We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful House in a Beautiful Setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Pedreiro

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Tomar, Santarem District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
dmp22
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful House in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Quick Highlights:

Pros:
Wonderful and accommodating owners. They were quite friendly and helpful.
Gorgeous setting. The views from the terrace are stunning.
Plenty of hot water with on-demand water heater. Great for families.
Well-stocked kitchen was perfect for cooking meals; balcony and dining table for eating.
Two comfortable loveseats for morning coffee or evening chats.
Pool is large and perfectly maintained.
The garden/grounds are beautiful and peaceful. There are even goats to go visit.
There are many places to visit on day trips (although drive time might be a con for some).
The place is incredibly home-like. Clearly lots of effort was put into preparing it.
Wifi signal was strong and fast.
Felt like a country escape.

Cons:
Walls and floor are pretty thin, so you will hear each other and potentially your hosts. It didn't bother us, but it's the kind of thing often discussed in vacation reviews.
Distance: It's not far from Tomar, but it is a 20-minute drive down winding roads. We knew that going into it and didn't mind the drive, but it should be considered when deciding whether to use this as a base for seeing the Convento de Cristo and other Tomar sites. But we did so without trouble, and we also got to the Batalha Monastery and Fatima in one day. And it was a comfortable drive.
Driving directions are a bit confusing. I'd recommend using Google maps to get to Olalhas

Overall, it's a great vacation rental with lots of amenities. We highly recommend it for an out-of-the-way getaway with driving access to some amazing sites in Portugal. The owners are also an absolute delight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and Home-Like Atmoshphere
Liked least: Springy bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and also for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Keith and Sylvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“calm, relaxing, everything there, great environment”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were there with three kids and we all loved the place. Great for children and far from city stress. You need a car to move around, but the pool is amazing and there was everything there for the kids to play and enjoy. Lovely place, well cared.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here. Keith and Sylvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KThain
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in 'real Portugal'!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked to stay at Casa Pedreiro as we have family who live locally. As a family of 4 with 2 young children, we had a wonderful stay. Lovely comfortable 3 bed accomodation with well equipped kitchen, 2 shower rooms, balcony with amazing views, beautiful pool (with toilet and shower/changing area) and very well thought out seating and eating areas. We enjoyed some lovely meals with Sylvia and Keith including delicious chicken and ribs cooked in the impressive wood fired oven. The grounds are beautiful and our children really enjoyed meeting the resident goats, chicken, fish and the owner's very cute puppy Manny. Sylvia and Keith went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. This is the 'real, rural' Portugal which we love and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it! Thanks again and we look forward to staying again next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Keith and Sylvia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Sylvia and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillesi...
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking time to write this review. Sylvia and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 80
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing