We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The hotel is well presented in a nice area of stellenbosch, close to the shops/restuarants. Our room was large although we did have small issues with it (non that quantified a complaint mind). We wish the rooms were provided with telephones to contact reception.

The the room does not come equipped with an iron/ironing board as expected but the staff were friendly enough to offer to press the clothes; we just wish it had of been done by the time our taxi arrived for our evening meal (which they kindly arranged for us); no staff member communicated to us that the clothes we had hoped to wear wouldnt be ready in time and no apology was made, even when we walked out of the hotel in creased clothing for our meal! We appreciated the generosity of ironing (and cleaning) our clothes but please, next time, communicate with guests if the clothes won't be ready when expected; We were sat in our underwear waiting for clothes 15 minutes after our taxi had arrived.

Breakfast was lovely and the rest of our stay was pleasent. We probably would return (and would bring a travel iron).

Room Tip: Away from the building site next door; avoid room 6; It had a glass window above the door that strea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gazwiztw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Gazwiztw

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is always welcome and we can only grow and learn from guest reviews.

We have ordered new hand devices for the rooms which unfortunately have not arrived but will be here shortly.

Due to the historical nature of the buildings we do not offer in room ironing instead the complimentary service is provided by staff. I have met with all and discussed the importance of communicating with the guest and trust this will not be an issue going forward.

Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and having improved on the points mentioned.

Kind Regards
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Clean. The staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Nice breakfast. Only disappointment was the internet would not connect in the room, had to use lobby area which was inconvenient if needed late at night.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MaryAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear MaryAnn T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at River Manor. Upgrades in the internet connectivity is most definitely in the pipe-lines and upon your return you will be uploading pics of your holiday and reading your emails from the comfort of your room.

Kind Regards
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here during our trip along the Garden Route, we contacted the hotel in advance and they arranged a lovely private wine tour for us.

We had a very large deluxe room, complimentary wine provided on arrival along with a glass of bubbles to celebrate our recent marriage.

The staff were friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations.

Would highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bexdavieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Bexdavieson

Thank you for the review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially while celebrating such a special occasion as one's honeymoon.

We are always more than willing to assist with pre-booking of tours and arranging dinner's on behave of our guests.

We hope you see you again one day, perhaps a special anniversary?

Kind Regards
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our trip, in a room overlooking the pool. The room was large and comfortable, although unfortunately we stayed on some cold days so needed heating on and certainly no chance of using the pools. The old houses that make up most of the hotel are well maintained, several lounges available although we didn't use them. There were also free decanters of sherry in the lounges which we didn't avail ourselves of, but I did have a taste of the sherry in the small decanter in our room.

Without exception the staff were superb. From dealing with our odd request for a kettle (drinks are available free from the hotel but we'd need to get up to get them - defeating our morning coffee in bed!) and problems with the code on the safe.They seemed genuinely interested in the guests and their enjoyment of the hotel and Stellenbosch.

As others have said the location is superb - park up and walk around the town. The hotel is secure with CCTV although it seems a safe area.

Breakfasts were a buffet with cooked eggs etc to order. Again really friendly staff, remembered we wanted coffee not tea and ensured we were topped up during breakfast.

Thoroughly recommend, just wish we'd had better weather - oh talking of which they have loan umbrellas!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Banstead

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at River Manor and all the expectations were met.

We always appreciate feedback and such positive reviews motivate the staff to continue with the great work they are doing.

We hope to see you again in the warmer summer months when you can enjoy the swimming pools and garden areas.

Kind Regards
River Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

River Manor Hotel is a beautiful old boutique hotel, newly renovated & so very comfortable. Rooms are very clean & huge and amazing bathrooms with claw foot bath. Breakfast is good, served in two beautiful dining rooms.
The staff are efficient & very friendly, ensuring you enjoy your stay in their beautiful hotel.
We enjoyed our time there very much.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 540maggie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverManorBTS, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear 540maggie003

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at River Manor and that you were looked after well.

We hope you will return again sometime soon and get to enjoy a few new services we are going to offer.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.2 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
951 reviews
0.4 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
946 reviews
0.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
352 reviews
0.8 km away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#1 of 116 in Stellenbosch
199 reviews
5.4 km away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#18 of 116 in Stellenbosch
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $201 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor Boutique Hotel is located in the very heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our unbeatable location is within easy walking distance from everything that the historic oak-lined town has to offer. Housed in two adjacent manor houses and set in a landscaped garden on the banks of the Eerste River, we offer discerning travellers an unforgettable experience in a gloriously romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing