We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun morning”

Highgate Ostrich Show Farm
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: It's true. Highgate is the world's oldest ostrich show farm. But it is a working farm too. So we don't do things for show. We give you the real African farm experience. Our guided tour takes approx. 75 minutes & an expert guide will show you our modern breeding methods, how the largest eggs of any living bird species are incubated, and see the hatching room. Experience the opportunity of hand feeding an Ostrich. Enjoy our Pepper Tree Restaurant! We take advantage ofour magnificent all-year round climate to set the tables under our ancient Peruvian pepper tree so the whole family dines al fresco-style while enjoying the great outdoors. Catch your breath and visit our shop selling only genuine, South African-made products, many of which are produced by our skilled staff on the farm using our own resources. From beautiful decoupage ostrich eggs to delicate ostrich leather products. We are situated 10km outside Oudtshoorn on the R328 road to Mossel Bay.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We took a guided tour which included holding ostrich chicks, seeing how ostrich feather and leather products are made, feeding ostriches, and the highlight was ostrich riding!
Our guide was very knowledgeable, and our kids really enjoyed the whole experience!

Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan K, General Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for this feedback and high score, we as team really appreciate this. Also thank you for visited Highgate , our guides are well informed by the day to day rules and regulations regarding the ostrich industry.

I hope to see you as family again!

Best regards

Johan
C0 -Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"baby ostriches"
in 43 reviews
"eggs"
in 103 reviews
"feather dusters"
in 19 reviews
"donkey cart"
in 15 reviews
"ostrich products"
in 18 reviews
"great fun"
in 26 reviews
"ostrich tour"
in 13 reviews
"great tour"
in 19 reviews
"life cycle"
in 6 reviews
"informative tour"
in 16 reviews
"ostrich steak"
in 15 reviews
"guest house"
in 7 reviews
"weight limit"
in 8 reviews
"great visit"
in 11 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 11 reviews
"ostrich leather"
in 11 reviews
"small group"
in 7 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had stayed at De Zeeko Farm which is just up the road so arrived early morning. We had a walk round before our tour started and my husband almost had his camera swallowed by an Ostrich - don’t get too close. Our guide was really informative and we got to hold the babies. Saw them making the Ostrich dusters, got to feed the big ones and then had ride on a donkey cart (healthy &safety eat your heart out) - you could drive - to the other side of the farm where you get to sit on an Ostrich and if you are under 75 kg you can actually ride one. It ended with two guys racing. It was a fun couple of hours. Thank you.

1  Thank SuenBrianSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan K, General Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Visitor

Thank you so much for this very beautiful feedback and high rating, we as team really appreciate this! I am glad you had some fun with us at Highgate, this is such a fantastic family outing, a must do when you visit Oudtshoorn which is the ostrich capital in the world.

Highgate Ostrich Farm is celebrating it's 80th birthday this year, the oldest and finest ostrich farm in South Africa!

Thank you for visiting Highgate, we are looking forward to welcome you and your friends again.

Best regards

Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A once in a lifetime experience. Doubt I will ever do anything like this again on my travels! Enjoyed holding a baby ostrich, feeding the adults and riding one! Worth the £10 admission.

1  Thank avril w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan K, General Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Avril

Thank you for visited Highgate, this great feedback and high score, we as team really appreciate this.

I am glad you had an enjoyable time with us.

Next time you must enjoy some of our delicious food at our Pepper tree Restaurant.

Best regards

Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We had a wonderful morning at Highgate Ostrich Farm : a very informative tour, a ride on a donkey cart and my son could sit on an ostrich and completed the experience with a delicious lunch.

Thank sunset1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan K, General Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Visitor

Thank you so much for this beautiful feedback and for visited us here at Highgate. I am glad you as family had an exciting day with us.

We are very proud of the excellence of our Peppertree Restaurant, our food is really something special and a must do! Please visit us again.

Regards

Johan Keller
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We managed to arrive in time for the final tour of the day. Jean lead the tour and he was very passionate and knowledgable about Ostrich farming.
The tour was a bit light on information though. How many ostrich are there on the farm? How long until they’re full grown? You get the idea... shame but that’s the only negative about our experience.
We both got to hold baby ostriches and feed the adults. My wife even got to ride one! That was seriously funny!
A great day out and good fun!

Thank MFC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan K, General Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Visitor

Thank you so much for this beautiful feedback and high rating. I have to apologist that Jean battled to answer some of your questions.I will spend some time with him tomorrow morning and make sure that he knows much more!

Your question regarding the quantity, it various from month to month, I think that is why he was not sure, but currently we have about 1000 slaughter birds in the feeding camps which is not part of the Highgate tour. We slaughter about 3000 birds per year. We have 32 breeding birds at Highgate. We also have 600 female and 400 male ostrich breeding birds. We are breeding +- 20000 eggs per year of which 75% hatches on site. It takes 12-14 months for a chick to be ready for slaughter purposes and the bird will weight 90kg +

We are looking forward to have you back ,I would like to tell you more!

Best regards

Johan Keller
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highgate Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Highgate Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing