We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
98
21
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
21
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric housebeautiful gardentea and biscuitsdecorated roomsantique furnishingsgarden routequiet neighborhoodattention to detaillook no furtherguest housescrumptious breakfastperfect hostsexcellent accommodationevery morningwestern capetop classa great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fairview Historic Homestead on 21 and 22 December. From arrival and seeing the absolutely beautiful gardens to leaving after one of the best guest house breakfasts ever, we were totally thrilled by the venue & our hosts. The gorgeous antique furniture and individually decorated rooms full of the owners' personal knick knacks made you feel like you're in an Edwardian movie - without any of the stiffness associated with the era though! Our stay was easy, relaxing and professional, with all the personal touches you would expect and more. One tiny niggle which may have to be pointed out for some travellers is that our downstairs bedroom, although beautifully appointed with everything you want, did not have a door between the bedroom and the bathroom. Luckily we had a stunning private patio right outside our room, where one could sit outside with a cup of coffee whilst one's partner did the neccessary! (Just to stress that this didn't worry us much, but I know people for whom this would be totally unacceptable!). All in all, would stay over again in a flash, loved every minute - and thanks to Philda and Des for all the advice, their kindness and for picking up my cell phone, which I had carelessly left lying around. (Shows you how homely this place is - you feel like just leaving your stuff all over the place!)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownCobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Wonderful old Georgian homestead, nestled under the mountain in George.
Philda was such a gracious hostess , the home so tastefully furnished with such attention to detail. Wonderful breakfasts at the poolside with a super view of the mountain.
Great evening drinks and chats at the fireside with her and her husband Desmond , who is such an interesting gentleman who spends hours scratching around in his beautiful garden, and despite the drought has managed to keep it all going !
This was not our first visit and will not be our last !
At our request, Philda cooked us a really great dinner aswell.
A truly special experience and looking forward to returning !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Beautiful, historic home, stunning gardens, delicious food, gracious hosts! What more could one want?

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwendie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Spacious room and the house has lovely gardens. Breakfast was brlliant.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lol48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed at Fairview for 1 night passing through George. We were greeted warmly by Dadi who gave us great tips on things to see and do and who had kindly arranged dinner for us next door (thanks Charlene and Albert!) after a long day of travelling. The room was fabulous – lovely wooden floors and furnishings, enormous comfortable bed and beautiful shutters on the windows. We were served a lovely breakfast in the morning before having to move on to our next destination. We definitely recommend this as the place to stay in George if you like romantic, old-world charm and friendly service. Thanks Dadi!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerkat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews