We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and exciting”
other traveller has booked this property
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Lodge, with Swartberg Mountains
A comfy corner of the Lounge
Endangered Cape Mountain Zebra and foal
Diningroom
Karoo thorn tree, which the giraffe love to eat
Head in the clouds, your neighbours
Patio outside bedrooms
Pool with a view
Mountain scenery, for the energetic to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tricontin...
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and exciting”
Reviewed 2 March 2011 for a stay in December 2010

During December, wanting to escape the extremely cold weather in the USA, my adult daughter and I decided to visit a game reserve and experience Africa, but also wanted to be comfortable, safe & in a malaria free area.

I was concerned about driving , but the directions provided on the website were easy to follow and our small rental car had no trouble with the dirt roads, which are well maintained and easy to drive on. ( I learned later that the lodge also provides a pick up service if you would prefer not to drive yourself.)
The rooms were extremely comfortable with every possible need catered for. .At night Lechwe & Nyala slept on the lawns below our rooms, and one morning we awoke to Impala & Kudu bulls walking past.
Meals % atmosphere were superb and Monti and Nadine were wonderful hosts. Thank you! It was great to share experiences around the supper table with other guests. It felt as if we were visiting family, just we did not have to lift a finger. Our every whim was catered for.

On the first day it rained heavily(We thought we had escaped this weather) so we took the opportunity to visit the nearby Cango Caves in the morning. Worth a visit.

By afternoon the weather cleared up and we went on the first of many game drives (early morning, afternoon and a night drive). Nothing can describe the excitement of seeing abundant magnificent animals in such beautiful surroundings! It is a great pity the website can not give you a feel for the atmosphere of this magnificent lodge. We also took the opportunity to go on a guided quad bike ride. FUN! The reserve is home to the very rare & endangered Cape Mountain Zebra. What is truly unique is the fact that you can walk anywhere in the reserve in complete safety. We even tried our hand at Bass fishing, without luck. ( The other guests caught a couple of Bass)

Our photographs have already been the envy of our friends back home. Even more gratifying, was the abundant birdlife & the tranquillity of the reserve. Early evening the Swifts clouded the sky in their hunt for insects. We watched this phenomenon in awe. Photo opportunities are plentiful and you get very close to the game.

We highly recommend a visit ! We sincerely hope to be back soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter1953...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, personal service, space - and lots of it!”
Reviewed 27 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We spent one night at Swartberg Game Lodge, and it was a wonderful experience. Rooms beautifully appointed, large and airy. So much attention to detail. Our host and hostess were fantastic - warm welcome, good food and very informative on the game drive. Even though we had just come from Kruger National Park, the game drive was well worth while.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Colleagues
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grootebro...
grootebroek
1 review
“Great stay, we felt sorry to leave after 3 nights”
Reviewed 19 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and well decorated and with a spectacular view on the mountains. Monty and Nadine are great hosts and do everything to make your stay comfortable. We enjoyed the game drives and the food was delicious and presented very well. We hope to come back one day.
Cees and Rina
The Netherlands

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHSM_10
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 8 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I wanted to spend the last two nights of our one month honeymoon in South Africa in a game lodge within driving distance of Cape Town and were very happy to have found SPGL after having researched it and all the competition in the Western Cape. Having done several safaris up in Kruger beforehand we did not have high expectations of the game drives at SPGL, however they have a lot of game running around on the 2,000 hectar estate and over two days we did a very nice regular game drive, a quad bike drive and a guided fishing trip with the manager, Monty, and his son, Michael, and we all caught a few bass! The location of the lodge is stunning with the estate being surrounded by high mountains on all sides, our superior room was very large and comfortable and the food was absolutely first class, up there with the very best that we had during a long culinary stay in South Africa. Managers Nadine and Monty were exceptional and spent a lot of time with us, which we thoroughly enjoyed and made us feel privileged. All in all we can highly recommend this place as everything was perfect (but do not expect a Kruger style big 5 experience) and would love to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissi24...
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an indescribable place to be”
Reviewed 6 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

you must have seen this wonderful place to understand, how beautiful it is. It is difficult to describe it in words. We have never seen something like this before. Nadine and Monty made our stay unforgettable. We felt from the first second welcome. Our stay was to short but we are sure, we will come back!! Thanks a lot for this little dream :-) C & B from Germany

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing