We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why those stupid swimming caps?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great hotel and lovely pools - heated outdoor and a wee roasting one inside - great for kids - but spoiled as we hate wearing those stupid swimming caps.
Location was great but no sandy beach if you need one.
Really interesting watching the cocklers/clamers going about their business across from the hotel on the mud flats each low tide.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 46Neill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that it was a bit spoiled by the swimming caps you had to wear in the indoor swimming pool. Please note that it is not a random hotel rule, but it is actually demanded by Portuguese Health and Safety Regulations. According to those, the use of a swimming cap is compulsory in any Indoor Pool in Portugal, so we have really no other choice than asking our guests to wear those.
We would also like to add that there are some beautiful sandy beaches in Olhão, though they can only be reached by boat, but we guarantee you that these islands are well worth a twenty minute boats drive.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marian Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,878 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Agree with all of the positive things that have been said - lovely hotel, great location, good breakfast and helpful friendly staff. Our biggest gripe was the gym - we booked on the strength of the facilities as working out is a big element of our holidays. Firstly , it doesn't open until 9 - problem if you want to get in before breakfast! Actual equipment is excellent but one side of building is glass and attracts constant sunlight. However the thermostat won't go below 19 and therefore it feels like working out in a sauna! Finally, there is no water in the gym - have used gyms all over the world and this is the only one i've experienced where you have to pay for water - 2.5 euros for 33cl bottle-dangerous in this high temp environment- staff seemed embarrassed and seemed used to having to apologise for the lack of water.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonJanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We regret that you were not satisfied with our Spa, especially its temperature and the charge for the water. We normally have a water dispenser in the gym with complimentary water. Due to a problem, which was out of our control, the water dispenser was not available for a while. As an alternative, we provided the 1,5 litre bottles , but since these are available for sale in other outlets of our Hotel, we were not able to give them for free, but had to implement a charge for it in order to avoid complaints from guests who purchased these bottles at one of the Bars. However, the situation has been restored now, the water dispensers are again available and no charge is applied for the water.
Regarding the temperature, we haven’t received negative feedback about the temperature before and we sincerely believe that 19º is quite a pleasant temperature, if not even too cool , for a gym.
We hope that, despite of these issues, we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina for an hopefully improved stay.


Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Real Marina Olhao is exceptional. Located 8km east of Faro on the quieter side of the Algarve it is v clean, airy and spacious with v friendly staff. From breakfast to lunch to dinner the food (and service) was top class and superb value for money. Child-friendly, with indoor and outdoor pools and lovely views over the lagoon we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barrymaccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your kind review.
We are very glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and that all services, facilities and the view corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Lovely modern hotel at the edge of town, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.
We had a large, bright room with a view of the mountains and side sea view. Good sized bathroom too. Large balcony with comfortable chairs, which was not overlooked by anyone.
View from the pool area at the front of hotel was beautiful.
Breakfast was good and plentiful, but cooked breakfast could have been hotter.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thehonesttraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much. It was really a big pleasure to read your review and to learn that you have had an almost perfect stay at the Real Marina. Unfortunately the temperature of the cooked breakfast prevented it from being absolutely perfect, but we will pass your comment on to our Executive Chef and will check our equipment.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA for hopefully an even more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recently came back from a weeks break at the Real Marina Hotel and Spa and had a very enjoyable stay. We were greeted at the door on our arrival and assisted with our luggage despite it being after 10pm, by a pleasant and helpful member of staff and was in our room within 10 mins of arrival. We were hungry after our journey and ordered room service which arrived within 15 mins and was excellent as was the service of the waiter. The room and bathroom was spacious, modern and spotlessly clean. There is adequate wardrobe space, somewhere to put your suitcases, a safe and a very comfortable bed and pillows. There are also bathrobes to use during your stay, a minibar with two complimentary bottles of water and toiletries in the bathroom - tea/coffee making facilities would have been perfect! The maid service is exceptional and unobtrusive and there was a chocolate at our bedside each evening.We did not hear any noise whilst in our room and had comfortable and peaceful nights sleep!
We found the staff polite and helpful and very professional! The hotel is modern spacious and clean. We asked for a room on an higher floor with sea view and the balcony was spacious and private - a sun lounger would have been welcome!
The food is of good quality and varied and as a vegetarian, I was able to find a variety of things to eat. The restaurant is bright and spacious and the service good at breakfast and very good at dinner. My only critisicm is the hot food at breakfast was often only luke warm and therefore became cold whilst eating and there was no atmosphere in the restaurant or bar in the evening - but we were there out of season. We did enjoy our evening meal though it was a little expensive! We did however complete a questionaire on our departure and commented about the food temperature and have just had a response from Lourenço Ribeiro, the General Manager who says they will look at ways to improve this.
We were very lucky and had wonderful weather which allowed us to visit the islands and WOW they are gorgeous with miles and miles of clean sandy beaches - they were mostly empty and we would walk and walk and then sit and read with the sound of the ocean waves - magical! You can go on organised trips but we enjoyed just catching the ferries with the islanders!
There are lots of cafes and restaurants and it is not full of tourists - well not at this time of the year anyway! There is a small saturday market where I bought some beautiful scarves for can you believe 2 euros each.
We loved our stay and we have fallen in love with portugal - it is our 2nd stay in six months in portugal! We will definitely go back to the Real Marina for some rest and relaxation.
A big thankyou to all the staff who took such good care of us and hopefully will see you again soon
(I do hope you have had or soon have rain!)

Room Tip: Take your own tea/coffee and travel kettle if like me you like a drink first thing in the morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hollinhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear guest,

We really appreciated your kind and detailed review. Thank you very much for your kind comments not only about the Hotel and team, but also about the town, country and its people.
We look forward to welcome you back, hopefully soon, for your next visit to Portugal, where it rained in the meantime, unfortunately not enough though.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
16.7 km away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,704 reviews
5.3 km away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
293 reviews
24.7 km away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
9.2 km away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
22.9 km away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: $83 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing