We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
USD 415
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 392
View deal
Booking.comUSD 445
travelup.com
PricelineUSD 433
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
525
54
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
525
54
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course wine tasting tapas premier room round of golf cape town sauvignon blanc beautiful estate excellent restaurant hotel guests wonderful hotel first class impeccable service cape dutch south africa attention to detail a real treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2021

An incredible day at a fantastic vineyard!

My girlfriend and I visited Steenberg and had the most amazing time, a breakfast in the Bistro started things off with breath taking views across the impeccably kept gardens looking out onto the mountain range behind. Brioche and honey-butter syrup to start accompanied with a glass of sparkling wine followed by a sumptuous breakfast of eggs benedict and royale! We were made to feel like family with very attentive staff always wearing a warm smile.

A hotel shuttle then picked us up and took us to the spa where we had couples massage in the scented garden, I can highly recommend doing this, not being a massage person this has certainly changed everything!
Once the massage was over my girlfriend headed back to the Spa for a facial and I was able to relax by the lovely swimming pool listening to the bird song.

Lunch was next with a table at the restaurant Tryn, very hard to fault anything about it with a superb menu and wine list! The staff throughout the whole of Steenberg are so friendly and really make you feel like you are at home.
Overall it was an incredible experience and a day we won’t forget in a very long time. For anyone looking and deciding on a vineyard to visit in Cape Town that has everything this is the only one you need to know about. Thank you to everyone at Steenberg for such an unforgettable day!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charleswJ3675XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine Schulze, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear Charles,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your day with us at Steenberg Hotel & Spa.

It was lovely that you experienced so many of the aspects we hope every visitor gets to enjoy here at Steenberg: our relaxing spa, both restaurants and our friendly and welcoming staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again soon.

Warm regards,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2021

A Cape Dutch jewel that leaves no wishes unfulfilled. First class in every aspect: fabulous spacy clean and modern suites, highest level cuisine, top wine range, fantastic golf course, breathtaking environment and the most charming staff of very competent people. I give 100 points!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62frankv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine Schulze, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2021

Dear Frank,

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel and the team! Your review captures the essence of our beautiful property, its heritage and the many wonderful entities we have on the farm. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return!

Best wishes,
Catherine




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Steenberg Hotel and Spa was an experience like none other! The friendliness and politeness of the staff was matched by the superb, considered and warm accommodation. I was warmly welcomed and was treated with such sincerity for my entire stay.
The room was world class with consideration to details that make you fall in love with the place.
The signature restaurant Tryn, I rate amount the top in the region with fine dining and a wine list that makes it an amazing experience.
I also highly recommend the spa, tranquil, peaceful and exactly what one needs on a quick or long term stay.
I will definitely be heading back.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C5831JOjustinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine Schulze, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

Dear Justin,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It was a true delight hosting you and it is wonderful reading how much you enjoyed your experience of the Hotel & Spa.

I hope you have started planning your return visit, while sipping on some of your favourite Steenberg wines you purchased while with us!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary by escaping to the Steenberg Hotel. And boy was it an escape - quiet, peaceful and delightful! To our surprise we were upgraded to a superior room! Beautifully appointed large room with the smallest of thoughtful interior touches, which when combined, were just joyous to take in.

There’s lots to do on the farm - spent some time at the spa; went cycling around the vineyards; enjoyed the wine tasting (which was part of our package); ventured to the different restaurants on the grounds for our meals; played a round of golf at the course adjacent to the hotel….

Every aspect of the trip and our stay was lovely. This is one hotel that we’d definitely like revisit.

A special thank you to Tracey (who was super welcoming), Kamiela, Helen and Wesley for the warm hospitality.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GabiLMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine Schulze, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

Dear Gabi,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Anniversary celebration with us at the Steenberg Hotel and Spa!

It was lovely that you experienced so many of the aspects we hope every visitor gets to enjoy while with us: our relaxing spa, both Tryn and Bistro Sixteen82 restaurants, golf and our friendly and welcoming staff. We are pleased that our room availability allowed us to upgrade you for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again soon.

Best wishes,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2021

Steenberg hotel and spa really knows how to make their guests feel at home. From the moment we arrived, we were treated almost like family come home. The lady that showed us to our villa, Nolene, did such an excellent job that I had no doubt where everything in the house was. It was also such a lovely treat on a cool evening to come in and find that a fire had been lit in the lounge and the underfloor heating switched on throughout.

We were exceptionally lucky with the weather and had spectacular views wherever we went on the farm. The lady that presented our wine tasting of the Flagship Range at Bistro 1682, Chanel, had an encyclopaedic knowledge of both the farm history and the wines, which combined to make the experience unforgettable. This, coupled with the fact that we took the 16:30 setting and had the sun climbing down the sky behind the mountains during the tasting, giving the beautiful tasting room a warm glow.

We had a lovely tapas dinner at the restaurant as well, and I can strongly recommend the beef tataki and the delicious chocolate dessert served with the salted caramel ice cream. The dessert really was a show-stopper as nothing was particularly sweet and yet rounded out the meal perfectly. The view of the lights of the Constantia valley on the clear evening when we returned to the hotel was the figurative cherry on top.

We woke up to the incredible view below from our bedroom the next morning with the sound of birds in the trees. The California king beds are a sumptuous luxury, with pillows and linens to match. Lounging around in a fluffy robe after a hot shower just enhanced the feeling of being on a cloud. We finished off our stay with a delicious breakfast at Tryn (with the most perfectly poached eggs that I have ever eaten!) and a short walk around the farm before heading out.

My only complaint about my stay is that it wasn't longer. I encourage the friendly and welcoming staff at the estate to keep up the great work. You are a credit to the Constantia valley, Cape Town, and South Africa overall.

Room tip: A view over the gold course and vineyards gives incredible views and lovely privacy
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandallPaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine Schulze, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Dear Mr Paton,

Your review was wonderful to read, you captured the true essence of all our offerings at Steenberg!

Thank you for your lovely feedback in regards to the team, location and your appreciation for our beautiful gardens. I will most certainly share this with all involved.

We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back once again soon.

Warm regards,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews