We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people, and abo e all great wine!”

Sumaridge Wine Estate
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018

On a sunday afternoon, this march, we dropped by at Sumaridge wine estate.. stayed longer then planned that day, Such a nice place.. great staff, we were also honored meeting the lady of the house... charming, also very nice lunch... nice wine indeed,
Great Zuid Afrikaans experience

1  Thank Jabbedabedoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the kitchen"
in 10 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 11 reviews
"hemel en aarde valley"
in 13 reviews
"food platters"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful location"
in 9 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 10 reviews
"great platter"
in 3 reviews
"staff were so friendly"
in 2 reviews
"superb tasting"
in 2 reviews
"balcony overlooking"
in 2 reviews
"surrounded by mountains"
in 2 reviews
"every amenity"
in 2 reviews
"idyllic place"
in 2 reviews
"we sat inside"
in 2 reviews
"amazing setting"
in 3 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"tasting room"
in 8 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stunning setting, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, best champagne! The menu is restricted to very basic cheese platters, but it was good and affordable. You need to visit Sumaridge for the wine and relaxed atmosphere. Would not suggest a visit if you are only looking for a good meal. Really enjoyed our outing at Sumaridge. Will definitely return when visiting Hermanus again.

Thank cindylrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSumaridge, Owner at Sumaridge Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We don't pretend to be a restaurant - just a tasting room that offers tasty platters! We are blessed with wonderful wines (Wayfarer is one of my favourites!), lovely staff and great views. Please do come back and see us again and as Lorraine always says "linger longer'!

Many thanks again.
Kind regards,
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

What an incredibly special place - The setting and views are like no other. We spent such a wonderful afternoon basking in the sunshine on the terrace overlooking the lake, grazing on the most delicious tasting boards, and tasting the stunning wines of the estate. The team at Sumaridge were fantastic, we look forward to visiting it again some day! In the meantime, we will have our Sumaridge wine delivery to the UK to look forward to. Highly recommend visiting this wonderful South African treasure.

Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSumaridge, Owner at Sumaridge Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Emma,
What a lovely review. Thank you! We are truly blessed with jaw dropping views, lovely, friendly and knowledgable staff AND wonderful wines! I do hope that you can come and see us again and as dear Lorraine always says "linger longer"!

Thank you again for taking the trouble to write.
Kind regards,
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

There is no real need to dwell upon the views, the setting or the hospitality as other reviews have captured this in better language than I could ever use. I was a member of a large group that descended upon MrsSumaridge and her wonderful staff on a late afternoon in mid March. Having visited two other venues in the afternoon it seems that we saved the best for our last visit of the day. The tables were filled with delicious food which was coupled with a variety of (generous) Sumaridge wine tastings. We watched the sun go down with credit cards in hand to enable us to remember this day at home (for me in the UK) with a glass of delicious Maritimus or Epitome in hand. Do not miss this South African treat.

Thank iratenerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSumaridge, Owner at Sumaridge Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Your lovely review has made me smile from ear to ear! Not just because it is such a great review, but because you were one of the nicest groups of people I have ever met! I do so hope that either together, or separately, you come to visit us again. Please consider our home your home.

With kindest regards and happy memories
Mrs Sumaridge (also known as Holly)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We decided to call at Sumaridge,whilst staying in Hermanus and we were glad we did. The setting is perfect, with the tasting area ideal. Our platter comprising of fish, cheese and fruit was excellent and the wines were delicious and in fact the best we have tasted whilst in South Africa. We bought 3 bottles of the Syrah 2013 and given the news that we could order a case of wines, at SA prices and have them delivered in the UK at no extra cost. So we did just that and the case arrived today. Highly recommended.

Thank Taff1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSumaridge, Owner at Sumaridge Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - but far more importantly for taking the time to come and visit our little slice of heaven on earth! We are truly blessed with our wines, our views and our lovely staff.

Delighted to know that your UK delivery arrived as promised. I hope it brings back happy memories and encourages you to return.

Kind regards,
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumaridge Wine Estate also viewed

 
Hermanus, Overstrand
 

Been to Sumaridge Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing