We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
27
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking ostrich farmshort drivetoscabedroompoolbreakfast
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We stayed at kilphewel two nights when we arrived to be greeted by Freda the owners mother. A lovely warm greeting and made us feel very welcome. We were showed to our room which was beautiful ,very large , plenty of space to spread out ,a huge bathroom and all beautifully furnished. We were given a very welcome cold drink of our choice ,given instructions on how everything worked and then left alone to admire the beauty of this spot. I wished we had booked for longer. The outside area is stunning ,the views are endless and the quiet is most welcome. Freda arranged a restaurant for dinner that night and also told us her husband Albert would be happy to take us around the ostrich farm which he did the next day. The breakfast was exceptional , cooked to order at a time that suits you . This place is just wonderful and Freda and Albert were kind ,gracious hosts. I would definitely recommend klipheuwel and hope to stay again on our next trip. There is a small town nearby if you need anything and things like Cango Caves are all within distance but essentially Klipheuwel I would recommend for peace and quiet in luxurious surroundings.

Room Tip: Only three rooms all beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoseyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Warm welcome, lovely room next to pool, super clean, 5star breakfast, use of braai facilities next to pool, safe parking, surprised next morning with clean vehicle, all round one of the best in SA. Situated close to Oudtshoorn.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, anyone is a good choice.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Norman v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were fortunate enough to stay at Klipheuvel for two nights during October. The guest house is extremely comfortable and well situated just outside Oudtshoorn, away from the busy town with wonderful views of the Swartberg mountain range. Breakfasts are a treat and Laubscher went out of his way to take us on a most interesting tour of the farm. Would certainly highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeeGKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

We were extremely impressed with Kilpheuwel from start to finish. The place itself is a beautiful old Victorian style house built over a 100 years ago. It has been stylishly done up to keep its Victorian feel while offering every comfort of a luxury modern building. The rooms are separate to the main house and look onto the pool and then out over the beautiful surrounding farms and the large mountains in the distance. The view is stunning!

Our hosts Elmarie and Laubscher were so friendly and welcoming and had great suggestions of things to do in the area. We really enjoyed our dinner they suggested in town. The farm is an easy 5-10 minute drive form Oudtshoorn but you feel like you're in the middle of the Klein Karoo - very special indeed! The farm is also a fully operational ostrich farm which we found fascinating.

Breakfast was exceptional and was served outside on the deck with great views of the farm and surrounding area.

We will definitely be back when we're next in the area and can highly recommend Klipheuwel.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We stayed for two nights here and could easily have stayed longer. It's an extremely charming farm, the owners went above and beyond to make our stay special. We lucky enough to have a tour of the working Ostrich farm, extremely interesting.

The food was excellent , the addition of local dishes was a very nice touch, we just couldn't finish it but tried hard. The decor was really tasteful and the attention to detail was highly impressive. Elmarie recommended places for us to visit and booked restaurants for us which was really helpful.

The negative review we read is frankly bizarre , I'd be interested to know where these people usually stay! I understand not liking dogs but Tosca is possibly the most docile creature I've seen.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nathaniel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews