We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
27
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working ostrich farm short drive tosca bedroom pool breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were fortunate enough to stay at Klipheuvel for two nights during October. The guest house is extremely comfortable and well situated just outside Oudtshoorn, away from the busy town with wonderful views of the Swartberg mountain range. Breakfasts are a treat and Laubscher went out of his way to take us on a most interesting tour of the farm. Would certainly highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeeGKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

We were extremely impressed with Kilpheuwel from start to finish. The place itself is a beautiful old Victorian style house built over a 100 years ago. It has been stylishly done up to keep its Victorian feel while offering every comfort of a luxury modern building. The rooms are separate to the main house and look onto the pool and then out over the beautiful surrounding farms and the large mountains in the distance. The view is stunning!

Our hosts Elmarie and Laubscher were so friendly and welcoming and had great suggestions of things to do in the area. We really enjoyed our dinner they suggested in town. The farm is an easy 5-10 minute drive form Oudtshoorn but you feel like you're in the middle of the Klein Karoo - very special indeed! The farm is also a fully operational ostrich farm which we found fascinating.

Breakfast was exceptional and was served outside on the deck with great views of the farm and surrounding area.

We will definitely be back when we're next in the area and can highly recommend Klipheuwel.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We stayed for two nights here and could easily have stayed longer. It's an extremely charming farm, the owners went above and beyond to make our stay special. We lucky enough to have a tour of the working Ostrich farm, extremely interesting.

The food was excellent , the addition of local dishes was a very nice touch, we just couldn't finish it but tried hard. The decor was really tasteful and the attention to detail was highly impressive. Elmarie recommended places for us to visit and booked restaurants for us which was really helpful.

The negative review we read is frankly bizarre , I'd be interested to know where these people usually stay! I understand not liking dogs but Tosca is possibly the most docile creature I've seen.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nathaniel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Elmarie and Laubscher are prefect hosts. They're kind and welcoming and give you an experience of a lifetime. We arrived extremely late in the night and it was too late for us to drive into town to grab something to eat but Elmarie, being the superb hostess she is, ensured we didn't go to bed without something to eat. Thank you guys for making our stay truly memorable. Our two day stay in Oudsthoorn was one of the best trips we've had in our travels. From the staff at the local pick n pay who always had smiles on their faces to the workers at the Safari Ostrich Farm, the hospitality experienced in this part of the country is truly amazing. Maybe Oudsthoorn should be the training camp for hospitality in South Africa. Thanks again to Laubscher and Elmarie. We really recommend you experience such hospitality for yourself. Oh and the breakfast at Klipheuwel was probably the best we've ever had. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rivonia1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

We traveled from Cape Town along Route 62 and decided to spend the night. Klipheuwel was my first choice, but read ONE 'bad' review, so decided against it and carried on looking. After phoning around etc. I decided to take the chance on Klipheuwel and we were so not disappointed. We were shown straight to our spacious, old world charm cottage and given time to settle. The owner asked us what we would like to drink and we sat outside breathing in the majestic views, while she made reservations at an award winning restaurant in town... Food to die for. The next morning, we were served a sumptuous breakfast feast, fit for Kings. The owner and family were helpful, pleasant and attentive to our needs. You would be doing yourself an injustice by not making a booking here, when next in Oudtshoorn.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Adohr-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews