We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
612
460
204
60
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
460
204
60
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board blue lagoon turkey next year salad air con pool bar the main strip boiled eggs resident photographer thomson rep great holiday plenty of sunbeds bed and breakfast small fridge boat trip cold meats
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just returned from staying at the hotel Karbel with my two 9 yr olds..Beautiful location,quiet,lovely food.Hotel kept spotlessly clean and very friendly staff.
I loved it all and would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue_upfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Initial thoughts dampened by the rain, but cheered up with the weather. Although not a dungeon room as described by others, it was a ground floor single aspect. Plenty of windows to one side and level access, but the lack of a through draught had led to very bad mould over the bathroom ceiling and main curtains. We didn't realise, but we had a family suite. This was very spacious and had a whirlpool bath. Unfortunately the mould put us off trying it out other than showering. Our first chat with the Thomson rep and she said she'd get the cleaner to give it a good going over. The second time she came to see it and was shocked by it. They didn't have an equivalent room to move us to, but could move to a smaller family room. As the weather was getting hotter we decided to stay with the space, and before the week was out, the ceiling had been scrubbed clean.
The children's bed was a foam cushion on a window seat which we were unsure of, but our daughter slept there happily.
Insect mesh covers all the windows, so no problem with them inside, as a previous reviewer seemed to have had.
TV and fridge in the rooms, but no kettle &c. Didn't try the TV, so don't know what it received.
Apart from the mould, the room was kept spotless and tidy. Maids and all the staff very friendly and helpful.
Very little for children to do. Even the pools' shallow ends were too deep for our daughter, and the kiddies pools were small toddler's pools. The evening activities often didn't start till 9:30- 10pm.
Breakfast was traditional buffet plus cereal. Cooked was available extra.
Dinner was Soup, followed by lots of Mezes to choose from, but not much change each night. Main course was normally choice of 2 dishes, one Turkish, with accompaniments. Disappointment was Sunday, when the only choice was Sunday Roast. Desserts were a selection of traditional sweets. Ice cream extra. Quality was fine, but nothing to drool over. We stayed at the Palme hotel, Dalyan, for a flight transition, and the one simple meal there surpassed these on flavour.
Free WiFi in the main reception, which I could also pick up at the pool bar, but sometimes it struggled to make the initial connection.
Didn't have a problem using the hotel's card to pay for the extras, and the final bill did match the pocketful of receipts. I did notice that some drinks were more with dinner than by the pool, but all as on the price list. If you're worried about the bill mounting up, it clearly says that you can constantly settle the tab at any time. You don't need to be shocked at the end of the holiday.
We'd happily return to Turkey, but select the resort a bit better next time.
The Blue lagoon is nice, but not as fantastic as its made out to be. Did have a turtle swimming by our pedalo there. Don't go to the paid beach, but to the ones further in the lagoon. Yes you pay for a sunbed, but they give you free transport to your hotel. Quickly came to realise that you don't look at the individual prices of things, but the total for the day/ trip. A boat trip maybe cheap and then they charge you for everything once on-board, but when you look at the total cost, its still reasonable for a full day out.
Overall, the hotel and resort cater too much for the non-adventurous Brit abroad. When at least one restaurant is boasting "full English with Tesco bacon", you realise you're missing the reason you came to see Turkey. A few excursions and walks further afield cheered us up.

Room Tip: Avoid the single aspect and below ground rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petepewter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

we stayed for 2 weeks from 19 may to june 3
we loved it. the hotel was lovely, spotless, the staff were friendly and we had a good laugh woth them.. the cleaning lady was lovely she worked so hard, put flowers in our room we even bought her a thankyou shirt..Omar the hotel photographer was lovely and he did us a CD of photos which are lovely ... he also adds on scenic photos of olu deniz so id recommend getting some done from him
we had a LOVELY LOVELY time and would recommend this hotel
got a bit bored with food but for the price fantastic...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnandjayne96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We loved our say, the rooms are comfertable and fair sized and are cleaned daily. They have a TV, fridge, phone, hairdryer and balcony. The hotel is situated in well maintained gardens. They have friendly and helpful staff. There are also two large swimming pools both with seperate childrens pools and poolside bars that serve snacks. There are ample sunbeds and parasels. We went half board and ate in the hotels buffet style a la carte restaurant. For breakfast we there was lots of cheese and hams however not a lot of variety regarding anything else like cooked meats or even cereals and pasteries therefore we had toast and bread everyday. They did have teas, coffees and juice with there breakfast. They also had varied meals daily of an evening with soup, salad, cold starter, hot main and turkish style dessert. They also did a weekly BBQ turkish night. There was never a lot of variety regarding the main meal however what was avaliable was tasty. There was also free use of pool tables, ping pong and table football. The lunch service they provide by the poolside is your typical english food, burgers, chips, pizzas and ice creams.
One thing to be wary of is on arrival to the hotel your issued a card to buy things from the hotel such as food and drink, and you must use this card you can not buy things by cash so its an electornic tab. Beware of this as prices seem to vary on the same item even when purchased in the same part of the hotel and it also means its difficult to keep track on exactly what your spending within the hotel this could therefore lead to a fright on check out at the end of your holiday. We stopped using the card and stopped purchasing goods within the hotel and went to Azda as a large bottle of water was only 0.50TL. Many couples and families who hadn't done this where shocked by there final bill and an argument is not what you want at the end of your holiday.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We have just arrived back from a perfect holiday staying at The Karbel. The hotel is a 3 star hotel but does push all the boundaries on trying to be a 4 star hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean and serviced every day. The maids were very polite and added little touches to your room such as flowers, which was lovely.
The food was buffet style, breakfast was simple continental (with the cost option to upgrade to Full English) and the evening buffet had a choice of 2-3 main meals - which to be honest did get a bit boring - although perfectly fine. However there was also a cost option to upgrade to the a la carte menu. We never did, but we did eat out quite a bit and found Buzz Bar to be outstanding value for money, with the sort of food you would expect at a high end London restuarant.
The hotel has two pools, both were lovely with plenty of sun beds. A pool bar food menu runs from 12noon to 4pm, which seemed popular.
Oludeniz is a beautiful town with fantastic scenery, many of the views were picture perfect. The main beach (10 min walk) is very pebbley, although if you walk pass the main beach towards the Blue Lagoon (which charges) and pass the Blue Lagoon approx. 10 mins, you will find a lovey quirky beach called Sugar Beach which is free and overlooks the Blue Lagoon. It's a sort of chilled out beach with beanbags - really good!
Also a must - try the day trip to Rhodes, Greece - excellent value for money and a great day out.
All in all a really great holiday, lovely hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david_dean24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews