We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,369 results
Traveller rating
612
459
204
60
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
459
204
60
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board blue lagoon turkey next year salad air con pool bar the main strip boiled eggs resident photographer thomson rep great holiday plenty of sunbeds bed and breakfast small fridge boat trip cold meats
Filter
Updating list...
772 - 777 of 1,369 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

we stayed at the karbel from the 5th oct for 2 weeks, we enjoyed our stay but wouldnt return to the karbel for a few reasons, we had our 3 year old grandughter with us so we expected a spacious room with a double and a single bed, what we got was 2 single beds that we had to push together and a sofa bed for our grandaughter, the room was very small a
nd gloomy,bathroom was an ok size.
We had a balcony but it was barley big enough for two patio chairs and not enough room to actualy sit on them!
The pool was a nice size but it was FREEZING! i love to swim but i only went in a couple of times and it spoilt the holiday for me a bit. Staff here are lovely though but not enough reason to return.
The beach is just at the end of the strip of shops and bars which is right outside the hotel, paragliders land here and was very intersting to watch, just look out for them as they land any where!
We went to the blue lagoon but was very disapointed, the beach was small and stoney and they charge you 6 lira for a sunbed and 6 lira for a parasol, after paying 5 lira each to get in (children free) we hired a pedalo for the hour which cost 22 lira, if your even a minuite late you get charged again.
Weather was very hot every day except 1 day of rain.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday but would choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miltonkeynesbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at the Hotel Karbel and cannot fault anything - we have been abroad many times - Greece, Spain etc but will definitey be returning to Turkey - found all the staff at this hotel very friendly and helpful. Omar the photographer was lovely and we were really pleased with our pics. The food in the hotel was great - plenty of variety and you could have as much or as little as you wished. Had a great room - very clean and on the second floor with the sun beaming in late afternoon. The weather was absolutely perfect apart from one half day of rain. My husband did the paragliding with a company called Gravity and said it was amazing he was well up for doing it again ! Walked up to the top of the lagoon and had some beautiful views and actually saw a turtle when we looked down. The sunsets are beautiful too if you walk down to the beach. Went in a bar called The Help on the front several times for a cocktail or one of their lovely ice cream shakes and just watched the world go by ! The only fault which is very minor is the bed was uncomfortable and my husband suffered back ache - read the other reviews and didnt think about bringing up a mattress from the sun bed but would do next time ! All in all thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and will definiteley be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We first arrived at 4am in the morning, there were 10 of us ranging from 7 years old to 63 years old. We had been planning this family trip for nearly a year and it was the first time we had all been away together so expectations were high! We were all taken to our rooms by Mustafa how insisted on carrying all of our cases for us, we hit a bit of a snag when my Brothers room was not anywhere near his kids so the parents split between the rooms with them till the morning. We spoke with Mike the rep who got it all sorted in minutes!
The welcome meeting with Mike was very helpful, Mike is very knowledgeable of the hotel, area and full of great advise. My advice to you, listen to Mike! We didn’t on a couple of our activities and although we still had a great time, they would have been a lot better if booked through Thomson, I would recommend that if you want to do scuba diving, quad biking or paragliding that you book with Thomson, the rest of the trips are fine to book on the stripe.
The food for breakfast at the hotel was basic but nice, toast, cereal, cold meat, cheese, olives etc, none of us went hungry. Dinner was lovely! A great selection and as much as you want. Loads of different cold starters to pick from, at least 2 options for a meaty dinner or 1 veggie, fresh vegetables and a massive selection of puddings, you can’t go wrong!
The rooms were cleaned every day, the cleanliness of the hotel was spectacular and at least a couple of times each we came back to our rooms to find beautiful flower displays and towel swans on our beds, serious attention to detail that just makes it so special.
The pool was lovely albeit a tad cold but nice to dip in to to cool off, it was never packed and there were plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas.
The pool bar was also great!!! The staff, Ozzy, Eric and Mustafa became firm friends that welcomed us every day, we drank their most nights as the as the atmosphere was good, there was a couple of pool tables and entertainment every other night. Great for our little one too as the staff loved her, she spent most of her time with them!
And then there is Omer the photographer who is again, so lovely! He takes some great pics and with their being 10 of us we wanted to get some nice group shots, we were not disappointed.
As for the resort, it was perfect for me as I was looking forward to relaxing. Everything was within a 10 minute walk including the pebbly beach, there were plenty of shops, bars, places to eat, salons to get a Turkish shave or a pedicure. Some of our group were disappointed with the bars as they were looking for a bit more night life but you could still have a good night or just hop on the "Dolmus" to Hisaranou.
We did scuba diving a Lykia world, there were 5 of who did it and we were all pretty nervous. They took amazing care of us, made us feel safe 100% of the time and gave us an unforgettable experience, I can not recommend or thank them enough, it was an amazing day!
We did quad biking and paragliding with a company called "Easy Rider", although the guy that came out with us on the bikes was hilarious, the bikes constantly broke down, our helmets we battered and there were no rules at all, a free for all! We had a great time still but would recommend that you go with a better company. Our paragliding experience unfortunately was a disaster with "Easy Rider", we still did the jump but again I would massively recommend that you go with "Sky Sports" for this, they are very professional.
There was something for everyone here, the locals are lovely and we have come back with so many friends, If you go, please make sure that you go and see Omer and Ang (Aynur) at the "Seaside Travel" stand on the main stripe (as you walk down the hill on the right hand side opposite Buffalo’s which is also lovely, Kenny and Charlie are so friendly and they really do do the best steak, try the lady steak, it will melt in your mouth!!!), they arrange a trip to Dalyan (which was amazing), a private bus to the ghost town with a dinner in the most stunning restaurant I have ever been to (Jazibe) and also a private boat for the day with an on board BBQ! They are soooooooo helpful and absolutely lovely people!
I hope that anyone planning to travel to Hotel Karbel or Olu Deniz has as good a time as we did, we can not wait to go back!!!! Thank you Hotel Karbel for the best holiday I have ever had :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Once again had a lovely holiday in sept this year (2012). After visiting last year though we would all go back again as there are 6 of us in the party. Weather was beautiful and visiting the market was a first with many bargains to be had. Vsited Billy's Beach for an evening of entertainment and lovely bbq.Went on sail boat for a trip which was just beautiful.The staff at the hotel were very friendly and even though i found the bed is not comfortable enough for me ( as i did last year ),this was not a problem as i just put 3 sun bed mattresses on top of my bed and with the help of some blankets in the wardrobe i was then very comfy. Even the lady who did our room made the bed with all this in place which i thought was great. I think olu deniz is a little gem of a place and we all love it. will be going back again next may 2013 but staying at a different hotel although still very central, cant wait.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

had quite a good stay at the Karbel. Was my first time in Turkey so wasnt sure what to expect. Lovely staff especially the men up in the resturant/buffet area. Was not happy with my room at 1st so we upgraded and new room was a million times better. Karbel hotel is in a really good spot, right by the shops and 5 min walk max to the beach. Thought Omar the photographer was ace but pics a bit expensive. Around 7 pound just for one! Ate at buzz bar which was lovely and the buffet at the Karbel was very nice but very turkish. got boring after a while. Breakfast was ok was nice to have a change from our full english but got a bit fed up of it towards the end of the week. Went on a few trips. Boat trip was ace water park was ok but bit small and dalyan trip was not that great. Was bord to be honest but my little boy enjoyed it which was the main thing. Food on this trip was horrible and i normally like any food so it must of been bad. Booked this with holiday mate. Also booked my waterpark trip with these and they picked us up on time and the drivers were very nice.The man in the office is a nice guy too but wouldnt book the dalyan trip again. The beach front is gorgeous but was a bit gutted that it was all pebbles. I found it hard to get in and out of the sea. The blue lagoon was lovely but not as nice as I thought it would be. We hired out a pedalo for like 25 Lira i think and the man said if you went over the hour by a few mins you would have to pay again ;O lol. Theres not much sand there either mostly small stones but it was really nice going in the sea it was lovely and warm and very clean. Olu deniz is gorgeous to surrounded by mountains and you can see the paragliders coming down at all times of the day. Its around 50 pound in our money to do this (150Lira) roughly and drinks in the karbel were 6 Lira for a large effes 18Lira for a cocktail and 9Lira happy hour. Full engish was 10 Lira for a large and shots were 10 Lira each if you have double is 20Lire which i thought was a bit expensive. Maids give you fresh towels every other day but dont think they actually clean your room?? Didnt notice any way!! They are lovely women tho and i did leave a tip at the end of my stay.
Dont think I would stay at the Karbel again or come to Turkey again I prefere the Greek islands but I can see why people like Olu deniz. But i prefered Zante. But i definately had an experience in Turkey. I love the food and the people and it was good to see their way of life :-) Love Zoe, Sye & Reegy xxxx

Room Tip: We had to upgrade to a family room and pay extra for this as the room we were first given was awful. The air con smelt and the room and bathroom were tiny. So the tip id give you is to take more money so you can get a nice room!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews