We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
440
90
24
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
90
24
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedge view cape town wine fields welcome drink presidential suite superior room luxurious rooms cheese platter beautiful place stayed longer beautiful garden glass of wine only stayed one night short drive breakfast was delicious stunning views a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

After finding the property in the dark. We were greeted by Thomas a very pleasant young Dutch fellow. Who greeted us very warmly and offered us food and drink. The room was fantastic and the whole resort was excellent. We got to look around the resort the following morning in beautiful sunshine and were not disappointed. The staff were all very helpful, pleasant and always friendly. The views overlooking the vineyards were stunning looking towards the mountains. The facilities were good and we were within easy driving distance of Stellenbosch a very nice town with plenty of cafe and restaurants. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Well done all.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

On arrival there was a mix up with our booking, we were put into a superior room for the first night which was comfortable but dated, there was a problem with the safe.. We were then moved to the presidential suite which was absolutely stunning although we had a problem with the plumbing. The staff were young and inexperienced, there is no staff on duty after 9pm although there is a security guard who gave us a fright when returning one evening as he was dress is a scruffy hoody. Some form of uniform or dress code would of been appropriate. Breakfast was not good with over cooked eggs and bacon, forgotten toast, there was a bird sitting in the cereal jar. The pool area was nice, however dirty towels were left on empty sun beds so it was hard to know what was available. Everyone was very pleasant so I feel horrible leaving negative feedback, my issue is with the 5 star rating rather than the place itself. If five star I would expect complimentary water in rooms, mini bar to be relent shed daily, some sort of service throughout the night, and restaurant facilities. Stellenbosch was great with a really nice vibe, we used uber which was very efficient.

Room Tip: We were allocated the president suite which was fantastic
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra_e_114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2017

Dear Sandra,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us, as it was a close family member or friend that booked the trip for you we where quiet caught off guard. As there were multiple bookings made from the agents side and numerous bookings cancelled the fault indeed lied with us as we had instead of releasing one of the bookings made we had in fact released both rooms booked.

Upon arrival we had managed this situation well by providing you with complementary
upgrades.
I feel I doo need to bring to your attention that as a guest house we are not 24/7 operating. I can apologies for the mannerism in which our Night guard was dressed as we always try to ensure proper dress code at all times.

As we try our best to do as often pool service as possible this is not always possible as we are a small number of staff handling numerous guest demands we always try to ensure the pool is of a high standard.

We hope that in time we could make up for this from our side, should you ever travel again to Stellenbosch we would love to invite you back to show you the improvements we have made.

Kind regards,
The Wedgeview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We return to Wedge View year after year and are never disappointed with the service and welcome we get from Dave and his team.
Why do we keep coming back?
Well, the whole area around Stellenbosch is just fabulous to visit and we've not run out of different places to see so Wedge View's proximity to the town - a short drive/taxi ride away - is a bonus but having said that reason we specifically choose here is that they have managed to achieve a truly clever combination of "shabby chic" and "easy efficiency" creating an exceptionally managed whilst thoroughly relaxing stay in very pleasant surroundings (gardens/pools/etc.) frequented by clients looking for the same in a hotel as Jen & I.....
We've booked for next year already!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank woodieslocksheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Regretably we only booked 3 nights. We should have booked 30! Very warm welcome, beautiful house, fine rooms, very individual, an aura of luxury, beautiful gardens and terraces, lovely swimmingpool, most friendly (mostly young) waiters and waitresses and staff, call it a private boutique hotel in the middle of marvellous landscapes and vineyards. Very personal - the Owner himself looks after you. Book it - you won´t regret it!

Room Tip: I presume all rooms are very individual and recommendable. All of them have balkony or terrace and nice views.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kingbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Family of 4, including 2 teenagers, stayed in Jan 2017 for 3 nights.
The hotel is set amongst vineyards with great views.
We stayed in a one bedroom / one bathroom suite adjoining the reception area, which was a bit dated. It though did have a balcony with beautiful long views. Airconditioning was a bit loud in the room.
Breakfast was beautifully set in the gardens and a great start to each day.
Staff were helpful in getting us organised to see local attractions.
Had an evening meal of a local barbeque / Braai which was atmospheric. Another evening they organised a mezze plate of cold meats and cheeses on our balcony which hit the spot.
The main feature of the hotel is the main pool area which is scenically set in gardens with regional views, together with a cabana featuring a pool table, where we ended up spending our afternoons / sundowner.
About a 10 minute trip into Stellenbosch by car to good restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teamahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave-wedgeview, Owner at WedgeView Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Family Timar,
We would like to thank you again for deciding to stay with us and we are glad there were some positives during your stay.
I immediately noticed you mentioned that your family stayed stayed in a 1 bedroom / 1 bathroom Suite. I do feel we need to inform you that your travel agency had booked the following room No.2 , our Garden Family Suite, which you were in for the 3 nights.
Our Garden Family Suite is on the ground Floor of the main building and actually consists of 2 Bedrooms, one of them with en-suite bathroom. The Garden Family Suite has a private patio at the back with direct access to our solar-heated lagoon Pool as well as private terrace at the front with spectacular views over the Stellenbosch Hills Vineyards and Mountains.
I do understand that most times travel agents do not relay the correct information regarding room types as their sole priority is to secure any and all bookings that come their way. Had we known that your family required a different set up we would have addressed this matter soonest.
Thank you for letting us know about the air-con unit, I am pleased to let you know our team has solved this problem. I am not sure though what you mean that your room was adjoining the reception area, because your room was next to one of our lovely lounges and not next to reception.
We do also have more modern/contemporary designed rooms for those who enjoy the finer more modernised and contempory feeling, again had we known what you and your family would have preferred, we would have tried to suit your wishes.
We are extremely delighted to hear that you and the family had enjoyed all our facilities as well as our dinner and platters. It was an absolute pleasure to have had your family stay with us and we wish to see you again in the near future, as we now know your needs we are sure to maximise your next stay.
Until we meet again.
Kindest regards,
Dave & The WedgeView Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews