We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
26
60
38
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
60
38
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small island old quarter fawlty towers short walk historic center bed was comfortable no elevator good size park town edge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

First, the positives: The hotel enjoys an ideal location. It's in the middle of a park, which encompasses a small island only a couple of hundred yards by foot from the edge of the old quarter of the town. Many fine restaurants are within a five minute walk. The train and bus stations (which are adjacent to one another in Tomar) are 15 to 20 minutes by foot, or five minutes by taxi. We had a room facing front, with a very large private balcony overlooking the park. It was an ideal spot to sit after dinner, enjoying a glass of port while watching people and their dogs pass by.

The building dates, as I understand it, from the early 1940s. The small hotel has fewer than 20 guest rooms. The corridors are dark, and include unexpected small changes in elevation. There is no elevator. Our room and bathroom both looked 1940-ish, which suits us, but which may not suit some other guests. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We never got the Wi-Fi to work.

Breakfast is served at the table, at the staff's own pace. The orange juice is measured out by the drop. Over all, the breakfast is adequate, but no more than that.

At times, only unilingual Portuguese speakers are on duty. However, they were very polite, and strove to understand my limited command of the Portuguese language. We didn't try the restaurant for either lunch or dinner, as the menu seemed limited. The daily special each day of our four-night stay was set out in English, not very appealingly, as "beans with chopped pork".

Should I be in Tomar again, I'd return here -- but this time better knowing what to expect.

Room tip: large and facing front
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank O705OQdavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The feel here is from an earlier era, relaxed but a little formal as well. The location on an island in a park provides a stark contrast with the much larger and more modern hotel nearby. Our room was dated but clean and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the park. It was very quiet, and it's a short walk to the center of town. Breakfast was good, and served to your table rather than the typical buffet.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MitchelT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The location is the only good thing about this hotel. It is located in an island in the river Nabão in the city of Tomar. With a very large public park just in front of the hotel door.
First of all there is a lack of security at the front desk.
From what I saw most of the time there isn't any one there and it takes too long for someone to pay attention to guests. Guests can reach the room keys without any kind of supervision from the hotel staff, witch can create security problems. I saw a guest doing this.
On check in the staff gave us a room that wasn't clean after the previous guests had left.
The hotel need's to be totally remodeled. The bathroom had old faucets and and the bathtub had a yellow stain from the dripping water. There are some issues with the hot water, and the bathroom had a smell of moisture.
There is no cable Tv available and no air conditioning too. No hair dryer too.
Breakfast wasn't nothing special. It is not a buffet breakfast and the options are very limited

Room tip: Dont stay here. Choose another hotel in this city
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirHugh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We loved Tomar and are so happy that we spent a few nights there. It does not seem like there are a ton of hotel options, it is worth putting up with not the nicest hotel ever, to be there.

Located just across from the historic center, an situated within a public park (where the locals bring their dogs to adorable frolic) the estalagem is very old-world (as it's OLD!) and charming. The service is very traditional as well- you will feel like you have stepped back in time. Unfortunately, that time travel continues to the room, and more specifically, the bathroom. The room was quite basic, with an extremely firm bed, but it was fine. The room was not air conditioned and did not need to be. We had a lovely patio overlooking the park, which was much enjoyed. But the bathroom was a real draw back for us. Old fashioned is fine, but the shower stall was downright unpleasant. I will l leave it at that.

Would I recommend this inn? Maybe- it is a great value and it has several things to recommend it (including easy access and parking for those traveling by car). The setting is really pretty, and the history of the place is cool. But know what you are getting into.

We would return to Tomar in a heartbeat, but would investigate other lodging.

Room tip: I would assume that some of the rooms have nicer bathrooms- I would seek one out!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex30032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Situated on an island in the river, the location, access and available parking make this a great choice for Tomar. The hotel itself has a bit of a "lost in time" feel, but that is part of the charm. The decor and many of the fixtures are a bit quirky. The bed was a bit firm for our taste, but might be perfect for you. The room was a good size, but the bathroom small, with an odd shower design. What makes this a decent choice is the location within the park, where only guest have driving access.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews