We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel and wonderful service”
Review of 2Inn1 Kensington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
2Inn1 Kensington
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2015

As a frequent traveller I use Tripadvisor a lot to find good hotels and restaurants, so when I had to visit Cape Town on business, this is where I started. Usually when I travel on business I need to stay in large, international-chain, hotels. And they are almost always boring, face-less, impersonal and characterless. But this time I decided to take a bit of a risk and try something smaller and more 'personal'.
And I'm really glad I did. 2Inn1 is absolutely NOT like these big chain hotels. Super friendly, efficient, professional, and all the other good things that others have written in their reviews. There is really nothing to criticise, and lots to praise. Perhaps what the 2Inn1 team should offer is training to these big hotels - teach them how to give good service, and provide a comfortable and relaxing stay, while still making sure everything runs perfectly.
I stayed in a Deluxe room, and it was really great - comfortable, quiet, big, with its own balcony, etc. Everything is spotlessly clean and works.
Basically it's like being at home, but better because they organise and do everything for you ;-)
So, if you are considering a change from a big-chain brand hotel, then try 2Inn1... support this team of energetic and helpful people, and have a great, relaxing time too.
But of course this is a small hotel, with friendly people. If you want impersonal service and anonymity, then go big. If you want small, comfy, clean, efficient, happy - then go small.
What I would say is that ideally you need to be on holiday here. If you need to work a lot in your room, then give it some thought, because that's not really the core-market for 2Inn1. You could work by the pool, or in the comfy sitting room, or the restaurant, or even on the balcony, but that's not why you would stay here. It's a bit of a waste to want/need to work here.
You want to sit by the pool and drink sundowners, and plan your next day trip. Or take that extra cup of coffee while you read the newspaper. Be on vacation. Relax.
I would also say that this hotel is best enjoyed with your partner/spouse/mistress - the romantic, peaceful, quiet, stay. I don't see this hotel full of screaming kids splashing in the pool and jumping all over the furniture. Definitely not. Peace and quiet is the theme.
But for you, the 2Inn1 team can help you plan your itinerary, and then make it happen.
On a practical level, 2Inn1 is not in the city centre, you do need to take taxis if you don't have your own car. But they are cheap in Cape Town. Variable prices, but overall cheap. For example, the range of prices is from ZAR 40 to ZAR 88 (€3-7) each way from/to the hotel and the V & A Waterfront, where the shops and restaurants are. It takes about 10 minutes. Do pick up some landmarks though to help the drivers as they sometimes don't know the way. The 2Inn1 team will book the taxis for you, and they even gave me a local phone to use during the stay - with taxi and useful numbers pre-programmed in.
In case you wondered where the hotel is, it's just below the foot of Table Mountain, not far from the cable-car station.
What else? In general, do be aware that there are regular power cuts of +/- 2 hours out there, some are announced a little in advance, others not at all. Whole districts are blacked out, even the traffic lights - which makes driving interesting at night. But this lack of electricity will affect Wi-Fi and networks, so if you need to be online 24x7, make sure you have generator backup at your hotel.
Also, take care with security. There's lots of visible policing in the city centre, but according to some locals, that has pushed a lot of the crime out into the suburbs. Don't leave anything in your car. Don't carry too much of value. Stay in safe areas. Don't fall for the "hey man, nice shoes" trick - because either he or his friends will be picking your pocket while you're being distracted.
But all that is another subject. I enthusiastically recommend staying at 2Inn1. For sure you will be well taken care of and 'forced' to relax. So, go with it. Have fun.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room - a Deluxe room, with a balcony. Room to spread out and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BobD1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2015

From the moment we searched online for a less traditional hotel/holiday accommodation in Cape Town we were intrigued by the amazingly positive reviews posted on trip advisor for 2Inn1. Seldom (if ever) had we read 100% positive reviews. Hours have been spent reviewing hundreds of positive reviews only to be put off by a handful of negative ones. 2Inn1 did not create this problem for us - all reviews were unfalteringly positive. The cynic in us still anticipated some form of disappointment over the course of our trip, but none - not a single element - arose.

The owners (Klaus and Chris) and their dedicated team have created a true haven in the foothills of Table Mountain. Their attention to detail and desire to provide everything a traveller could need makes for a fantastically relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Before we had left the UK an itinerary had been recommended (thanks Steffi!!!) and our chosen elements were booked in advance to avoid queuing and complication. On arrival - much earlier than our formal check in time - we were welcomed as old friends/valued guests. Breakfast was offered (tea and coffee accepted) and our room opened early for our holiday making to begin. Everything had been thought of - complimentary water and fizzy drinks, a fantastic (easy to use) coffee machine, towelling robes, powerful hair dryer, ample number of coat hangers (my bug bear), DVD machine with great collection in the library, complimentary mobile phone to make local calls charged simply at local rate etc etc. These are hosts who not only know how to provide a good service, great food and drinks - they absolutely revel in it. Their service is not forced or contrived and you always feel as if nothing is too much trouble. Our late check out was invaluable - not just so we could freshen up before flying and keep our luggage safe before departure but because it meant we could indulge in an extra afternoon at 2Inn1 appreciating the view of Table Mountain while eating a wonderful late lunch and glass of wine.

Four days of tours, dining, golf, treatments etc passed without any problem or stress - thanks to Claire's fantastic organisation and understanding of the sort of activity and pace we wanted to experience. We left with genuine regret and a true commitment to return one day. Without a shadow of doubt 2Inn1 has been our most memorable and enjoyable stay (and we have travelled a lot !) as the entire team have just got all the elements just right.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LozBridge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We cannot begin to put in words the wonderful time we had at 2inn1. You guys are beyond amazing! When we read the reviews on Trip advisor they sounded too good to be true. But you went over and beyond the expectations we had!

Nothing was too much for the team at 2inn1. They went out of their way to make us feel totally at home. It is the little things that they pay attention to that make their service a touch above the rest. Like providing you with a cell phone to use during your stay in Cape town that has numbers of taxi services and the hotel. And going out of their way to know how to greet in your mother tongue!

For anyone planning to visit Cape town, 2inn1 is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmc140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

We stayed with the lovely folks at 2Inn1 just for two short nights in April at the end of our honeymoon and we couldn't have loved it more. Every single person we encountered was warm and friendly and they went out of their way to welcome you and make sure you had everything you needed without ever being intrusive. Steffi helped plan our few days in Cape Town expertly with maps and dinner reservations and Claire was always available during the days for any little thing you could ever need. 2Inn1 is the perfect spot to stay to take in all the surrounding beauty of Cape Town and the staff really make you feel at home. The pool is a perfect place to spend a warm afternoon as well if you're looking to relax and the space is perfectly quiet and quaint. The breakfast and lunch were both fabulous and if you have time, get a massage - they were amazing! We couldn't recommend the 2Inn1 any higher and look forward to returning for a longer stay next time. Thank you Clauss, Steffi, Claire, Christopher and everyone at 2Inn1 for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Loopdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We visited 2inn1 in 2010, and vowed to return for South Africa for our 10th anniversary. We couldn't wait that long! Even before we arrived we felt the familiar friendliness of the team at 2inn1 (they booked tickets to Robben Island and made several dinner reservations for us in advance of our arrival) and we felt that they were just as eager about our trip as we were!
Upon arrival it was truly home from home. The hotel is small, quiet, intimate and friendly. It balances style and comfort perfectly, and the food is divine and diverse. The team cannot do enough for you, and the thoughtful touches (such as a local mobile phone for guests to use during their stay, beach towels and bag for days out) demonstrate that they truly think from the perspective of their guests, and design the guest house and accessories with their customers' needs in mind.
We cannot recommend 2inn1 highly enough, and will certainly be returning in the future.
Perfect for honeymooners, couples, small groups of friends or singles.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJC249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2Inn1 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2Inn1 Kensington

Address: 21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $206 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 2Inn1 Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2inn1 Kensington is flanked by the imposing slopes of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. It combines an authentically, stylishly remodeled Victorian house and a modern designed bungalow set in a beautiful tranquil garden. The pool area has sunbathed terraces offering magnificent views. The luxury rooms are equipped with every possible comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2inn1 Kensington Hotel Cape Town Central
2Inn1 Kensington Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing