We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Bali”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km) Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Wake up to our view of Tranquility
Poolside Suite to Pool Terrace cared for my Alit
View down from Mezzanine Terrace
Pool Area to Poolside Suite and Living Room
Poolside or from the Bale Begong - beauty everywhere
Mezzanine Suite Teak KIngsized Bed
Mezzanine Suite Teak Daybed/ Single Bed
From the fishpond through the flowers
Living room formal dining area
Mezzanine Balinese open air shower/bathroom
Bath with a view - Mezzanine Suite
Seating Mezzanine Suite
Pool and Fish Habitat
Poolside Suite with flowers
A good place to 'work'? Poolside Terrace
Poolside Suite seating
Paddie A/C Suite with ensuite, private terrace and open air Bali style bathroom
12 meter 'Meditation' swimming pool, cool water with mood lighting at night
Our 'crowded' beach
Bringing in the rice harvest in front of the villa
Villa Surya and Holy Mount Agung
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John R
Dunsborough
1 review
“Authentic Bali”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

As a frequent visitor to Bali, Villa Surya and its surroundings delivers a taste of Bali far away from the maddening crowds. Meet real Balinese, be spoilt by the friendly staff and explore east Bali.The Villa was comfortable, clean and the service was faultless. The owner provided plenty of local knowledge and was happy to assist with arranging visits to ceromonies, shopping etc. Great place to relax and chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Many thanks and all of us enjoyed showing you as much of the real Bali as we could fit in and you wanted. There's still some left to see so don't be a stranger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The location and people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to your return. "Baby tuna" is still in abundance and fresh every day. Next time lets do the Babi Guling (suckling pig)feast. Alit, Kadek, Ketut and I all say Hi and many thanks for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clare M
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa in Quiet Location”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks in Bali, the first week of which was spent at Villa Surya. What a great experience, we had the holiday of a lifetime due in no small part to the staff at Villa Surya. We had not seen our boys for two years and the villa provided an ideal and luxurious setting for our reunion.

We all agreed that we had never felt so well looked after. Mark is a wonderfully kind and entertaining host, though I think he might had had kittens if he'd known in advance we were thinking of heading off up the mountain! The staff were unflaggingly helpful and charming, Katut's cooking is the best in Bali. She also kitted us all out from her family's wardrobe so that we could experience various local event suitably attired. I have seldom looked so elegant. She also took my son on the back of her Vespa so that he could watch the world cup with her family at 3.00 am. Beyond the call of duty indeed! Made the driver was always helpful with his recommendations, and his suggestion that we tackle Mount Agung in the middle of the night certainly made for the most memorable experience of our holiday!
We loved the Villa with it's outdoor showers and beautiful beds, we loved the squeaky lizards and the turtle who lives by the pool, the coconut palms swaying in the moonlight, but above all we loved the gentle and humorous staff to whom I extend a big thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wonderful staff, but pretty much everything.
Liked least: Candi Dasa is a bit of a tumble weed town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2012
You were a lovely group and it was a great experience for us all - you allowed us to share in the joy of your reunion and the pleasure you all got from seeing the intimate side of Bali (yes, cremations are very interesting and dare I say it, they can and should be fun).
Don't get me wrong Kuta, Sanur, Legian and Nusa Dua, the more touristy places here on the island are great for those that are just looking for "fun in the sun" but it's very rewarding for us to find a group that are willing to embrace the entire Bali experience from climbing Agung in the middle of the night to catch the sunrise to wonderfully long massages on the beautiful White Sandy Beach or in the privacy of the villa - they kind of go together, don't they? Glad you enjoyed the grub too - Ketut was impressed with your ability to handle (and even ask for more) spicy Balinese sauces.

Ketut, Alit, Kadek and I all wish you the very best (Cheech and Chong the cats too!)and hope to see you all again soon. Oh and thanks for the great review.

We've just added 2 more bedrooms in a separate guest house on the property along with an extra swimmingpool too so next time you can bring the grandkids...?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
You and your family seemed to love their time here on Bali and the kids are of an age when they really got something out of the fantastic cultural and natural experiences that are all around us here in Paradise Bali. Thanks for sharing your artistic and ship knowledge with us and the decorations to the new Villa Candra will take your suggested form - Bamboo. You are all welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 26 April 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2012
So great to hear from you again and many thanks for the fantastic review. We really enjoyed having you and the others and please stop in again and spend some more time in Paradise.

Your private Yoga lessons were the start of a great trend here at Villa Surya - we now have most of our guests taking part and just loving the intimacy that Kawi brings to the expercises.

Hope you are all well and looking forward to your next trip.

Mark, Kadek, Ketut and Alit all say "Om Swastiastu" (may your gods be with you)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing