We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Accommodation in Knysna”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Carpe Diem House

Characterful with friendly cosy flat. Bedroom en-suite, with private lounge/ kitchenette and veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Characterful with friendly cosy flat. Bedroom en-suite, with private lounge/ kitchenette and veranda
Historic Knysna cottage - in original oak-lined avenue.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Characterful with friendly cosy flat. Bedroom en-suite, with private lounge/ kitchenette and veranda
Historic Knysna cottage - in original oak-lined avenue.
A place to relax, unwind and enjoy the beauty and adventures of the Garden Route.
Private lounge with comfortable sleeper couch (double bed size)
lounge
Self catering options available
Fully stocked kitchenette with cookware
Two plate oven combination. Kettle, toaster, microwave oven, fridge and washing area
lounge with TV (Digital satellite TV)
We welcome all travelers
bedroom with en-suite shower and toilet.
Extra long Queen size bed. Best quality mattress to guarantee quality and relaxing sleeping.
cosy bed
Treats for guests
En-suite shower and toilet
Our motto
Entrance to veranda and front door.
Front door in veranda
Outside veranda.
Very safe and secure
veranda
veranda
indigenous plants
street view from veranda
Street view of neighbourhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Karin L
1 review
“Accommodation in Knysna”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Beautiful, well-equipped apartment within walking distance from main attractions in Knysna. Owners also very friendly and helpful to recommend places to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thank you for the kind review Karin - we enjoyed your visit and you seemed determined to explore as much of Knysna on foot. Well done. You were great guests
Lex and Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen W
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly lovely apartment”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful and quaint apartment, all the extra touches were greatly appreciated. There was some water and milk in the fridge as well as a chocolate with the towels awaiting our arrival. Very warm welcome from the owners and we couldn't fault any of it. We had a very short but wonderful stay here and now comes highly recommended from us. We would definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erefaan A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Two minute walk from Knysna CBD. Very accommodating hosts. All the basic amenities you'll need and off street parking.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thanks Erefaan.
It was a pleasure hosting your family.
Regards
Lex and Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masimba
New York
1 review
“Best place to stay in Knysna!”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We loved everything about this place. Lex and Michelle are wonderful hospitable hosts. Take their advice on everything! You won't regret it. The Carpe Diem house itself, is clean, with comfortable beds, beautiful and cool art and decor, very efficient WiFi, secure parking, and everything you need for self catering if you need it. The house is walking distance to the main street and a short drive to the Heads and waterfront restaurants, so a very convenient location. Wish we had more time to stay here longer, but I definitely hope to stay here again on my next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Couldn't have asked for anything more
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Danayi and Sanbula, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You are the perfect guests and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry W
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasant”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Made welcome by Lex & Michelle on arrival. They spent time to explain local attractions + places to eat.
We were a group of 4. The apartment had 1 double bedroom with an ensuite. Our friends had the convertible lounge/bed in the main area with separate toilet facilities.
Dining, cooking area was adequate with tea, coffee, biscuits provided.
Off street, secure parking.
All listed facilities on their booking site were correct & in good condition.
They were always friendly & helpful.
Location was quiet, central & shops close by.
Lex loaned me his wetsuit & fins which allowed me to swim in the cold water at the bay entrance with a wild sea otter for an hour. Highlight of my stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing