We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sigh!”
Review of Oakhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakhurst Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I've stayed at Oakhurst many times over the past few years and find the general staff quite friendly, helpful and willing.
Anyways, my most recent visit, I checked in and was told the ground floor room I booked in advance is no longer available. I was moved to an upstairs room which I dreaded because the thatch roof makes the room smell musty AND it irritates my sinusitis. The sleeper couch in the upstairs section has also not been cleaned up since the previous night and the towels felt like fine sandpaper. This was reported to reception who promptly replied "Ok" - then add to it the little worms that kept falling from the thatch ceiling onto my bed at any given time. My email to reservations@oakhursthotel.co.za on 30th October is yet to be acknowledged.

Room Tip: Any room on ground floor on the pool side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yumi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear Youmnah

Thank you for your review. However please allow us to respond to some of your inaccurate comments.
According to your booking reservation, no specific room was mentioned as a request on the ground floor. There was no confirmed ground floor room allocated to you, there for you were not moved upstairs, but simply allocated to the best available room at the time and unfortunately it was up stairs as the rest of the Hotel was fully booked. In the hospitality business we classify advance bookings much longer than 3 days in advance as you made your reservation only 3 days before arrival.
Reservation received a e-mail from you on the 30th October which was escaladed to me on the same day and I replied straight away regarding the following issues: hard towels and worms falling from the ceiling. As per my e-mail I informed you that I addressed the issues at hand. We find it quite distracting that you posted the issue regarding the sleeper couch on Tripadvisor. Yet there was no mention about the sleeper couch in your e-mail addressed to reservations.
We were under the impression that this matter was solved after my respond to your e-mail on 30 October assuring you that the matters was addressed - only to discover that you still went and posted this on Tripadvisor that your e-mail was never acknowledged.

Kindest regards
Janita van Biljoen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I went to George on a business trip and made a reservation at Oakhurst Hotel for me and a colleague. Upon arrival they couldn't find our booking and after further investigation it came to light that they took down all our contact details WRONG. Our booking was cancelled, after capturing literally each and every contact detail wrong, because they couldn't get hold of us to confirm the booking. They were fully booked and we had no place to stay. Absolutely shocking, IT IS A NO GO!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Cobus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Dear Cobus

This review is very upsetting because you gave the WRONG information on Tripadvisor.

Please allow us to give our side of the story. When you made the booking you requested an invoice and Reception informed you that we could only issue the invoice the following day and you said that you would send a mail to request the invoice. We are still waiting for that request.

However after our conversation we realized we were fully booked on the night you requested accommodation. Immediately after realizing that we tried to contact you to informed you that we were fully booked. Without succeeding to reach you via cell or email (which you confirmed on arrival was the correct contact information).

While we were waiting for your invoice request we phoned for alternative accommodation to accommodate you for that evening. On your arrival we informed you that we were full and provided you with the alternative accommodation that we sourced for you. Not sure if you made use of that alternative accommodation as you mentioned that you had no place to stay.

We do apologize for any misunderstanding. Oakhurst Hotel strive to give the best possible service to our guests.

Kindest regards
Janita van Biljoen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Situated right in the commercial centre of George this hotel is an atmospheric thatched Cape building with an intricate array of wooden beams running through the whole structure and visible. The rooms are well appointed, although when the hotel is busy, can be quite noisy due to the open structure of the historic building. The staff are charming and the restaurant, which only serves dinner on Mondays-Thursdays is good and very reasonably priced. For other nights and other eating options there are several very good restaurants nearby. The tranquility of the building and it's surroundings are felt most during the daytime and there is a pleasant garden area around a pool for sitting in.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Richard Deering

Thank your very much for your positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Janita van Biljoen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

staff were incredibly friendly and really made me feel at home. I travel alone most of the times and they made me feel like it was home away from home. I will recommend them anytime!
Thank You

Mrs Phaal and Dr Green

Room Tip: best rooms are the one's leading to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zeldaphaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Mrs Phaal & Dr Green

Thank your very much for the great review regarding our staff friendliness. Glad your stay with us felt so close to home. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Janita van Biljoen & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

You really feel well cared for at the Oakhurst. The hotel has friendly, helpful staff that really make you feel that nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. They put our friends in the room directly opposite us, which was thoughtful of them. Offered to light the fire for us when we watched the rugby in the lounge. It was a very pleasant stay. So much so that we have already booked a room over Xmas. Thank you Oakhurst Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Dear Brenda

Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. We always strive to be very helpful and friendly towards our guests. I will pass the feedback to all the staff members and that in return will make them feel very proud. Looking forward welcoming you back in December. Best wishes till then.

Kindest Regards
Janita van Biljoen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.9 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
512 reviews
11.4 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
752 reviews
0.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Hotel

Address: Cnr Meade & Cathedral Streets | PO Box 9416, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $83 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhurst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakhurst Hotel - “ Urban tranquility in the heart of George. “The ideal location to explore the rest of the Garden Route. Oakhurst Hotel is stylish, deliberately small and exclusive suited to both leisure and business travelers alike. The thatched gabled hotel facing the Outeniqua Mountains, offers 25 Designer- decorated rooms, all with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. All the rooms are complemented with modern amenities to please even the most discerning traveler. Disabled facilities. Outdoor swimming pool. The restaurant is open for breakfast, light luncheons and snacks. Lounge with large farmhouse fireplace. Ladies bar. Secure open parking. Wireless internet. Oakhurst boasts a unique dining experience, with a choice of several restaurants, all located in the immediate vicinity. “The meeting place in the centre of George” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Oakhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing