We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning views, good wine, friendly staff = 10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alluvia Wine Estate
Ranked #99 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning views, good wine, friendly staff = 10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at Alluvia for one night in Feb 2012...we were greeted by two very friendly staff, Louise and Liezel. We arrived in a blistering 40 degree Stellies and weren't prepared for our stay there. They immediately offered us cold beer and showed us our room. We stayed in the Oakleaf No2 room with a lovely (clean) pool right in front. We got in the pool immediately and enjoyed the wine we got in the room. The views from the room and pool are absolutely breathtaking.

I also had a little "mishap" with my car the next day, and the two ladies organized their friends to come from town to help. In no time my car was fixed and ready to go...we quickly stopped for a wine tasting and bought some lovely wine to take home - what a treat !

Overall we had an amazing time at Alluvia and would recommend anyone else to go there.

Room Tip: Oakleaf No.2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roelof_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
7
58
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The first leg of our honeymoon was spent just outside of our home town, Stellenbosch, on the famous Helshoogte Pass. The Sparkling wine and jacuzzi bath went down well in our luxury room, but by far the most exciting was the golf-car drive to the neighbouring farm for dinner! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikKleinhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We got married on a estate on the Helshoogte Pass and stayed at Alluvia for our first Honeymoon night in the honeymoon suite.

My husband arranged with the staff before hand on a list specifications for the room and gave money(too much for the list) to buy this. Unfortunately none of the specifications were met when we arrived there after our wedding. Nothing special was done to the room except for old strawberries and chocolates in the fridge.

Luckily the fact that we were tired and the beautiful room and bathroom made up for this. The spa bath was perfect except for the fact that there were no matches to light the candles and the foam bath was nearly finished.

Our breakfast "picnic" basket we received the next morning was shocking for the amount that we payed to stay there. It was filled with tupperware and plastic utensils with browning apples, yogurt, old pastries and apple juice. No cheese or honey. We were really disappointed.

This place has so much potential but needs to live up to the amounts quoted and image portrayed through their website.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariVorster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We love wine farms and this one is one of the best. The staff are friendly, fun and attentive. The views are awesome and the farm is perfectly located within 100 - 200 meters of stellenbosch's prize wine farms. Alluvia's cab sav and sav blanc are exceptional and worth taking home to share with friends!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chamonixcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Chanced on this place when we were looking for two nights accommodation between Stellenbosch and Franshoek at the end of our visit to South Africa. Were shown the three Oakleaf rooms 1-3 but 3 smelt damp (apparently the carpets had just been washed) and 2 appeared the best (better views) but was only available 1 night. We selected 3 which has a nice big bathroom with a very nice bath.

The location and views at this estate are wonderful and Louise was very efficient in getting the room ready and helping with local information on restaurants and places to visit. The rooms are as mentioned earlier getting a little tired and due a bit of redecoration but they were adequate. There was no air conditioning only fans so it was a little hot at night in mid summer.

The main disappointment was the breakfast. Unfortunately it was exactly as described in earlier reports there is little selection and it is far from the standard we had become accustomed to in the rest of our stay in the area. Adding more fruit and maybe a cheese and cold meat would improve things immensely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blujonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
12.6 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
12.1 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#3 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 km away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
1.3 km away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#1 of 50 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvia Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvia Wine Estate

Property: Alluvia Wine Estate
Address: Glen Arum Road | Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price range (per night): $65
Hotel Class:5 star — Alluvia Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a working wine estate in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands, lies a unique cult wine producer called Alluvia Specialist Winery.Alluvia’s award winning wine estate and its luxury accommodation provides a match made in heaven, which we simply describe as “the vineyard lifestyle”. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alluvia Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing