We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stellenbosch is such a beautiful place and the river manor was a lovely place to stay. A short stroll to the main streets and such welcoming and friendly staff. The accommodation itself was very conveniently located, very nice rooms and ,main areas to lounge around in. Highly recommended and added to my overall wonderful experience of Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Marie V

Thank you for the lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at River Manor and had time to explore the town itself.

We look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 77 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

A lovely homely feel- rooms were lovely with lots of little touches such as chocolates and sherry.
Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Good location a short walk from the centre of town and it's safe to walk there/back even in the dark.
Wish we'd stayed more than one night!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Member

Thank you for the review, it's always great to hear guests say they would like to have stayed longer it's a true sign of them enjoying their accommodation and surrounding area.

Best Regard
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This was the second hotel of our honeymoon but the service was definitely the best here. We were made to feel so special from the moment that we arrived. Check in was fast and we booked onto a wine tour the next day. Our room was huge but a shame that we could't take advantage of the balcony due to the weather. We were greeted at breakfast by a glass of sparkling wine and were picked up for our wine tour (5 vineyards with 5 generous glasses at each) by our excellent guide. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smbro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear smbro87

Thank you for the wonderful review. Everyday we strive to improve and to receive such encouraging words only motivates us more.

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and look forward to celebrating an anniversary with you in the future.

Kind Regards
River Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The hotel is well presented in a nice area of stellenbosch, close to the shops/restuarants. Our room was large although we did have small issues with it (non that quantified a complaint mind). We wish the rooms were provided with telephones to contact reception.

The the room does not come equipped with an iron/ironing board as expected but the staff were friendly enough to offer to press the clothes; we just wish it had of been done by the time our taxi arrived for our evening meal (which they kindly arranged for us); no staff member communicated to us that the clothes we had hoped to wear wouldnt be ready in time and no apology was made, even when we walked out of the hotel in creased clothing for our meal! We appreciated the generosity of ironing (and cleaning) our clothes but please, next time, communicate with guests if the clothes won't be ready when expected; We were sat in our underwear waiting for clothes 15 minutes after our taxi had arrived.

Breakfast was lovely and the rest of our stay was pleasent. We probably would return (and would bring a travel iron).

Room Tip: Away from the building site next door; avoid room 6; It had a glass window above the door that strea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gazwiztw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Gazwiztw

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is always welcome and we can only grow and learn from guest reviews.

We have ordered new hand devices for the rooms which unfortunately have not arrived but will be here shortly.

Due to the historical nature of the buildings we do not offer in room ironing instead the complimentary service is provided by staff. I have met with all and discussed the importance of communicating with the guest and trust this will not be an issue going forward.

Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and having improved on the points mentioned.

Kind Regards
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Clean. The staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Nice breakfast. Only disappointment was the internet would not connect in the room, had to use lobby area which was inconvenient if needed late at night.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MaryAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear MaryAnn T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at River Manor. Upgrades in the internet connectivity is most definitely in the pipe-lines and upon your return you will be uploading pics of your holiday and reading your emails from the comfort of your room.

Kind Regards
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.2 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
940 reviews
0.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
435 reviews
1.2 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#5 of 116 in Stellenbosch
469 reviews
6.7 km away
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $191 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor Boutique Hotel is located in the very heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our unbeatable location is within easy walking distance from everything that the historic oak-lined town has to offer. Housed in two adjacent manor houses and set in a landscaped garden on the banks of the Eerste River, we offer discerning travellers an unforgettable experience in a gloriously romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing