We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
792
23
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ross bianca attention to detail chocolate covered strawberries owners suite garden route knysna lagoon owners and staff private balcony little touches our honeymoon knysna heads hill overlooking every evening boutique hotel dinner reservations south africa a wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Amazing hospitality, as good as a boutique 5 star hotel. Great touches such as open bar, turn down with chocs, amazing beds and general attention to detail. Beautiful artifacts and style and very large rooms and bathrooms. Superb friendly attentive staff who treat you well. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RLH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We were lucky to book the Spitkop suite again for our 2 day stay at Villa Afrikana.
Yet again, Rosso and Bianca have done an amazing job on maintaining the immaculate boutique hotel and staff.
From the moment we parked up we were treated like royalty by everyone, at all times.
The welcome cold, fragrant flannel was most appreciated after our five hour journey, but to be honest, the only reason we travelled to Knysna was to stay at Villa Afrikana again.
Everything about the hotel was just first class- the attention to detail with all the fixtures and fitting, outside planting and seating was just perfect.
No stone was left unturned- I am sure Bianca would have seen if it was!
They have successfully built another wonderful guest house opposite and we were kindly given a personal tour by Bianca who is obviously and understandably proud of their next project, which enhances Villa Afrikana even more.
Daily there is afternoon tea offered, with complimentary drinks from 7 to 8.
Our time by the pool was also attended superbly, with cold scented flannels offered at regular intervals( it was 37 degrees and much appreciated)
Our breakfast again was perfectly cooked and served, but the highlight for us was just eating a delicious cheese platter on our terrace and drinking in the wonderful vista of Knysna lagoon.
To all the team at Villa Afrikana, a huge thank you for letting us share a little of your paradise and we wish you all the best with your new venture.

Room Tip: Spitkop suite is the best!
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NobbyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Everything was perfect! Lovely staff and owners. Quiet, and lovely view over Knysna. The interior is fantastic! Best service ever! The breakfast just outside your room was excellent. This is a must if you go to Knysna.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Wow, what can I say. A truly delightful place to stay. Great location, wonderful rooms, exceptional service, the list of superlatives could go on!

A wonderful stylish villa with superb suites. We stayed in the Materolli suite for 2 nights and slightly preferred it to the Phantom suite which we had for 1 night but that’s being overly picky. All rooms are exquisite. The staff can’t do enough for you and the small touches and thoughts are just wonderful, which even included cleaning our car one day. Breakfast is beautifully prepared and it’s lovely to sit leisurely and take in the views. We will be back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vinny-The-Kid-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

My husband and I stayed here, at the Gouna Suite, for 4 nights in late December during our South Africa tour. We travel a lot all over the world and this was by far the best boutique hotel we ever stayed in. The whole property is beautifully decorated. Our luxurious 5+++ suites was spacious, spotless with amazing views of the lagoon and the heads. The staff was extremely friendly and helped us tremendously with last minute booking of activities and restaurants. Breakfasts, served at our private balcony, were a treat and a great start for our days here. Everything was very fresh, well flavored and beautifully presented. We felt the perfect attention to details from early morning. When we returned to our suite in the evenings we always found fresh new flowers and different surprises: Chocolates, fresh fruits, liquor, a bottle of wine, and more. We would go back to South Africa just to stay and relax in Villa Afrikana. Many thanks to the owners, Rossano and Bianca, and to their great staff: Ona, Beauty, Lovemore, Talent, and the rest of the staff, for making our stay so incredible

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view but better to stay on the upper floors
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank obflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews