We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #30 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We selected Cliff Cottage at random for the first two nights of our stay in SA. How lucky was that? A convenient drive from CPT, spacious room, wonderful hosts, ideal location, good value. Local scenery, walks, restaurants and bars added to a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay at Cliff Cottage and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments. It is nice to know that the first two nights of your holiday in South Africa were enjoyable here in Hermanus and that we contributed to your memorable trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    52
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
152
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampton middlesex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here with my sister and good friend.The cottage is in a great location to explore Hermanus! Dot and Chuck were great hosts and shared their wealth of local knowledge with us so we tried some good bars, lovely restaurants and fantastic beaches!!!!! Our rooms were clean and spacious and nothing was too much trouble for all visitors. Would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your great review on TripAdvisor. Dot and really appreciate your kind comments and it's satisfying to know that we helped to make your stay in Hermanus a memorable one. Hopefully we will see you here again some day..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Have stayed several times at Cliff Cottage but this is our first review there. Chuck and Dot maintain a high standard and make all their guests feel welcome. Room rates are very reasonable especially by Hermanus standards and the location by the cliff path is a bonus for a walk into town. Chucks suggestion of a visit to the the local Saturday market was a great success so we spent some time there.We followed this with a trip to the Hemel Valley to sample the local wineries so all in all a very pleasant 2 night stopover with Chuck and Dot. We shall look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments. It's always good to see guests returning to Cliff Cottage and I think you must be our most frequent visitors. We look forward to meeting up with you again in Hermanus next year (if not sooner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
201 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend on our first night in South Africa a few weeks ago. We were in the cottage behind the house and it was absolutely lovely - very pretty, spacious, comfortable bed and absolutely spotless with total privacy as it's outside the main house. I can't recommend this highly enough - it's absolutely brilliant value for money!

The owners are absolutely lovely and will very happily go out of their way to help with organisation/recommendations for local restaurants and things to do. They clearly put a lot of work into the B&B and it really shows through in the lovely room and delicious breakfast.

It's a bit of a walk into town (about 10-15 minutes), but I'd really recommend this spot - it's right on the coastal pathway which is truly stunning, so it makes those 10-15 minutes anything other than a chore - you'll be glad for them! It's also away from the hustle and bustle which is nice as we were told that Hermanus can be extremely busy at certain points of the year.

Would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Hermanus.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage behind the main house and loved it - plenty of space and lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurelG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly valued and appreciated........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staying two nights was not enough, Hermanus is a lovely town with great walks, beaches, restuarants etc. (although we were the youngest people there by 40 years +).
Cliff Cottage is a peaceful hideaway on the edge of the town, we had the Garden Cottage which is a lovely spacious room, great bathroom with roll top bath, brilliant shower and garden seating. Dot & Chuck really are great hosts - best breakfast we had! We would recommend this to any one looking for a quaint & simple rest, we are well travelled & fussy, living is London we tend to go high end but Cliff Cottage really was the best choice for Hermanus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in lovely Hermanus and that you feel you made the right choice in selecting Cliff Cottage for your accommodation. We really appreciate you posting this review on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
4.7 km away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#14 of 86 in Hermanus
313 reviews
0.7 km away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
2.0 km away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
641 reviews
0.1 km away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#23 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
3.8 km away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Property: Cliff Cottage
Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price range (per night): $82 - $143
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing