We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
120
55
20
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
55
20
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ostrich egg bed dorm cango caves outdoor fire communal kitchen bicycle tour indoor pool swartberg pass stayed here for two nights common areas garden route great place to stay comfortable beds short stay fantastic stay breakfast and dinner klein karoo
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great Place to visit, also for parents travelling with teenagers. Very helpful and friendly staff, who enjoys socializing with their guests, and arranges evening braais. Useful advice for local activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geirovensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

A social complex with plenty of nooks and crannies that seems to do a decent trade with passing tour groups. We stayed a night too many but spent the extra day doing a really worthwhile day trip to Prince Albert (but you could easily stay a night here instead). Our room was on the very creaky side, the floorboards were quite noisy and spotty WiFi is only available in the common lounge which is fine. The communal kitchen is well equipped and the complementary ostrich egg was a nice touch. The in-house braai offers good value and would be a great way to get to know other backpackers. Unfortunately the night we did it, there was a big tour group who didn't seemed bothered to interact with those outside the group which was again fine. You can rent bikes from the hostel and have a variety of options in terms of places to be dropped off which is good fun for exploring.

I don't understand how/why the pool was full during a water crisis.

Some of the staff here are space cadets. We were given the wrong meeting time for the meerkats which is totally unacceptable given that we booked through the hostel and how the meerkat adventures is the flagship excursion in Oudtshoorn. It meant that we ended up doing the trip twice (one failed attempt and one eventually successful try) . This cock up would hijack any itinerary that only allowed one night here. As it happens, the weather on the morning of our second attempt was cold and chilly, and was anything but conducive to enticing meerkats our of their burrows. Obviously the meerkats are wild and do what they want, but the chances are that we would not have had to wait 2hours + in the cold had we done the trip the morning we had planned. When we came back to the hostel after missing the tour due to misinformation, the guy at reception was anything but helpful and refused to call on our behalf to rearrange. Despite saying he would get the manager to do so, nothing was done about it until I asked another person about the tour. That said, not all the staff were unhelpful nor unfriendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClareD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Well ventilated rooms, wide beds, warm bedding, plenty of bathrooms, a very nice common area with a huge fireplace and restaurant with great food (the ostrich braai is awesome!). What more can I say... Oh yes, and good coffee to go with the good breakfasts available!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Very charming place, as the style of buildings and also the service and the people make you experience real local culture. They organize some activities and "make-it-yourself" bike tours, which is a nice way to see surroundings and all local attractions at your own pace. The place has a bar where locals like to hang out as well

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Stayed in a lovely big dorm room with bigger than usual comfortable beds. So comfortable i slept until 10am for the first time im 2 months here in SA. Unfortunately I missed my booked trip due to this but tbe staff were ery understanding and let me do it the next day...even though there was only one of me...most places I stayed I missed out on trips for this reason but Paradise put the client first which was amazing!! Also lovely food and friendly people :-) would defo recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tracyeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews