We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serenity in the rice fields”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km) Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Wake up to our view of Tranquility
Poolside Suite to Pool Terrace cared for my Alit
View down from Mezzanine Terrace
Pool Area to Poolside Suite and Living Room
Poolside or from the Bale Begong - beauty everywhere
Mezzanine Suite Teak KIngsized Bed
Mezzanine Suite Teak Daybed/ Single Bed
From the fishpond through the flowers
Living room formal dining area
Mezzanine Balinese open air shower/bathroom
Bath with a view - Mezzanine Suite
Seating Mezzanine Suite
Pool and Fish Habitat
Poolside Suite with flowers
A good place to 'work'? Poolside Terrace
Poolside Suite seating
Paddie A/C Suite with ensuite, private terrace and open air Bali style bathroom
12 meter 'Meditation' swimming pool, cool water with mood lighting at night
Our 'crowded' beach
Bringing in the rice harvest in front of the villa
Villa Surya and Holy Mount Agung
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lizzyrada...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity in the rice fields”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for six days at the end of May 2014 having inspected the property in November 2013. What a wonderful experience far from the madding crowds of Seminyak. We were warmly greeted by the friendly staff and owners Mark and Petra who over the next six days did everything to make our stay a memorable one.
We were collected (and returned) from Seminyak by the villa driver making getting to this fairly remote location very easy. Well worth the trip to experience the wonderful idyll that is Villa Surya.
Surrounded by rice fields and a short walk to the beach we were happy to explore the local area by foot and experience the real Bali and the rhythm of village life. Swims in the pool, reading a book in the beautiful gardens under the trees was accompanied buy the sounds of the waves the birds and the roosters nearby. Just perfect!
This tranquility was enhanced buy the wide range of wonderful meals served to us ( just choose from the menu) both western and great authentic Balinese. Fresh fish bbq'd for us was delightful. You just fix up the bill on departure. Great arrangement for a really carefree break.
We were able to explore the local town of Amlapura with its market and Hardy's supermarket to stock up on essentials where required. Got some great utensils for my kitchen there! Candi Dasa is a 20 minute drive away and a must see were the water gardens Puri Agung well worth visiting.
There is plenty to do from Villa Surya but having been in this part of the world on other occasions we spent most of our time just relaxing by the pool and going for walks exploring the surrounds. Just beautiful.
The rooms are simply decorated, clean and comfortable with AC most welcome at night to escape the humidity. It is BYO entertainment at night after dinner - we took a jigsaw but the stars provided a spectacular light show from the upper terrace to the sound of the waves.
Ah Villa Surya- I spent so long looking forward to my holiday there and now it is beautiful memories. I hope I will return one day.
I thank Mark and especially the lovely Petra for sharing this beautiful place with us. A special mention to the gentle and beautiful staff and their kind and smiling faces that greeted us every day. A beautiful holiday destination and great to have this contrast to the busy streets of Seminyak.... Highly Recommend


Alk to the beach

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location. Pool and surrounds. Food. Tranquility. Walks. Everything......
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Wow! Bit speechless (writeless?) really so I guess it's better to just say nothing but thanks so very much - good revues are the nectar of our life (apart from living in Bali, that is). Thanks for the nectar. We love people to agree with our good taste and style about Bali. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thanks so much and we all hope you can manage longer next time - there's so much more to see and do that 8 days and nights only gave you a good start. Next time the kids will be older and be able to get much more from Bali and not just the villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dtpet
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“An Oasis of Luxury in Beautiful Eastern Bali”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I would recommend Villa Surya to anyone, particularly those with a bit more time on their hands (i.e., more than a weekend) and a desire for more than the resort beaches of Kuta and Sanur have to offer.

The villa itself is gorgeous - two inviting pools set in a garden environment conceived and maintained with great care. The two suites, the poolside (ground floor) and mezzanine (upstairs) are both large, with comfortable beds, beautifully appointed bathrooms and plenty of living area. There is also a large living and dining area and kitchen under the mezzanine suite. The property is clean, and the website did not fully do justice to the setting and the view of rice paddies extending to the sea, to the beauty of sitting by the pool and watching the sun rise.

More importantly, the web cannot truly convey the friendly welcome and homey atmosphere of Villa Surya. Mark and Petra - the owners - live nearby and are very helpful in suggesting activities to make the most of what eastern Bali has to offer. Our two kids - age 4 and 2 - fell in love with Mark and Petra and with the villa staff (who are extremely friendly and welcoming), and had so much fun exploring the grounds and learning about local plants, animals and customs.

Villa Surya is located in a quiet, village setting, a couple of hours by car away from the congested resort communities of the southern part of the island. However, it is still just a 10-minute drive to a modern supermarket, 15 minutes to the restaurants of Candi Dasa. And eastern Bali has a wide variety of great activities on offer - from trekking and white water rafting to swimming, surfing and diving. Staying at Villa Surya, we could pack out days with fun, and then retreat to a relaxed and welcoming home environment. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Owners and staff create great, welcoming atmosphere for the family
Liked least: Internet access was sporadic and slow
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2013
As guests we give you 6 stars.

It was a real pleasure for all of us to meet and greet you and your lovely family. Most kids you see nowadays are stuck in front of a flatscreen of some sort and it was so good to see the kids really adventure around the villa meeting all the people and creatures of Bali and just have a wonderful time from sun up (they got up before the sun did most mornings!) until sundown with breaks for sightseeing, swimming and well earned naps in between. We had to revise down our ideas that travel is only meaningful for children approaching teenage because of them.

You and your wife braved the roads of Bali in a rental and had a good experience and the freedom to go and do whatever your desires dictated. It was wise to occasionally take Made our driver for the longer trips to save up your energies for the kids and that all important sightseeing. The balance was correct.

Please come and see us again when the civets have grown and are running free.

Om Swastiastu, Om Santi, Santi
Mark, Petra, Ketut, Alit, Kadek and Made
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
Dunsborough
1 review
“Authentic Bali”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

As a frequent visitor to Bali, Villa Surya and its surroundings delivers a taste of Bali far away from the maddening crowds. Meet real Balinese, be spoilt by the friendly staff and explore east Bali.The Villa was comfortable, clean and the service was faultless. The owner provided plenty of local knowledge and was happy to assist with arranging visits to ceromonies, shopping etc. Great place to relax and chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Many thanks and all of us enjoyed showing you as much of the real Bali as we could fit in and you wanted. There's still some left to see so don't be a stranger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The location and people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to your return. "Baby tuna" is still in abundance and fresh every day. Next time lets do the Babi Guling (suckling pig)feast. Alit, Kadek, Ketut and I all say Hi and many thanks for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing