We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
76
22
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
22
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in David´s place in november and even if the place was very basic, we were looking for a comfortable place where we could sleep safe and clean. We had so many trips and sight seeings booked in that we were basically looking for a place to sleep in and were very surprised how lovely they were. The breakfast was excellent!!!!They were very helpful with everything. If I had to say a negative it would be that our room was very loud, you could basically hear everything going on in the rest of the house and people talking outside. But overall we would recommend this place to everyone who wants a nice place to sleep at while you are out exploring;)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Me, being a german visitor to Cape Town, I was more than happy to find a free room at Davids Bed & Breakfast, that made my trip even more pleasant.
My girlfriend and I were very warm welcomed, shown our rooms and had nice chats with David and Hannes, the owners, just as if we were old friends.
That is what makes a stay in Davids B & B so pleasant: A familiar atmosphere, a great balcony view over the hills around Waterfront, tasteful rooms and furniture, absolute hygiene, and last but not least, the faboulous, very lekker and nutricious breakfast. Big Thank you to the absolute lovely owners and please keep it up like that. See you certainly at my next CPT trip.
V. & K.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We have just had a wonderful two week holiday in Cape Towm, staying at David's Guest House. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, and were greeted at the door by the friendly owners (David and Hannes) who had also arranged the speedy comfortable airport transfer by taxi. The accommodation is excellent. Communal areas are tastefully furnished and bedrooms are clean and bright. Our bedroom looked north and we had a view out towards Robben Island through some buildings from our balcony. Breakfast is self service in the dining area at the rear of the property. There is also an outside "decking-area" for use when the weather is nice. Informality is the keyword here, and guests help themselves to a buffet style breakfast and chat away merrily. The owners and staff could not be more helpful and will happily book taxis, restaurants, arrange trips, airport transfers etc etc for guests. There is a PC on the first floor landing with internet access plus free Wi-Fi for guests with laptops etc. Tea, coffee, wine etc is complimentary and guests just help themselves (within reason, of course!). This place is a real "home from home" and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony, if available. North facing rooms can just see the sea through some other buildings. South facing have a nice view towards Signal Hill.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

ignore at your own peril. home from home without the cleaning up thank you very much guys god bless

Room Tip: front rooms have balconeys
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in Sep '11. For one night, we stayed in the Bed & Breakfast room ... and for the remaining 5, we stayed in the 'Double Bed Pad' ... which is a small studio with a mini kitchenette next door to the main building.

David & Hannes were both extremely helpful & informative. They helped us plan what to do for the 5 days we were there. They were just an intercom away if we would need anything.

Bed & Breakfast room:

Cons:
Small & crammed (though well designed)

Pros:
Very good location in a quiet lane: 10 min drive to the V&A waterfront.
It has a balcony with a nice view.
Extremely clean.

Double Bed Pad:

Cons:
Bad approach to the room. It's a crammed bylane with a few drainage pipes opening up in it. The room mysteriously had a very foul smell on the 2nd day. But it wasn't there for the remaining days so it must be a one-off problem.
Though it was serviced daily, they didn't change our bedsheets for the 5 nights we were there.

Pros:
Very good location.
The kitchenette area is quite spacious.
There's a microwave, a fridge & a small sink with a few vessels (no cooking stove though). Completely adequate for our purpose.
Very clean & serviced daily.
Has a charming small private garden right outside the room (ok it's not completely private: their service room was next door. But we weren't disturbed ever).

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nips_manny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews