We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner on a quite night”

La Rouge Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 72 Restaurants in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to La Rouge Restaurant Candidasa Bali. "Serving great food, great people, and a greater purpose." We are a family friendly restaurant, we have high chairs for the youngest ones so mum and dad do not have to hold their children while enjoying their meals, at La Rouge everyone is welcome! We have exquisite food, awesome cocktails & a wonderful atmosphere, our friendly staff are very welcoming and their attention to detail is second to none. The menu has a range to suit all. Join in the friendly chatter at the front bar. Cuisine: Balinese! Western! Indian! Vegetarian!
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We visited after reading the reviews and weren't disappointed. Maybe the wrong night there was only us and one other couple who were in the garden and we couldn't even see them. It was like we were the only ones in the restaurant.

We first had a drink at the bar and had a great chat with Wayan the bar man, who had lovely manners and great conversation.

On going to our table we ordered our food which was good, except I order the Australian Lamb which I wouldn't normally do in Bali but after being there for 4 weeks I really wanted something different. The lamb was served with a lovely mashed potato and vegetables but was smothered. In a very dark balsamic sauce so you could see the colour of the meat which was cutlets. They were a little over cooked quite tough, but along with the cutlets were some other pieces of what I think was lamb but it was mainly bone and fat which made this meal not enjoyable. I would suggest just serve the cutlets and please do not over cook them and you would have a great meal. In saying all that my husband's meal and bread roll (complementary) were really nice. The restaurant itself was very pretty and clean and you can see the chefs cooking from the dining area.

All the staff were lovely.

We will return next time.

Thank chrisr6672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleBelle, Owner at La Rouge Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you Chrisr6672, for your honest review, we hope next time you come that you will have a more enjoyable meal, on most occasions the quality of the red meat is very good, on rare occasions we end up with it being a bit tough, so we apologise for that and hopefully we can make it up next time you are here.

Best Regards,

La Rouge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

I've eaten here many times in many contexts - family or as a couple, lunch or dinner.

This place suits all. It has western, Balinese and Indian menu options and everything I've tried is tasty.

Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleBelle, Owner at La Rouge Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you Greg C so happy you had a lovely time and thank you for your review please do come again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

By a long way the BEST restaurant in Candidasa , the food was awesome from highly trained chefs (for Me the Duck Comfit was to die for) , bar staff and waiters offer excellent service , entertainment nights thoroughly enjoyable and the added bonus they offer a FREE collection and return taxi service to your hotel ... 10/10 for sure !!

Thank Big N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleBelle, Owner at La Rouge Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thanks Big N for a great review we love nothing better than making our customers happy and we are glad you enjoyed the entertainment as well xo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were drawn in for a drink by the live band and decided to stay for dinner.
We would have no problems recommending this place for service, ambience, food quality and of course the band!
We would highly recommend the coconut pancakes for dessert.
Well done La Rouge!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stuckforwurdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleBelle, Owner at La Rouge Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Love the review thank you and so happy you enjoyed the music and food please do come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

everything was delicious and fresh, great place to try local food. a little expensive compared to other restaurants but not a huge price difference. I totally recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ecem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleBelle, Owner at La Rouge Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for your review we are very happy that you enjoyed dining at La Rouge and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rouge Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Candidasa, Karangasem
 
Candidasa, Karangasem
 

Been to La Rouge Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing