We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great and Interesting Place”
Review of Smitswinkel

Smitswinkel
Ranked #24 of 52 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Cuisines: Deli, Cafe
Description: Farm Stall, Gift Shop, Bakery, Wine cellar,Coffee Shop, Restaurant , Pub&Grill, Large Kiddies Play park, Farm Setting, Accommodation
Restaurant details
Description: Farm Stall, Gift Shop, Bakery, Wine cellar,Coffee Shop, Restaurant , Pub&Grill, Large Kiddies Play park, Farm Setting, Accommodation
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Such a lovely place. Very interesting with the old bikes and cars. Food was amazing and the staff aer friendly. The shop is not that expensive to other farm stalls etc.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alettad555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018

On our way back from Knysna to De Rust we stopped for a quick drink and was pleasantly surprised by this interesting restaurant. At first glance the place looked a bit scruffy, cluttered with motor and bike memorabilia but it was obvious that it was also a well run restaurant. Since it was late afternoon and we had to get back to De Rust there was no time to eat even though the food that came from the kitchen looked amazing. We did however had time for a coffee and it was a really good cup of coffee...I will be back for more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Global498905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

With family we enjoyed lunch and initially when we walked in there were no patrons nor waiter to seat us. We chose our own table and finally a waitress took our order. The poor waitress apologized previously throughout as we were waiting quite a while for our food. It was not that busy thus to wait 45-60 min for your food is surely disappointing. My burger finally arrived and 15 min later the other food ( pizza) . The burger were over done however still tasty. According to the family and other orders the pizzas were great . . .

Thank LeonC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreclaassen, Manager at Smitswinkel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Leon
Thanks for the review! Our food is great as you say, sorry that when its very busy there might be a waiting period. Glad that the great food made up for it.

Regards
Smitswinkel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a good healthy meal this is not the place. Portions are massive and full of sauce. Very messy. If you order wine by the glass you will get a filled to the brim glass full of box wine. If you are into the pub type of food then this is for you. If you prefer fine dining or healthy food options then definitely not here.

Thank 381sascham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreclaassen, Manager at Smitswinkel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear 381sascham
We pride ourselves in the quality and big portions of great food we provide! We are not a health shop and don't pretend to be! If you looking for good food and value for money then come eat with us! We believe, rather a full glass then a halve glass, and we don't serve box wine!!
Regards
Smitswinkel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We stayed overnight in one of their nice comfy, clean bedrooms, with an excellent shower. Enjoyed drinks on the deck before going through to restaurant where we all enjoyed an excellent meal, big portions well priced. Just order standard ribs, more than enough, flavour to die for. Plenty parking, interesting shop, nice wine selection. There is plenty to see, escpecially a unique motorbike collection, along with a selection of split screen kombi’s. recommend unreservedly. Will visit again.

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreclaassen, Manager at Smitswinkel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear David
Thank you or the great review! We are trying to offer something for everyone, from old bikes to old Volkswagen's, a massive gift shop and big portions of amazing tasting food. We glad you enjoyed our accommodation on your travels. Hope to see you soon!

Regards
Smitswinkel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smitswinkel also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Smitswinkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing