We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly and so peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #16 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2017

WedgeView just gorgeous, spectacular, amazing, friendly country house. We stayed here as part of a birthday celebration weekend and trail run. Everything from the rooms to the food and staff were amazing.
The views are gorgeous and perfect to look out on whilst enjoying a glass of your own wine or one from the honest bar. We had the run of the kitchen in the morning when we had to prepare for the run before the official breakfast time. Night security made us tea and in general couldn't have been more helpful. We will def be back.

Room Tip: I had access to 4 of the rooms as we travelled in a group. Down stairs ones had carpet, upstairs ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveBakker, Front Office Assistant at WedgeView Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Maria Q,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

Enjoy your day!

Kind regards,

The Wedgeview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay. From the friendly service, to the room itself, the food, and them even accommodating some tricky requests of ours. Everything was just perfect. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Vineyard was a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveBakker, Front Office Assitant at WedgeView Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Jtvero,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

Enjoy your day!

Kind regards,

The Wedgeview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

There are many, many words I could use to describe WedgeView - gorgeous, spectacular, amazing, friendly...the list goes on. As part of our South African trip we were due to be staying in a different hotel but I have to say I'm truly pleased we decided to stay here instead. From the moment you arrive and the welcome glass of wine offered you can almost feel your body relax. Close to Stellenbosh but not too close (it's a short drive/taxi ride) WedgeView is surrounded by vines and hills. The views are gorgeous and perfect to look out on whilst enjoying a glass of their own wine or whilst lounging by the pool.

You can tell this hotel has been designed with the guest in mind and everything is perfect... I kid you not...perfect. The rooms, the towels, the robes, the beds, the in room facilities - everything!! Nothing appears to have been missed. Including a bottle of wine in your room ready for your arrival.

We visited at the start of SA's Winter so the restaurant choices were limited in the evening but they would quite happily sort out a really tasty meats and cheeses platter for you if you wished to stay at the hotel in the eve - we did on both evenings and they were lovely. Take the opportunity to taste they're own produced Chardonnay - you will absolutely not be disappointed! If you have lunch there go with the club sandwich - it's enormous and really tasty! Dinner may not be required afterwards!

We were looked after really well, the staff were fantastic and made you feel like nothing would be too much trouble.

On this occasion we were just passing through and only stayed for a couple of nights but I could have seen us staying there much longer and loving every minute had the itinerary allowed!

A truly memorable experience in our South African journey.

Thank you to all at WedgeView x

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We had a stunning room overlooking the view of the vineyards. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. Sophie and Ben were wonderful. We both had a lovely massage at the spa. It is very close to Stellenbosch town and to the Route 44 market. On the whole was an awesome experience will definately go there again.

Thanks Jenny & Glyn

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenniferaM5599ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

This is a guest house of the highest category. Great service by dedicated staff, very nice and large rooms, catering to couples or families. Two pools and a spa on the facility. Amazing views of the winelands and mountains. Oh and the sky at night is magical, especially if you watch it from your porch with a fire. Magical experience!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gido V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
3.2 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,980 reviews
3.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
8.4 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
2.7 km away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
6.8 km away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#19 of 115 in Stellenbosch
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $161 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing