in the water as much, the lagoon is a lot calmer and the water is lovely and warm, we went snorkelling and seen a lot of fish, it was 4 lira each to enter as it is a national park but my advice is try to take food with you as we spent a fortune on ice creams, food and drink, I think it was really dear because they know you can't go out for dinner and come back. Also sun beds at both beaches were 18 lira for 2 beds and a brolley, so not bad if you're staying the full day.
All in all would definitley still return to Olu Deniz, and the Karbel has been probably the best b&b i've stayed in before, the staff were lovely and really friendly around the complex. As for the resort there is something for everyone, but would say if you wanted something a bit more lively then definitley go to hisaronu, although there is a lot going on in olu deniz it is mainly aimed at families and older couples, whereas hisaronu there was a lot more young couples like ourselves, only problem being you have to travel down to olu deniz beach in the day time if you are wanting the beach breeze!
Fantastic holiday and definitley would return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 833 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

We went to this hotel aug 20 for two weeks,it was our first time to Turkey and we loved it.We booked with Direct Holidays and got a great deal.(However tried to rebook with them and they not doing this hotel next year!).We requested two adjacent rooms and that is what we got in block 5b overlooking the second pool.Rooms small and basic but with good air conditioning.Balcony small but we still sat out every night on it for a last drink{hello to christine and Brian our balcony neighbours).The room , grounds and hotel were spotless O ur maid was lovely and sometimes arranged fresh flowers on the bed..Both pools are lovely but we liked the livlier one better.The great thing is you can!t reserve sunbeds and your towels will be removed.This means even about ten o clock you can get a bed !We stayed bed and breakfast as lots of lovely places to eat.We especially loved the setting of Buzz Bar but if you want to see the sunset pre book a rooftop terrace table-fab.We ate in most of restaurants on the strip and never a bad meal.(staff in Ottomans very friendly if you like informal and they also do lovely breakfast and fresh orange juice).We loved everything about the resort but be aware waves can be strong on the beach and you will need beach shoes but you can buy them there.The hotel has evening entertainment which is fine (don!t miss the turkish and barbecue night) but we also liked Shadows Bar and also if you go into the garden part of Anfora restaurant lovely singer on there and lovely , friendly service too.Other nights at the hotel included a good magic show , quizzes and dancers.Omer the photographer takes lovely photos and well worth getting some.Special hello to him and also Ibrahim. We went on a few trips and booked with Carole and Tayfun based in Hisaranu which is short dolmus ride away, but you can also pre book them on line and save even more.We were glad we booked them.I chose them because of their reviews.We went on 12 island cruise and our boat was not big or cramped.It had round tables and cushioned seats mainly and was very comfortable.A .lovely meal was served on board too .Although you are asked not to bring your own drinks everybody did and nothing was said. You can buy drinks and ice creams on board too.The boat goes from Fethiye but you get picked up from the hotel.We also did jeep safari , great fun and we took plenty of lira coins to give to the children. Our jeep had individual seats and belts and were the best I saw.(other jeeps were like two bench type seats at the back and people squashed in) Our seats were all padded too.Also our last stop was the beach,a nice rest after a long day.Other companies such as Focus take you to a carpet factory on the way home so ask about this before you book trips( check out the reviews of Focus , they not reccomended at all) We also did mud bath and Turtle beach which was great too.We also enjoyed a lovely day at The Blue Lagoon,Sugar Beach is nice too but a lot of flies in the beach bar when trying to eat.Its also worth having a manicure , pedicure and turkish bath whist in Olu Deniz..The one by Azda seemed good place for the turkish bath.All in all we had a fab time and could not fault this hotel or the beautiful Olu Deniz and are hoping to return next year .Can!t wait!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCubells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

just returned from the karbel,we were there in june last year with thomas cook and took the half board option at £5 per day which worked out to be good value, we enjoyed oludeniz and returned in august this year, the resort as to be expected being much busier this time of year. This time we went bed & breakfast and used local restaraunts . My top tip if staying here, if on a budget, would be pre book evening meal, [ it works out less than buying at hotel] we tried a few places for evening meals and on the whole found the experience a little dissapointing [ thomas cook are £7 next year for this option] and if we were returning would book it

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We arrived at the Karbel at roughly 11ish at night and were sent to block 9 – room 935. The room was very small and smelled of damp but it was easy to see why the next morning. There was no air circulating around that part of the complex and given the recent rain the musty smell was understandable. The bed for my daughter (14 and tall with it) was barely adequate so we asked to be moved and this was agreed with no hassle at all so on Monday we moved to room 425 on the top floor of block 4b overlooking the small pool. It was perfect being both larger and airier. The storage space was very restrictive (or perhaps we had bought too much kit!) and so we had to use our cases for cupboards. No big deal though, just a little inconvenient. We had a couple of minor maintenance issues – two bulbs, a blocked run off to the shower tray and a leaking air con unit (which was actually very efficient) – but these were dealt with pretty promptly albeit perhaps not to the highest standards!. The fridge was a little on the small side but adequate. The bathroom was absolutely fine although an extractor fan would have been nice. No problems with hot water – this was always plentiful. The balcony was tiny and care was needed with the chairs as if you pushed then up against the surrounding metal frame the legs would go over the edge. The architectural style though was ‘mock Ottoman’ so you could not really complain. All the blocks were surrounded by conifers which is also a traditional Turkish feature. Very cheesy I guess but nice to look at. The grounds were kept in beautiful condition and all added to the clean and tidy aspect of the hotel. Don’t try leaving a towel on a sun bed to reserve it though as the staff do go around and collect them.

The food was first class and we all enjoyed the Meze and the breakfasts. BBQ night was really good although the belly dancer was perhaps a little full on for a family hotel! The staff were absolutely fantastic – Isa, Ous, the Milkshake man and all the rest really made you welcome and the safest way to make a positive impact with them is to mention Galatasaray as they are all full on supporters of this football team! Omar the photographer was really good and if you see him sporting a straw panama hat then that came from me!

The prices (we were half board) for drinks were on par with the bars etc in town and so were slightly less than you would pay in the UK . Sadly the days of cheap holidays in Turkey is coming to an end as they have wised up to the fact that they are a popular choice versus those countries in Euroland. The Karbel shop outside though is a good source of supplies and is recommended for the 1 ½ litre bottles of water at 1 lire each – you can buy these frozen as well.

We did not spend anytime on the main beach as this was pebbly and shelved quite steeply (not so good for the youngsters or less than confident oldsters!) so we used the private beaches in the lagoon of which for us the Paradise beach was by far the best as it was small, quiet and had two big advantages – the bar/café on the shore and Christine, the ex-pat (a 9 year resident) who is a valuable source of local information. Just call them from the hotel reception and they will pick you up and bring you back at the end of the day. The food is pretty good and reasonable here and the sunbeds are only 5 TL each with the umbrellas being free. The beach is quite small as well so is fairly intimate in aspect – in fact on one day we were the only family present for at least half the day so it was really special.

We tackled a couple of trips – a jeep safari and a boat trip. Both of these were booked using Activities Unlimited which is the first trip company you come to when turning onto the main strip after leaving the front of the hotel and we used them based on a recommendation. The guy we dealt with called himself Ali G and of the two trips the first was the best (although not without a drama to start with as the vehicle they wanted to send us in was barely big enough for 4 people let alone the 7 it was due to carry!) but the boat trip was not so good. Do not travel on the boat called Fly Bird as you will have any drinks you are carrying removed and handed back at the end of the day so that you can be fleeced by having to buy their drinks which make the bar prices for the whole resort look like bargains! I have no objection to paying bar prices with a meal (which was what we fully intended to do) but when the ‘Captain’ snatches a bottle of water from your 14 year old daughter and insists that the only drinks you can have are what are purchased from him it is a pretty dire state of affairs and completely untypical of Olu Deniz as a whole. The beer and coke bottles were the smallest size available (30cl and 2.75cl respectively priced at 5 lire each – which is what you would pay for a 50cl bottle at any bar along the strip. I complained afterwards to the tour company and to be fair they made all the right noises in terms of addressing the issue.

Overall I would have to say that we had a great time and would certainly recommend both the hotel and resort to anyone – beautiful scenery, great food and perfect weather – what else could you want?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ogrefencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This was our first visit to Turkey drawn to Oludeniz because of the Blue Lagoon . The Karbel Hotel is set in lovely surroundings with stunning mountain backdrop . Our rooms were more then adequate with air conditioning and they were cleaned daily with fresh towels and clean bedding . The Hotel staff are all so friendly and welcoming - they genuinely want you to enjoy your stay and went out of their way to ensure that happened - special mention to Omer the photographer , Ibrahim the young barman and Emil up in the lobby bar - in fact everyone was so nice right from the Manager to the maids - all wonderful staff . The Hotel is at the top of the strip - which then is a 10 minute walk down to the lovely beach and to the right of this beach another 10 minutes walk to the Blue Lagoon . Along the strip are all the Bars , shops , restaurants in fact everything you require is there . We were Bed and Breakfast at the Hotel as we like to eat out at different Restaurants each night -there are so many to choose from we enjoyed all our meals at the following restaurants Toscanas with lovely Arif the waiter , N-joy, Buzz Bar , Tequillas , Sultan Ahmet and also at Shadows Bar / Restaurant where the lads keep you very entertained all night - special mention to Charlie , Samet , Chris and Simon the fantastic dancer - everyone was lovely .We went on 3 excursions with EFTELYA tours booked thru Ramos who was very helpful - we went on the 6 Island tour with a meal for the brilliant price of £5 each , also on the Sunset cruise which was stunning with meal included for £5 each and the all day Jeep Safari is a must for everyone such a laugh but you will get wet so stock up on water guns first !!!The prices were pretty on par with English prices if anything a little bit cheaper , you pay for using the sunbeds and parasols on the beach - but you want to be comfortable so you don't mind paying . On the beach you don't even have to get up for drinks or icecreams as the lads come round and ask if you want anything all reasonably priced from slush puppy man to icecream , icecream, licky , licky ,lollypop man so funny - and all very friendly wherever we went . The weather was glorious if you like it hot !!! . We came home and re-booked to go back within the first week - all loved it so much - this is the first time that we have gone back to the same place - it was a fantastic holiday and recommend it highly - cannot think of any bad points at all . Hope you all have a brilliant time in Oludeniz !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c0ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 km away
Karbel Beach Hotel
Karbel Beach Hotel
#63 of 121 in Oludeniz
399 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Karbelsun
Hotel Karbelsun
#57 of 121 in Oludeniz
690 reviews
0.2 km away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#12 of 121 in Oludeniz
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#11 of 121 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
0.3 km away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#33 of 121 in Oludeniz
887 reviews
2.9 km away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Hotel

Address: Kidrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | No:10, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#52 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $29 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Karbel Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Karbel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing