We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly excellent!”

The Foodbarn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Noordhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 100
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At the Foodbarn Restaurant, we serve the food that Franck is famous for … delicious and decadent ‘fine-dining’ style food but in a super relaxed and characterful old barn.At the Deli during the day, you are invited into our ‘home-from-home’ by the tantalizing aroma’s of the fresh bread and the best coffee in the Valley, the uber friendly and caring service, chef Joccelyn’s delicious creations, and more.At night the Deli is transformed into a delightful tapas bar serving inspired dishes with amazing textures and flavours.Whichever Foodbarn you are in … we look forward to spoiling you
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Waitress Lesley made our stop especially memorable. Eclectic menu with beautiful wine pairings. Freshest, locally sourced extravagances.

A truly special remembrance of our trip to South Africa.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank dgwjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

After many years, you might expect standards to start slipping at the Foodbarn. And you would be so wrong. This past weekend we had a lunch for our wine club, with 17 guests attending. What an experience! Faultless service, and faultless food, all at a price that is incredible value for money. For a group this size, we were given six choices for starters, three for mains, and three for desserts. Even coping with different orders, the food came out like clockwork. Standouts for me were the tuna tartare, with mussel fritters, the mackerel starter, the main fish dish, as well as the pork belly, and the strawberry gratinee, with a tuile and butterscotch ice cream, which shot the lights out. Everybody in our group was raving about the incredibly high standard of all the dishes. For any foodie visiting Cape Town, make the pilgrimage. To miss out on the Foodbarn would be a very big mistake. Better cuisine, and much better value, than the trendy award winners. The Foodbarn just gets better and better. Unbelievable. I will be returning as often as I can. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_de_Bruin, Owner at The Foodbarn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

aaaaaghhhh ... music to our ears; thank you so much for your feedback! We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Having read the reviews of this establishment thought it a great choice for dinner while in Simon's Town.
We drove here but were very disappointed. We ordered swordfish as one of the entrees which the server suggested. It was overcooked and tough nothing like quality presentation we are used too. we have had swordfish many times over the years and this was the worst preparation.
Wish I had gone elsewhere as our evening was ruined by this poor dinner which we could not eat. After we expressed our displeasure they offered to redo the fish. Burned once .... no thanks.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jonjo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_de_Bruin, Owner at The Foodbarn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

I'm so sorry you had this experience; it is certainly not the norm as we have been getting rave reviews for this dish. I'm not sure why you chose not to have it redone; to not let a restaurant try and fix their mistakes and then complain on a public forum does not make sense at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We stopped here for lunch while on a day tour of the southern cape. Our server, Tina, was very attentive and the food was very good. We love the barn-like atmosphere. The surrounding area is also very scenic and we loved our drive through here.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_de_Bruin, Owner at The Foodbarn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Happy days; we are so glad you enjoyed our little slice of heaven in Noordhoek !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

I have been to food barn twice in the last year, the first time we chose the a la carte menu, the tuna tartare was a delicious starter, but our prawn starter lacked flavour. I had rack of lamb for main with a lamb samoosa and lamb jus, it had a great flavour. but was so rich and had no variety of flavour the jus was on the lamb and in samoosa, and the side (which you pay extra for are cooked in cream and butter) making it even more rich.

the second time we opted for the winter menu, which had a great selection of options. However my beer glass was extremely dirty and as I looked around the table at all of our cutlery and glassware I noticed that none of it had been polished or even checked if it was clean. Highly off putting.
I had a steak tartare that was once again bland, as was my main, dessert was alright but brought nothing to the meal.
overall dissapointing, especially considering the price. I really want to like this place but would only go after the menu gets and overhaul.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GregDLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_de_Bruin, Owner at The Foodbarn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us ... please keep us on your radar ... there are changes happening ... https://www.thefoodbarn.co.za/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foodbarn Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Foodbarn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing