We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fancourt(George)
USD 236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua(George)(Great Value!)
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edenwood House(George)(Great Value!)
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 107
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa(George)(Great Value!)
USD 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 76
USD 61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aziza Guest House(George)(Great Value!)
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
28
39
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
39
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassive fireplacehotel georgecalamaridinner menuvery nice hotelsleeper couchwalking distancecooked breakfastrooms are cleanenjoyed my staystay there againon arrivalgarden routebathurstloftsuppershower
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I went to George on a business trip and made a reservation at Oakhurst Hotel for me and a colleague. Upon arrival they couldn't find our booking and after further investigation it came to light that they took down all our contact details WRONG. Our booking was cancelled, after capturing literally each and every contact detail wrong, because they couldn't get hold of us to confirm the booking. They were fully booked and we had no place to stay. Absolutely shocking, IT IS A NO GO!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Cobus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Dear Cobus

This review is very upsetting because you gave the WRONG information on Tripadvisor.

Please allow us to give our side of the story. When you made the booking you requested an invoice and Reception informed you that we could only issue the invoice the following day and you said that you would send a mail to request the invoice. We are still waiting for that request.

However after our conversation we realized we were fully booked on the night you requested accommodation. Immediately after realizing that we tried to contact you to informed you that we were fully booked. Without succeeding to reach you via cell or email (which you confirmed on arrival was the correct contact information).

While we were waiting for your invoice request we phoned for alternative accommodation to accommodate you for that evening. On your arrival we informed you that we were full and provided you with the alternative accommodation that we sourced for you. Not sure if you made use of that alternative accommodation as you mentioned that you had no place to stay.

We do apologize for any misunderstanding. Oakhurst Hotel strive to give the best possible service to our guests.

Kindest regards
Janita van Biljoen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Situated right in the commercial centre of George this hotel is an atmospheric thatched Cape building with an intricate array of wooden beams running through the whole structure and visible. The rooms are well appointed, although when the hotel is busy, can be quite noisy due to the open structure of the historic building. The staff are charming and the restaurant, which only serves dinner on Mondays-Thursdays is good and very reasonably priced. For other nights and other eating options there are several very good restaurants nearby. The tranquility of the building and it's surroundings are felt most during the daytime and there is a pleasant garden area around a pool for sitting in.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Richard Deering

Thank your very much for your positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Janita van Biljoen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

staff were incredibly friendly and really made me feel at home. I travel alone most of the times and they made me feel like it was home away from home. I will recommend them anytime!
Thank You

Mrs Phaal and Dr Green

Room Tip: best rooms are the one's leading to the garden
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zeldaphaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Mrs Phaal & Dr Green

Thank your very much for the great review regarding our staff friendliness. Glad your stay with us felt so close to home. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Janita van Biljoen & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

You really feel well cared for at the Oakhurst. The hotel has friendly, helpful staff that really make you feel that nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. They put our friends in the room directly opposite us, which was thoughtful of them. Offered to light the fire for us when we watched the rugby in the lounge. It was a very pleasant stay. So much so that we have already booked a room over Xmas. Thank you Oakhurst Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Dear Brenda

Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. We always strive to be very helpful and friendly towards our guests. I will pass the feedback to all the staff members and that in return will make them feel very proud. Looking forward welcoming you back in December. Best wishes till then.

Kindest Regards
Janita van Biljoen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I was very surprised at what a nice experience this was.

A little disappointed that the AC would not turn off COLD and turn on the heat. I wanted to just warm the room slightly before retiring but even with the AC set at 30 degrees C it continued to pump out air at 15 degrees C. However this was not that much of an issue

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLC_4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. Thank you as well for bringing the problem with the AC under our attention. I can reply that it is now in good working condition, sorry for the inconvenience. However we are glad that you had a surprising stay.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Janita van Biljoen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews